List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Then why hasn't he signed?
He is the best ruck we have drafted since Everett by a mile
Windy, Wilson and Dodson not signed is a worry especially since we have signed Collard and hastie
Dodson has a far higher ceiling than both.
If you were in his position why would you sign knowing that with two rucks ahead of him knowing that you have years to wait untill given the opportunity when apart from Freo every other club would want a gun potential ruck even based of his VFL form?
This is very reminiscent of the jackson/ Meek trade at freo.
However, jackson is one of the most consistent and versatile rucks in the AFL
It's 7 years big money
We don't won't to get this even half wrong
What do you mean? He’s still under contract. Why would they sign him now?
Pretty sure they’d be looking into that during next season which would be his second.
Very few players, if any, are re-signed in their first seasons.

everyone defending Sos and having a go at people that called for his sacking, bunch of woke ass PC BS. Tell me, what's wrong with saying ok Sos you've done a good job, nay a great job, but we're gonna sack you anyway. Sometimes you just need a good sacking, the natives get restless and someone has to go. Not everything has to be justified with "logic" and "hindsight"

Touches are irrelevant. I’m looking for impact. I’m looking for him to take control of games.

I was arguably the biggest and first advocate for drafting him last year. I know how good he could be.

Crying over TDK isn’t the move I’d be wanting. I’d be begging for Marshall to be moved on if your goal is to bring Dodson along at senior level.
All the point is that we have a very promising ruck who could be A grade
Why bring in another ruck who we are making the second highest player in the league when we have other areas of concern.
If we get this decision wrong the re ifications could be absolutely disastrous

Why bring in another ruck who we are making the second highest player in the league when we have other areas of concern.
Marshall was 24 before he broke out.
TDK 24/25 before he did the same.

That means we likely have 3-4 more years before Dodson gets to a similar level.

Rucks are all about physical development- comparison young kids coming through who can play more running roles are more immediately ready.

Hey Mods, surely a thread to JWEB is in order. 14 years of tough and loyal service to the club during some bleak and frankly confusing times is deserving of a mention I would've thought?

667149.jpg

VFL form is not an indication of AFL readiness. Have seen so many dominate at VFL and struggle at AFL.
From the moment I saw Dodson at preseason you could tell he was a footballer, with tremendous skill, poise, and footy IQ. Quite simply an absolute steal at 52.
It's his first of a two year contract as a draftee, normally they extend in their second.
I would suggest you don't worry too much in 2025. Come bye time 2026 and he hadn't extended, maybe get concerned then. This panicked is a tad premature in my view.

I expect oppo teams to come hard for Dodson. Extending him is a priority.

No the point is Dodson is contracted and will, in all probability extend next year.
Order of rucks
TDK
Marshall
Dodson
Keeler
Heath.

TDK no.1 ruck, Marshall may get traded may not.
Think Heath or Keeler may go.
That would leave
TDK
Dodson
Keeler.
I would prefer
TDK
Marshall
Dodson
Keeler.
There will be injuries and this is where Dodson and Keeler could get games.
2027 Marshall probably walks

So we would have
TDK
Dodson
Keeler
With the last gaining more experience.

Can't see why you are panicking about Dodson.

It could extend Roma's career spending more time forward and King would love having either Roma or TDK next to him in the forward line. Imagine Sharman will be happy to take the 3rd defender too, and Owens the 4th.
Where does this leave Keeler?

I thought he showed real potential in both forward and defence. 21 years old, right in the steep improvement window.

Ruck he lacked strength and craft, but that could be developed.

Everyone keeps raving about Dodson's potential. He had 35 hit-outs and 3 goals in a VFL game recently, and he just turned 19.

My worry is in 2 or 3 years time, we'll have Moneybags De Koning and King taking up all the coin. And Dodson and Keeler will leave for better opportunities elsewhere. Because we won't have the cap space to pay another quality tall.

Meanwhile, David King calls this "crazy" in light of potential throw-in rule change:

Fox Footy said:
The ruck merry-go-round happens most years in the trade period, but North Melbourne premiership player David King is sceptical about teams like St Kilda going all-in on the position.

His thoughts come as the AFL weighs up bringing in a last touch out of bounds rule, that will reduce the amount of boundary throw-ins and therefore reduce the amount of ruck contests as a whole.

"I just think it's a bad time, with the potential rules changing, to be spending that much on a ruckman," King told Fox Footy on Thursday night.

"That's going to minimise their opportunity to impact, with limited boundary throw-ins.

"It's a crazy spend for me."

I reckon Dodson looks a really good prospect as well but the takeaway from one great VFL performance is unmatched since Freeman.
He's a promising kid. That's all for now.
Shows how much you know doesn't it, he is not a one game wonder, do some research

Marshall was 24 before he broke out.
TDK 24/25 before he did the same.

That means we likely have 3-4 more years before Dodson gets to a similar level.

Rucks are all about physical development- comparison young kids coming through who can play more running roles are more immediately ready.
No doubt
Dodson is already ahead of the norm and will improve dramatically.
Where does this leave Keeler?

I thought he showed real potential in both forward and defence. 21 years old, right in the steep improvement window.

Ruck he lacked strength and craft, but that could be developed.

Everyone keeps raving about Dodson's potential. He had 35 hit-outs and 3 goals in a VFL game recently, and he just turned 19.

My worry is in 2 or 3 years time, we'll have Moneybags De Koning and King taking up all the coin. And Dodson and Keeler will leave for better opportunities elsewhere. Because we won't have the cap space to pay another quality tall.

Meanwhile, David King calls this "crazy" in light of potential throw-in rule change:
Throw in rule change will mean rucks have less opportunity and therefore less impact
Having an extra ruck robs us of speed
Ruck isn't an area to spend the cash in as it's importance is being reduced moving forward

No the point is Dodson is contracted and will, in all probability extend next year.
Order of rucks
TDK
Marshall
Dodson
Keeler
Heath.

TDK no.1 ruck, Marshall may get traded may not.
Think Heath or Keeler may go.
That would leave
TDK
Dodson
Keeler.
I would prefer
TDK
Marshall
Dodson
Keeler.
There will be injuries and this is where Dodson and Keeler could germt games.
2027 Marshall probably walks

So we would have
TDK
Dodson
Keeler
With the last gaining more experience.

Can't see why you are panicking about Dodson.
I don’t see Keeler as a ruck. He’s a key forward who can give a chop out for five minutes a quarter but no more than that.
That gives us four rucks, two in the seniors and two in the reserves. Until one of them gets injured, which will happen.

Then why hasn't he signed?
He is the best ruck we have drafted since Everett by a mile
Windy, Wilson and Dodson not signed is a worry especially since we have signed Collard and hastie
Dodson has a far higher ceiling than both.
If you were in his position why would you sign knowing that with two rucks ahead of him knowing that you have years to wait untill given the opportunity when apart from Freo every other club would want a gun potential ruck even based of his VFL form?
This is very reminiscent of the jackson/ Meek trade at freo.
However, jackson is one of the most consistent and versatile rucks in the AFL
It's 7 years big money
We don't won't to get this even half wrong
Footywire has both Dodson and Wilson already signed for 2026

But we needed to become a club that pulled a free agent. You can't get a second free agent if you don't get the first. The narrative change between us and North, and even Essington, with Nas re- signing and TDK joining will be club defining.
This is such hyperbole.

Most AFL players are thinking to themselves "of course De Koning's going to St Kilda- how could he turn that down?"

Carlton has an average coach and few good young players. If you can almost double your salary somewhere else, why not?

It's hardly a game changer for St Kilda.

Nothing changes. St Kilda will only be a destination club when currently - or imminently- in flag contention. We aren't like Collingwood where we have other selling points.

If you think Tom De Koning changes that more than a tiny fraction, you're delusional sorry mate.

If De Koning dominates and Saints go into flag contention (which would require many other things going right!), that'll help attract players of course. But it'll have nothing to do with the mere fact "we pulled a free agent".

Because we’re in a rush now. Not saying I agree with it but we obviously want to try and contend with Wilkie, Sinclair, Macrae etc and Nas has only given us two years. It’s either going to work or set us back 10 years so hopefully it works.