Autopsy 2025 Late flourish doesn't mask embarrassment

Who played well for the Blues in Round 15 vs the Roos?

How? New players and coach will have the same result? Yeah makes a lot of sense there...

Squad mentality is LOST with this group... sack another coach, bring someone new in it'll be more of the same we've already seen with them... a sugar hit until they crack the sads again...

I've already said over and over...

Overhaul the list, get rid of Voss end of next year and with a fresh start, instill the proper standards because clearly that wasn't done with the current core group.

Get it right, and by about 2030, we will be contending again.

So far, heard nothing but

• lose TDK, but we can bring in Bergman and Florent
  • chase some fringe players at other clubs
  • nail late draft/rookie picks

Yeah what a great plan that is, might finish 12th-14th for a few years before the core group retires...

Now, got anything better than "tanking is stoopid we need wiNNing Cultcha"?

We have fa trade capital, where are we going to magically find the players we need to improve the side?

Here's a simple solution. Start dropping senior players who are cruising

IDGAF who they are replaced with and IDGAF if the reserves players coming in aren't playing that well at reserves level

Has anyone considered the fact that maybe they're not playing that well at reserves level because they may have become disillusioned????

Maybe the senior players will re-discover their intrinsic motivation for playing at the highest level and to the best of their abilities when they're kicking the dew off the grass at a suburban ground and realise they aren't rated as highly as they thought??????

The culture is toxic and favouritism/lack of opportunities for growth/challenging the reserves players to step up is one of the main reasons

Just watched first 2 quarters again

We are the worst drilled football side in the AFL. We go slow, don’t go inside, don’t run and support, and players up the ground don’t move or know where to run or create space. These are basics

This is game style, structure and lack of planning

This is COACHING

This doesn’t absolve the players but can’t rate them when we play like this. Our whole coaching group is an embarrassment. How they have a job defies logic

Worst drilled side I have ever seen

All the opposition needs to do is match pressure and then close up space. Then, we have no answers, NONE

Absolute disgrace and a waste of 3 years. Heads need to roll
How many times does Weitering call for a 50 metre backwards kick when the switch is not on. Just makes us lose ground and brings pressure. Happens time and again. Not good enough.

The switch is a good idea but you need to get the ball across quickly and your players need to get across quickly.

We can’t/dont do either well.

Does anyone remember the passage of play in the third that resulted in Fantasia's second goal?
Saad gets a free twenty out of their goal, three maybe four possessions later the ball has split the centre of the MCG, and Fantasia guides the ball through, no joke it took five seconds.
Problem is that the next THREE opportunities we had to do it again within ten minutes we went sideways, backwards, then back again completely loosing the element of surprise. The results included Cerra kicking the ground, getting tackled by Darling FFS, Silvani getting caught, Binns sh1tting the bed etc etc.
Every time that happened I reckon Weitering held the ball initially, first chance he went across the ground, or down the line, or a shambolic short kick that didn't travel 20m. Fair dinkum why the likes of TDK, H, Charles or Walsh are hung out to dry or "just get rid of them", and Weiters never, ever gets called out is beyond me.
Our biggest problem is generating attack from defence, or should I say the lack there of......

Here's a simple solution. Start dropping senior players who are cruising

IDGAF who they are replaced with and IDGAF if the reserves players coming in aren't playing that well at reserves level

Has anyone considered the fact that maybe they're not playing that well at reserves level because they may have become disillusioned????

Maybe the senior players will re-discover their intrinsic motivation for playing at the highest level and to the best of their abilities when they're kicking the dew off the grass at a suburban ground and realise they aren't rated as highly as they thought??????

The culture is toxic and favouritism/lack of opportunities for growth/challenging the reserves players to step up is one of the main reasons
Why take Cooper Lord off.Could have put him on backline for run or wing since was being beaten on ball.Lots of older small forwards doing very little.
Give the boy a run.
Silvagni backline and Lord only bright lights of year.
I bet youngsters are ones who are dropped this week disaster.
Other older players safe with current regime.

Seems evident to me that Ollie Hollands doesn't listen to the team strategy.

He's the only player who week in week out tries to proactively run to link up and run into space to receive the ball.
Binns runs hard all game, gives 100%.
Just can’t kick…

What a putrid display of footy.
Especially weak when they got their tails up and started wrestling after kicking a few goals and we let them walk over us.

That's Vossy done. Think he will see out the season but doubt he is in charge for Round 1 next year.
Alarm bells have been ringing for a while now, the only worthwhile performance since the middle of 2024 from this team has been Geelong at the G. That is a big enough sample size to try and turn it around.

We were handed a decent fixture with 5 games against the bottom 3 teams (NM, WC & Rich) inside the first 14 and we've ended up with a 3-2 record.

I'm sure playing list, injuries, coaching group etc has all played a part but this isn't a knee-jerk sack the coach. He has had 4 years with the best list we've had in over 20 years. Thanks for the run we went on in 2023, that was enjoyable. Next man up.

Burn the joint, to the ground. Play the kids etc. etc.
In a seasons worth of footy (23 games) we have won 8 of those. In that period we have played Richmond twice, eagles 3 times and north 3 times. All evidence points to us being a side which should/will be bottom 4.

Buckle up …
Vossy’s declared he’s doubling down !!

Best to make it quick and merciful …
Why would Voss care. He gets sacked he gets paid out. Will probably get an assistant or media job anyway. Without the pressure of head coach

Wright is definitely no Meddi

Wright wont be a Messiah, he had dream drafts at the Hawks, an at the Pies he had a lot of guys like Derek Hine to help him and advise him.. He cannot rig the draft either. At best he can tinker at the edges. Just saying.

What dream drafts did Wright have at Hawthorn? I don't think you have any idea.

Clarko wanted to trade the picks for established players, Wright wanted to hit the draft and rebuild the side. Clarko got his way, and history has shown that this was a mistake. I doubt Wright will not be willing to make the hard decisions and work towards a rebuild.

Brad Lloyd on 3AW.

Disappointing but he had a good last quarter and need to focus on bouncing back against Port this week

Seriously embarrassing interview. If Lloyd is in charge, we are rudderless
Bouncing back against Port and all will be good.. lol

It is so obvious that they have no idea how to fix the problem .... because at Carlton they don't believe there is a problem and give it a little more time and Voss will have it all back on track in pursuit of Premiership Glory.

She'll be right mate ... don't worry ... be happy ;D

Brad Lloyd on 3AW.

Disappointing but he had a good last quarter and need to focus on bouncing back against Port this week

Performing below expectations but we are defending well

Voss is a wonderful person and working hard

Tony Shaw asked him about for 3 years we have had slow ball movement and poor ball use inside 50 and who was responsible. Lloyd said it’s everyone and is working on it

We have been working hard on trying to unlock our ball movement

Kept saying how well we are doing defensively and we can attack as we proved against GC in 2023 😳

🙄

Seriously embarrassing interview. If Lloyd is in charge, we are rudderless
As bad an interview as I have ever heard. He mumbled and fumbled with words, sounded like he has no idea.

100% this. Club and players are disrespecting and taking for granted not only our support and members, but that of our young kids.

My eldest was at a 9 day camp over King's Birthday on Mornington Peninsula. Over 170 kids from Gr 5/6 public schools in Macedon Ranges + Bendigo attended.

Camp had no tv, or internet. No devices allowed. My daughter approached a camp leader and asked how Blues had gone vs *. Guy was visibly shocked. Replied. 'Yeh they won. You're the first kid to ask.' My daughter replied, 'Oh I thought there's a lot of footy fans here?'.

His response 'Yes there are. Except most are either Pies or Cats fans who ask. In all the camps I've been a leader, almost NOBODY has asked about Carlton.'

Utter indictment. This camp gets kids from all over VIC. Stench of disinterest and mediocrity from too many at CFC, including highly paid players, isn't exactly appealing to many kids.

Also, weren't Bendigo part of Carlton's zone at 1 point?

That wouldn't be Somers Camp would it?

If so, I haven't thought about that place in years. That was one of the absolute highlights of my late primary school experience. Just a brilliant place that changes kids for the better

I hope your daughter loved it.

Had a ripper chat with a family member tonight about the Blues, and he’s not shocked one bit about the mess we’re in. Reckons apart from Cripps, every big-money re-signing we’ve made has been banking on what players might do, not what they’ve actually delivered.

He says those fat contracts sent a message to the players that their half-baked efforts were good enough. The club’s been dreaming of a flag someday, assuming it’s a done deal if we just keep the faith. But the players? They’ve taken it for granted, never knuckling down as a group to really chase success.

Our list reeks of entitlement – the kind you’d see at Geelong or Collingwood, but those clubs have cultures built on grafting harder every day. Us? We’ve got a fat-cat vibe with bugger-all to show for it. He reckons the worst thing that ever happened was that prelim run in ’23. Beat a wobbly Sydney side in Melbourne and a Melbourne outfit that imploded harder than we beat ‘em and took a once in a season play to do it. If the Dees had kicked straight, we’d have copped a finals taste but learned how far off we really were. Instead, we rocked up to Brisbane, got pumped, and made excuses for falling short. The lessons we needed? Never sunk in. The boys thought a flag was basically theirs if they kept coasting.

He’s filthy we’ve let go of proper clubmen who were our hardest workers. Blokes like Kennedy and Owies weren’t the flashiest, but they scrapped and clawed to squeeze every drop out of themselves. They balanced out the big earners who cruise on raw talent. He’s not calling the stars lazy, but says they don’t know how to work smart. They’ve never learned how to win, and our last three coaches? None of ‘em could coach a proper team system. Our assistant coaches have been the laughingstock of the comp, too.

Other clubs reckon they can outsmart and outwork us. Stick with us for a half, and we’ll start running in circles, refusing to go both ways. He says our footy department and front office are the quietest in the league – we’ve got nothing to say, no ideas to bring. We’ll pipe up if something directly hits us (like the proposed draft rule changes with the Camporeale twins), but otherwise, we’re not really in the room for big AFL decisions. He reckons we’re out of touch, happy to rock up with our 100,000 members, pat ourselves on the back for crowd numbers, and call it a day.

He’s heard rival clubs think it’s a bloody joke that our president’s not even in Victoria, barely involved in the day-to-day. We’ve gone from a president treating the club like a midlife crisis toy to one who’s just not there. He rates Wright – known him for 30 years – but says one bloke can’t fix this alone. The club needs everyone all-in, and an absent president kills that from the jump. Doesn’t matter how sharp a business mind he is if he’s not around.

That North game? He says it was Carlton in a nutshell. No accountability from top to bottom, no leadership, no pride, and zero attention to detail. Just another week at the office.

He feels for us fans. We care more than we should and cop the worst of it for our loyalty. Players get rich, fat cats skate free, and we’re left holding the bag.

We are the worst drilled football side in the AFL. We go slow, don’t go inside, don’t run and support, and players up the ground don’t move or know where to run or create space. These are basics

This is COACHING

This doesn’t absolve the players but can’t rate them when we play like this. Our whole coaching group is an embarrassment. How they have a job defies logic

All the opposition needs to do is match pressure and then close up space. Then, we have no answers, NONE

Couldn't agree more Soapy. Watching at the ground it's just plainly obvious our players do not run to create space or to provide an overlap handball. It could not have been more contrasting to how the 2nd bottom team was doing the opposite and getting the reward from it (8 unanswered goals).

It also seems our half backs are instructed to guard space rather than their man (I'm looking at you Saad) which leads to easy goals.

We are obviously either poorly coached, lazy or probably BOTH.

Would you accept Teague, Bolton or Malthouse back?
And that my dear friend is the problem, our inability to find a half decent coach the last 20 years has ruined this push and left too much power in the hands of a few players.

We are too soft, we have forgotten how to be ruthless and it’s created a culture where players are just showing up for their pay checks.

Too many times Voss should have dropped players to make a statement and didn’t. That three quarter spray was 18 months too late.

Also when he gets the ball himself, always looks for the 30m backward pass.

It's not just him, though, every time we try to switch we do it so painfully slowly and go back so far there's absolutely no benefit and when we do inevitably bomb it down the line, as we've gone 30-40m backwards already we're basically gaining a net positive of about 15m.I have no idea what we try to gain when switching the ball, there seems to be absolutely no rhyme or reason to it, we just do it. Same with the "controlled marking" mode we occasionally go in. 2 or 3 15m passes on the 45, then potentially a slow switch or just go down the line.

They're too slow to disorganise a defence, and there's hardly any movement ahead of the ball so we don't seem have an outcome we're aiming for when we do it.

Also when he gets the ball himself, always looks for the 30m backward pass.

It's not just him, though, every time we try to switch we do it so painfully slowly and go back so far there's absolutely no benefit and when we do inevitably bomb it down the line, as we've gone 30-40m backwards already we're basically gaining a net positive of about 15m.I have no idea what we try to gain when switching the ball, there seems to be absolutely no rhyme or reason to it, we just do it. Same with the "controlled marking" mode we occasionally go in. 2 or 3 15m passes on the 45, then potentially a slow switch or just go down the line.

They're too slow to disorganise a defence, and there's hardly any movement ahead of the ball so we don't seem have an outcome we're aiming for when we do it.
Yes. That's why his stats look good. Weitering isn't a great defender imo. To many times ball watching. Haynes at 34 years of age shows more desperation. He's a part of our problem.

What was clear on the weekend is North Melbourne have just gone past us. Great group of young players coming through.
Our list management and recruiting has been appalling for a very long time.

Yes. That's why his stats look good. Weitering isn't a great defender imo. To many times ball watching. Haynes at 34 years of age shows more desperation. He's a part of our problem.
Now you've lost me.

His defensive stats have been elite, up until this yr (I'm assuming, I haven't looked at his stats this yr, but to the eye he's not up to his normal standard). His 1v1 win rate, his intercepting, spoils and goals kicked against have all been outstanding for a long time. As a defender I have 0 complaints about Jacob - until this season, but that's a bigger conversation.

Now you've lost me.

His defensive stats have been elite, up until this yr (I'm assuming, I haven't looked at his stats this yr, but to the eye he's not up to his normal standard). His 1v1 win rate, his intercepting, spoils and goals kicked against have all been outstanding for a long time. As a defender I have 0 complaints about Jacob - until this season, but that's a bigger conversation.
I've watched Weitering closely all season. He's been poor. He has cost us alot of goals through basic errors. Also a big part of our slow ball use from defence.
As a leader on big money that's not good enough.
Imagine if that was Lewis Young that slowed ball movement? Or tapped the ball back into play on the goal line to gift Nth a goal?
Amateur stuff.

• Don't go backwards unless you are going to transit quickly.
  • Don't come off you man after forward line turn overs, getting killed in overlap
  • Move it quick
  • If in doubt chaos ball into forward line, gives mids chance to set up behind ball.
  • get rid of anyone who cannot hit a target.

This is COACHING

The first quarter we kicked 2.7 and moved the ball pretty well and should have been well up, middle 2 quarters were unwatchable as we went super slow and didn't look like scoring, then is the last we went fast again and kicked 5.5 (and once again missed some very gettable goals).

If this is coaching it is some of the most bizarre coaching I have ever seen - deliberately deciding to change what was working to something that wasn't and then not changing back until the game is gone.

It makes a little more sense that players simply go away from the plan, stop running, go risk averse.

Autopsy 2025 Late flourish doesn't mask embarrassment