List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

We need to get out and address some of this, all well and good for the club to be confident within the 4 walls of the club, but our brand is being trashed at the moment. Somebody needs to stand up for the club, not just let these gutter journalists spread BS across the media landscape.
Ross on Footy Classified tonight - doubt he's there to talk about our impressive 3 game winning streak or facing the Bombers haha

We need to get out and address some of this, all well and good for the club to be confident within the 4 walls of the club, but our brand is being trashed at the moment. Somebody needs to stand up for the club, not just let these gutter journalists spread BS across the media landscape.

Honestly the club needs to come out, not the posters on BF or the array of social media commentators which represent us....the supporters of our great club.

This season just seems like last year with Battle when it was a slow wrecking ball regarding him.

It's bloody draining watching other clubs re-sign their players easily when we just drag it out and ultimately culminate in a non-signing.

Something needs to change.

Fraser Gehrig and Aaron Hamill said the same thing remember……..
Completely different era

For example g train wanted to go to Collingwood but the deal wouldn't work so he went to us

If that scenario plays out this year. He gets to Collingwood.

Ross on Footy Classified tonight - doubt he's there to talk about our impressive 3 game winning streak or facing the Bombers haha

"So, Ross, how does it feel that all you'll have left is Ryan Byrnes, Harry Boyd, Zac Jones and Zaine Cordy on the list with a bunch of 18 year olds?" -- McClure

1754962457295.png

Except that the narrative absolutely does exist and none of us has any idea whether its true or not... thats literally the reality of the situation.

The story is so obvious my 4 year old could have written it, if you follow US sports this happens 30 times a year.

Whats funny to me (noting i have no clue whether its true or not, purely that its not some stupidly outlandish story) is that when the story is positive you gobble it up and ask for seconds. Put the tweet in here and claim its beyond reproach but when its negative, like this, its horseshit, made up by a clickbait hungry ambulance chaser.

My point has always been most of it is made up because clubs are a ****ing bubble and player managers and list managers lie through their teeth to protect their clients.

The only thing i tend to put some stock in is number because they are most tangible and even then its true both ways. The TDK number is likely right or close to, as is the NAS number, as was the King number.
“Whats funny to me (noting i have no clue whether its true or not, purely that its not some stupidly outlandish story) is that when the story is positive you gobble it up and ask for seconds. Put the tweet in here and claim its beyond reproach but when its negative, like this, its horseshit, made up by a clickbait hungry ambulance chaser.”

I put the story in here and it was negative.

So again, you’re wrong.

My point was very much for fair reporting.

“Rowan Marshall is not happy with the saints throwing a god father offer at TDK. He is considering his options”

How about…

“12 months ago the saints held Marshall to his contract after he was entertaining offers to leave. Their belief is that they can pair Marshall and TDK - who has received a godfather offer to join, which has frustrated some of the clubs senior core including potential ruck partner Marshall.”

Pretty balanced changed. Shows intent of club in both aspects of retaining or letting Marshall leave. Provides context that Marshall already tried to leave and it wasn’t just specifically TDK that disgruntled him.

That’s the point. Do keep up.

In 24 hours.

Wilkie, Marshall, Steele, Windy - GONE.
H.Reid - In

What the actual **** is going on here, lmao.

Then I see the screenshot of Tony's post.
Let’s not pretend that if in some alternate reality we turned that disgruntled group of: Butler Steele Marshall Howard and Windy

Directly or indirectly into Harley Reid

That this board wouldn’t be celebrating.

(I don’t for a single second think he is coming - but it would be funny to watch the backflips)

Let’s not pretend that if in some alternate reality we turned that disgruntled group of: Butler Steele Marshall Howard and Windy

Directly or indirectly into Harley Reid

That this board wouldn’t be celebrating.

(I don’t for a single second think he is coming - but it would be funny to watch the backflips)

Funnily enough i dont want him near the club.
Just screams trouble.

“Whats funny to me (noting i have no clue whether its true or not, purely that its not some stupidly outlandish story) is that when the story is positive you gobble it up and ask for seconds. Put the tweet in here and claim its beyond reproach but when its negative, like this, its horseshit, made up by a clickbait hungry ambulance chaser.”

I put the story in here and it was negative.

So again, you’re wrong.

My point was very much for fair reporting.

“Rowan Marshall is not happy with the saints throwing a god father offer at TDK. He is considering his options”

How about…

“12 months ago the saints held Marshall to his contract after he was entertaining offers to leave. Their belief is that they can pair Marshall and TDK - who has received a godfather offer to join, which has frustrated some of the clubs senior core including potential ruck partner Marshall.”

Pretty balanced changed. Shows intent of club in both aspects of retaining or letting Marshall leave. Provides context that Marshall already tried to leave and it wasn’t just specifically TDK that disgruntled him.

That’s the point. Do keep up.
How is what he did 12 months ago relevant to the current TDK offer though?

How did he feel about us pursuing Draper? How did he feel as a 10 year old when we got Gardiner from West Coast.

Youre also still doing the thing where youre criticising the story because its negative. I didnt say you dont post them, you do, then trash them as being false. Its almost a trope at this point.

He was in the Swans VFL and also Crows at one point. He had alot of connections with players including Tim Membrey (from Swans days), Alir Alir etc. He told me the whole story about when Papley had to front up to the team after Carlton couldn't get the trade done for him.

You don't have to believe me, but he told me at the time Marshall trade rumours popped up last year that Giants wanted him and Ro was fed up with the attention in Melbourne. Wasn't discontent with Saints, it was living in Melb apparently.
Ben Davis is your mate?

They’ve earned those marquee games. We haven’t. We could have locked in the Good Friday match, we bottled it.

We could have locked in the Anzac Day game, we bottled it. The China game was ridiculous, but we bottled that as well.

Any time the AFL extends to us the chance to secure a marquee match and we can’t even be competitive on the day.

That isn’t the AFLs fault.
What- so they get to keep them forever?
They’ve been pathetic for decades and still continue to get prime time.

We had 10 years of finals in the first decade of the 2000s - I don’t remember any of the big games being given to us.

China? Surely you jest 🙄🤣

Funnily enough i dont want him near the club.
Just screams trouble.
In that stupid story from old timid Watson this morning.

It was that we offered all that money for him to play alongside Nas and TDK.

I reckon if that was the context - you would be fine accepting him.

In that stupid story from old timid Watson this morning.

It was that we offered all that money for him to play alongside Nas and TDK.

I reckon if that was the context - you would be fine accepting him.

I see him as a player that has more ability than most.

I also see him as a massive distraction for a club like us.

If Reid did want to come, are we thinking retain NAS, bring in TDK and Reid ?
Or are we losing NAS for that to happen ?

SOS will probably send gubby off and he’ll come back with Archer Reid on $25 million.

What- so they get to keep them forever?
They’ve been pathetic for decades and still continue to get prime time.

We had 10 years of finals in the first decade of the 2000s - I don’t remember any of the big games being given to us.

China? Surely you jest 🙄🤣
Dreamtime at the G gets good crowds. If that was St Kilda vs anyone, it wouldn’t. It’s as simple as that

How is what he did 12 months ago relevant to the current TDK offer though?

How did he feel about us pursuing Draper? How did he feel as a 10 year old when we got Gardiner from West Coast.

Youre also still doing the thing where youre criticising the story because its negative. I didnt say you dont post them, you do, then trash them as being false. Its almost a trope at this point.
Because who’s to say the club decided post October last year that they needed to have a ruck ready to go after that Marshall situation - in the event it happens again 12 months from now?

The first confirmed meeting was by Ross himself and that was December 2024.

It’s a pretty one sided argument when people say, oh they are treating Marshall like crap. Replacing him and paying his replacement more.

No one knows the prompt that pushed that button.

Which is why it’s a relevant backdrop to this story.