Analysis 2025 Draft watch

Weiters 196
Dean 193

‘By his own admission, he's somewhat of an in-betweener at 193cm - not quite key position height but not exactly a medium-small.’
Draft me page^

I reckon the cutoff for being a tall defender might have to be 195cm😂
Weitering is 195 according to the Carlton website and Dean measured in at 194cm at the combine.

He also has Curnow style go go gadget arms, longer wingspan than most for his height. He's a genuine KPD.

if we end up with 21,25, 27,30,46 - what gets chewed up by Dean going at 3?
Will eat up 20, 23 and 25 (first three of above after the bid on Uwland at 2). We'll get 40 back.

Edit: Sorry, we get 51 back. After we get Dean we'll have 26, 43, 51.

Edit2: After Richmond bid on Patterson and Annable, we'll have 24, 39, 48 = 980 points (can match a bid on Ison at 15+).

Yes, considering we all know the amount of list spots available was/is completely out of our control, as was prioritizing players for 'now' over more astute rebuilding.

We only have ourselves to blame if the balance of our list continues to be weighted towards the battlers. It's just the same story, only with different names.
When has our list ever been weighted towards the battlers? Hasn't our whole issue the last few years been that our stars took up too much of the cap and left us with a bunch of space cadets as our bottom 6?

thanks mate.

So we would need Ison to last beyond 30 (or whatever that pick ends up being) to have best options available to add a third player.

Unlikely I reckon.
There will still be decent options at that 40-45 range in that case but I'd imagine the club will wait and see who's left before deciding whether or not they'll take the pick or not.

All of them have considerable question marks though so will be more like project players than someone like a HOF last year in the same range.

thanks mate.

So we would need Ison to last beyond 30 (or whatever that pick ends up being) to have best options available to add a third player.

Unlikely I reckon.
We'll always be able to choose a 3rd (and 4th) player if desired. The picks that are swallowed up by bidding aren't completely lost, just moved to the back of the draft.

There will still be decent options at that 40-45 range in that case but I'd imagine the club will wait and see who's left before deciding whether or not they'll take the pick or not.

All of them have considerable question marks though so will be more like project players than someone like a HOF last year in the same range.
What if is Noah H G ?

Mid 30s is about as bad as it would get.

Sydney for premiers, 7 picks added to the first round for Tassie, 2-3 Band 1 free agents, half a dozen father/son or academy players across the first round. That would be worst case and would push the Sydney pick to 34.

I think anyone who reckons Charlie is gonna magically take Sydney to a flag at his age, with his injury issues, and joining a list with an inexperienced coach who just took the Swans from minor premiers to 10th in his first season despite it being an internal handover - flag possibility, sure, flag favourites - no way. Reassess in 12 months of course, but I reckon they'll be in "wildcard" territory.

2027 first rounder starting at 11, pushed back 6 spots by Tassie, pushed back 1 spot by a free agent compensation pick, and pushed back 3 spots for bid-matching movements. Pick ~21.
I doubt Sydney win the flag that season but using your worst case scenario where Sydney are premiers and the pick ends up at 34 won’t mean we get the 34th best player that season.
In that draft year Tassie also have access to essentially auction off up to 4 mini draft picks to other clubs (Jesse hogan+ Jack Martin rule).

They also get access to pre-list 17 year olds (Jeremy Cameron, Shiel+ Treloar rule) these players essentially removed from the draft pool so depending on how many they take we might be picking at 34 in the draft but the reality will be we would be getting a player who in their 18th year would normally be ranked in the early/ mid 40s.

The AFL have set Tasmania up to be very competitive very quickly with the concessions given to them far more generous than what the suns and giants received.

So I’m seeing with the predicted trades and predicted bids for Dean (3) and Ison (21) that we will have picks 41 and 47 left, if this is the case, why wouldn’t we either, use one of these on a kid, trade both to move up, trade one and use one on a player?

I’m still seeing people suggesting we don’t use these at the draft, I find it hard to believe we would pass up picks in the 40s

So I’m seeing with the predicted trades and predicted bids for Dean (3) and Ison (21) that we will have picks 41 and 47 left, if this is the case, why wouldn’t we either, use one of these on a kid, trade both to move up, trade one and use one on a player?

I’m still seeing people suggesting we don’t use these at the draft, I find it hard to believe we would pass up picks in the 40s

I’m sure we’ll try

C4 has spoken!

HOLY CRAP! So, so much different than the great pretender Lloyd. Night & Day.

What a massive relief having someone who clearly knows his role, is straight-up about what we are doing, how he sees the club, no generalization, or sentences of meaningless guff, punctuated by 'um, err,' and Buzz words.

Just a clearly articulated vision.

Finally someone who instills faith in what they are doing.
So good and so overdue.

Really?

I read it as we have plans in place for every scenario that may come. IMO that is good planning

Who said we wanted a Top 20 selection? Would be about 30 in a weak draft. We will get the best KPD in the draft

Lot to play out yet and I reckon people are jumping at shadows but if Austin & Co aren't planning for every scenario I would be disappointed. There could still be a surprise to come yet if things fall our way
Firstly, we could have had a a top 20 selection and the best KPD in the draft!!

Austin et al expected expected a selection for Dean to be in the range 6 - 8 and Ison to be closer to 30 instead of 20 and planned accordingly, and it looks like we got it badly wrong twice!! If WC don't bid on Dean, Richmond are expected to.... in fact, you rate Dean at 4 and Ison at 16!

We gave up 10 and 22 for 9 (and other selections) so Hawthorn could present 10 and 22 as part of their offer for Merrett... while we figured 9 would be handy because we expected a later bid for Dean, and therefore a live selection in the early teens...

The hard part is accumulating early selections like 10 and 11, not fully utilising them is the disappointing part; perhaps if they chatted with you, we'd be walking away Dean, Ison & a selection in the teens instead of the 30s without too much effort.

I don't consider good planning to be "There could still be a surprise to come yet if things fall our way", even if I hope they do too.

I do agree on the path the club are taking however it doesn't mean that they could execute better at times - we have a lot of ground to make up

Analysis 2025 Draft watch