List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

I'm actually really confident he stays for now - either two years (meaning he will go down the line - it just gives enough time for Port and/or Adelaide to sort themselves out) or else a long term deal at the Saints.

Or its a long term deal with flexibility to request a trade.

I'm actually really confident he stays for now - either two years (meaning he will go down the line - it just gives enough time for Port and/or Adelaide to sort themselves out) or else a long term deal at the Saints.

Personally if the former happened I'd probably feel even worse about losing Nas than I do now.

In two years he could legit be the best player in the game. Just because Port and the Crows can save up more draft capital, do we really want to be going through this again in two years?

Personally if the former happened I'd probably feel even worse about losing Nas than I do now.

In two years he could legit be the best player in the game. Just because Port and the Crows can save up more draft capital, do we really want to be going through this again in two years?

I'd take any contract now haha.

I still dont think hes assured of going in 2 years. He might mature a bit more about being away (with more money he might even have his family come over). Itll ultimately depend how were travelling, if were still 11th or worse he goes for sure, if were up to it by that point i reckon we increase the chances of retaining him more and more by the day.

Or its a long term deal with flexibility to request a trade.
Cant see how that would make sense for him. If there were clauses they would have to be mutual at which point he may as well just not have a contract.

You’re kidding right? The fact he went MIA from the dogs last year during his recovery. Tried to get to hawthorn year before that. The significant off field issues related to drugs.
Spot on

Idiots are looking at his output this year rather than the situation and circumstances of when he was being traded .

No way the two are comparable.

The 9yr Kozi P style contract announcement is going to hit like crack
Clearly Kozi’s folks were rapt the little fooker was out of their hair

I still dont think hes assured of going in 2 years. He might mature a bit more about being away (with more money he might even have his family come over). Itll ultimately depend how were travelling, if were still 11th or worse he goes for sure, if were up to it by that point i reckon we increase the chances of retaining him more and more by the day.

Cant see how that would make sense for him. If there were clauses they would have to be mutual at which point he may as well just not have a contract.

If he signs for two I wouldn't say it is inevitable he leaves by any means, just a very strong indicator of where his preference is. SainterinSydney makes a good point though that a long term deal with us could also mean the same.

Also even though it doesn't affect the trade directly, it is hilarious how Adelaide have managed to stuff up this week.

I strongly believe NWM stays but I feel like part of the pain atm is the fact that theres no chance we get fair value in return if Nas was to leave now - the most we'd get is 3 late firsts that end up in the 20s

However, if he leaves in 2 years:

Port Adelaide have Bergman & Georgiades at free agency + Berry & Sinn out of contract
Adelaide have Worrell at free agency + Sid Draper out of contract

I strongly believe NWM stays but I feel like part of the pain atm is the fact that theres no chance we get fair value in return if Nas was to leave now - the most we'd get is 3 late firsts that end up in the 20s

However, if he leaves in 2 years:

Port Adelaide have Bergman & Georgiades at free agency + Berry & Sinn out of contract
Adelaide have Worrell at free agency + Sid Draper out of contract

Yes but if Nas were continue on his current trajectory he'd be worth twice was he's worth currently - we'd still feel cheated just like we feel cheated now. Out of contract players are always going to leave for less.

If he signs for two I wouldn't say it is inevitable he leaves by any means, just a very strong indicator of where his preference is. SainterinSydney makes a good point though that a long term deal with us could also mean the same.

Also even though it doesn't affect the trade directly, it is hilarious how Adelaide have managed to stuff up this week.
Yeh look, if he takes two then its clear hes got an exit strategy in mind but it gives us time to come good.

It seems clear he loves the club and the people, that homesickness usually goes away the longer youre away, added in an extra million a year means a bigger house with space for his family to come stay as long as he wants.

By then it really comes down to whether we improve or not.

I think we can all but rule out a long term deal with us at this point, of all the options that feels the least likely, there really would be no point in a long term contract with clauses for him to depart, you may as well just do a shorter term deal at that point.

The Nas situation is very unique and as supporters there is probably not a lot we can do. Nas being such an introverted sort of guy probably doesnt have that contact with supporters for them to pass on how much he means to the club and how much we love him.

I wonder if any of the St Kilda Supporter Groups or even the Saints BF community could come together and create some sort of message board to reach out to Nas and each of us write something to show him how much he and means to us and the club?

I don’t think the afl care to be honest.

What did Geelong pay for smith ?. Wasn’t it 17 and 38 for smith and 45. Bailey smith was a high draft pick and had starred for the bulldogs.

I just don’t see why we would get a much better deal. Both young, both out of contract, both going to top teams without high draft picks.
Smith had, should we say, "other" issues, a less than cordial relationship with his coach and was coming off a year of no footy with an acl.

No comparison.

So much for AFL great equalisation policy, we have a ripper and likely lose him to team finishing top of ladder at seasons end.
Bad enough he goes anywhere, but I feel sick at the thought of this.