List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

Odds of him staying? 50/50?
Think a lot of it hinges on Petracca's interest in Gold Coast and Flanders' interest in us, tbh.

Adelaide's first (14) is likely to end up being pushed out to the early 20s (more compo and bids to come), which isn't really enough to even get us to pick up the phone.

Three-way deals obviously possible, but if he nominates the Crows, they're likely going to need to part with a player to increase their draft capital.

I'd be the lead 'sack Tim Lamb' advocate if he accepted a pick in the 20s in a weak draft and a future pick given that Trac would make Adelaide much better.

Think a lot of it hinges on Petracca's interest in Gold Coast and Flanders' interest in us, tbh.

Adelaide's first (14) is likely to end up being pushed out to the early 20s (more compo and bids to come), which isn't really enough to even get us to pick up the phone.

Three-way deals obviously possible, but if he nominates the Crows, they're likely going to need to part with a player to increase their draft capital.

I'd be the lead 'sack Tim Lamb' advocate if he accepted a pick in the 20s in a weak draft and a future pick given that Trac would make Adelaide much better.
Yeah the Richo/Lamb combo has me very worried tbh. We seem to be making genuine strides in the right direction as a club. However can our list manager make the right moves to keep that momentum going? Time will tell but i have zero faith in this combo to get it done. If we accept Flanders and an average pick, then that would be terrible. I know Adelaide has genuine interest, and I'm sure TRac has interest in them, but like last year, what can the club give us that will satisfy us? I'd rather keep Trac and see what he can do under a new coach than give him away to a contender for well unders.

This was said re a Gold Coast move

Does Tom Morris just tell us possibilities and his wonderings lol

You can pretty much just read through this thread and find the exact same information. I'm not sold on Flanders without a first coming our way for Trac. Don't GC have some decent picks this draft? They don't need more picks. We should be pushing for Flanders and a first and give them back some later picks to help them secure their academy kids. Flanders, Derksen, Heath, Mihocek plus a first rounder while losing Trac, May and Spargo isn't a terrible result and is surely possible this trade period. Would love to bring in a small zippy forward as well, but maybe we can pick one up in the draft?

Please god no Mihocek. He is broken and the Pies are about to fall of a cliff. Why help them?????
Agree it would have been nice to have a 28 year old Mihocek instead of a 33 year old one. But it comes down to what it costs us. An experienced forward and noted goalkicker that costs us virtually nothing is pretty harmless. A 3 year contract as some have suggested is crazy. 2 years would be ok. Gives Kentfield, JVR and Jefferson time and another experienced player down there. Lamb can't attract flies, so i reckon a 33 year old Mihocek is probably the best we can hope for.

Does Tom Morris just tell us possibilities and his wonderings lol

You can pretty much just read through this thread and find the exact same information. I'm not sold on Flanders without a first coming our way for Trac. Don't GC have some decent picks this draft? They don't need more picks. We should be pushing for Flanders and a first and give them back some later picks to help them secure their academy kids. Flanders, Derksen, Heath, Mihocek plus a first rounder while losing Trac, May and Spargo isn't a terrible result and is surely possible this trade period. Would love to bring in a small zippy forward as well, but maybe we can pick one up in the draft?
Gold Coast have academy kids but the last time they were in a similar position a couple of years ago they got some tremendous offers and basically onsold a high first rounder like three times over.

Looking it up they first traded pick 4 to the dogs with a couple of junk picks and got 10, 17 and a F1 back from the Dogs. Then they traded pick 10 to us for picks 14, 27 and 35. That pick 10 went back to 13 and became Tholstrup in the end.

Then they traded the pick 14 to Adelaide with Chris Burgess for picks 23 and 26, and traded pick 17 to North for Norths Future end of first round compo pick.

FWIW that pick 4 they sold ended up becoming Riley Sanders.

If we do end up trading Trac for Flanders and a pick we will just want to make sure that pick gets us high enough in the draft to select whoever we are keen on, and as much as people will melt over it we will have no problem throwing in a few later picks in to get the deal done if required. It's how we've operated the past decade.

That's actually absurd. Shows how far behind other clubs are at developing talent. There's clearly more than about 15 kids per year that are good enough for the AFL

View attachment 2433629
Zach Guthrie is the sort of player who would have been delisted years ago by most clubs. Geelong persisted with him and turned him into a gun.

That's actually absurd. Shows how far behind other clubs are at developing talent. There's clearly more than about 15 kids per year that are good enough for the AFL

View attachment 2433629
Geelong have been smart recruiting and developing their Gaelic players.

From 2018 until last year, they had Toohey and O'Conner in their best 22. As soon as Toohey retired, Mullin was ready to step up. Last year, they picked up another one, Cillian Burke, who will probably be ready to step up when O'Connor retires.

It's a smart strategy. Fill 2 of the best 22 spots each year with good players, without having to use a single draft pick.

View attachment 2433629
They have had such an established system for so long, and the alignment on that system with the VFL team. I feel like because of that you see some pick 50 who has been on there list for 4-5 years developing in the VFL come in to debut and know exactly what their role is.

I think they are also pretty good at backing the players who play a certain role in the VFL to come in and do it when required, rather than trying to shoe horn the next best player into an available position and having someone run around all day with no idea what to do.

Zach Guthrie is the sort of player who would have been delisted years ago by most clubs. Geelong persisted with him and turned him into a gun.
That and they’re a bit old school in that they’re not afraid to have a project player do 50-100 games in the 2s as development.

Geelong also get a better look at the GFL than the other clubs for those late bloomers who slip through in their U18 year.

Tom Stewart. Tom Atkins.

Geelong have been smart recruiting and developing their Gaelic players.

From 2018 until last year, they had Toohey and O'Conner in their best 22. As soon as Toohey retired, Mullin was ready to step up. Last year, they picked up another one, Cillian Burke, who will probably be ready to step up when O'Connor retires.

It's a smart strategy. Fill 2 of the best 22 spots each year with good players, without having to use a single draft pick.
Annoys the F* out of me that we had the first Irish players who turned out to be guns too, and since then we have done f* all with bringing anymore to the club or maintaining a pathway for Irish players. Our women's team have a couple who are great players as well. Is it $$? Or just other clubs again better at utilising it than we are?

I don't know. I'm not sure we've even got any scouts over there. I know we tried to get O'Conner before he opted for Geelong. Having Toohey bend his ear would have helped... not to mention having a permanent HQ and training facility.

If we were to get in on the act, we'd have to target a couple of players, who are at least 21, so they wouldn't suffer from homesickness. Maybe King knows the right formula and will try it out now with us that we have him.

I don’t hate Jordan Butts, however it would probably just be adding another slow, NQR KPD to the pile.
Haha, I don't even know who is. More had my eyes on that JUICY pick for Oliver.

It must be quite costly to go over and scout the Irish players, then pay costs for them to move. The success rate is still relatively low too.

The last one I recall at Melbourne was Kevin Devine. That was 2001 and Melbourne famously had severe financial troubles over the next decade or so. That would’ve made the cost/benefit equation look even worse.

If you think the development at the club is a bit questionable for kids who grew up playing footy, how well would development go for Irish players who don’t have that formative years skills advantage?

Why has there been more success with the AFLW Irish players? The reality is a poorly skilled but highly athletic female player was very effective when the AFLW was full of poor athletes with skills that were on the whole quite poor. Goldrick is a bit of a headless chook out there but she’s very fast. The standard of athleticism and skill in the AFLW has picked up over the last few years so I think it will be harder for the female Irish players to shine.