List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

I've been trying to see a way a deal works.
It hurts my brain looking into it.
Unless we can convince Butters to come to us or Richmond can sell the idea of butters on going there.
or he selects Adelaide and Adelaide are willing to part with like a Curtin back to West Coast I don't know how a deal gets done at all.
We are going to be wanting 2-3 firsts at a minimum while keeping our picks.

Best case scenario for us is NAS stays second best is I want to go home I don't care which club I go to

Unless we can convince Butters to come to us or Richmond can sell the idea of butters on going there.
or he selects Adelaide and Adelaide are willing to part with like a Curtin back to West Coast I don't know how a deal gets done at all.

Best case scenario for us is NAS stays second best is I want to go home I don't care which club I go to
Which is really what it should be. You’re homesick? No worries, we’ll get you back home in the way that gets us fair compo.

My lifelong saints supporting pessimism suggests we’ll end up stooged, however.

Do you listen to the post-match press conferences?
Most of them. There’s nothing he’s particularly said about him obviously it’s just a vibe and the way he was moved around the field constantly for a long time under Ross. You’d think he’d love a tagger, he loved Jones and Crowley.

Reality is, if he rated him we’d be offering him way more then 2 years as he starts to enter his early prime and he’d have been signed ages ago.

If Butters goes this year as part of the Nas trade IF there is one, it would toa club that can generate what would be of benefit to St Kilda. Hawthorn for example would love him and currently have Pick 6 and 12.

However if Nas wants to play finals he will go for the Crows, rather than Port who have a long rebuild in front of them.
Thing is:
1..Draft picks in a compromised draft don’t turn out to be that high.
2. A pick is no guarantee against an absolute star we have in hand.
3. Picks will take 4+ years to develop which we’ve already put into NAS.

And why would they get rid of their own star to bring in another one.
The idea is to build, not swap away your good players.
One in, one out is not going to move the needle.
Even our mate Cornes says they’re not going to trade Butters.
If Butters wants to come home, why any different to Nas's situation.
Yes he's currently under contract unlike Nas soon. But if he wants to come home, he gets it done,
And he will have enough SA boys here to aid in his transition.

Butters is apparently keen on the bulldogs apparently. Three way trade. Who do we want

If Butters wants to come home, why any different to Nas's situation.
Yes he's currently under contract unlike Nas soon. But if he wants to come home, he gets it done,
And he will have enough SA boys here to aid in his transition.
If you were saints, get in his ear, offer the $2 mil a season over X years long term!

(That’s if nas wants to go home)

But you’d definitely be in Butters ear!!

He would thrive under Ross

Roo was talking about Steele’s future and listed our mids like Nas that have gone past him and next year we also get Pou back

🤔

Mate, I was literally about to post this. I'm glad I wasn't the only one that noticed. Roo would have inside baseball.

He basically said without equivocation that Nas and Pou would replace Steele.

Let's say port finish 11-13th next year with nas. He's a star, could see them doing not horrible. In a compromised draft that's around pick 12. And the year after when Tassie in, let's say they finish similar. It'll be around pick 17-20. And Whitlock was pick 33.
Anyone suggesting future 1sts and Whitlock is a fool. Pick 12ish, 18ish and a guy who played one game and had 3 touches for a potential GENERATIONAL SUPERSTAR. We have to remember just how good Nas is. He's not just an Andrew brayshaw mid. He is daicos level and daicos would deserve a kings ransom. A gun mid (butters) plus a decent player or picks. Even then, we're still losing the trade. Nas is freakish. That kick to hall on the weekend after bouncing 4 times, Jesus.