List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

It's the age of the small forward and we have a really thin brigade. Ryan doesn't have to kick 50 goals, he needs to pressure and score against the flow. King deep, Sharman, Hall, Snags and Ryan and one of Butler/Hammer/Keeler/Collard/Henry, looks a really good potent line.

The back 6 is the most suspect line now.
His marking makes him a hard match up.

Not sure this is really warranted especially after we've just had to cop weeks of being told Ollie Lord and Jack Whitlock would be a fair price for Nas.

Ryan is 28 and a very solid player. Would be a great get for us and considering the Coasters have only managed one win this year and are going through an absolutely dire five year stretch they've got every right to want a bit back for him.
Ryan is a 30 yr old in 2026
Apparently he is taking a massive pay cut and is testing the waters

Not sure why you need to pot my club, think the discussion here has been pretty respectful both ways?

It’s really simple, he’s contracted, no cap issues and is a valuable player on and off the field. If an offer is not commensurate to that value then we’ll hang onto him or engage with other clubs. I’m sure you’d expect the same of your contracted players.

I think your club has built a strong indigenous culture and would be a good landing spot for him should he request a trade.
It probably will be one of those boring arse multi club trades that happen at the end of the trade period.

Not sure this is really warranted especially after we've just had to cop weeks of being told Ollie Lord and Jack Whitlock would be a fair price for Nas.

Ryan is 28 and a very solid player. Would be a great get for us and considering the Coasters have only managed one win this year and are going through an absolutely dire five year stretch they've got every right to want a bit back for him.

Maybe we just tell them we will take our offer for Harley Reid off the table, if they just give us Ryan for nothing. 🙄 😏

Saints players without contracts past this year remaining unsigned: (Please correct me if any of this is wrong)
  • Angus McLennan
  • Arie Schoenmaker
  • Dougal Howard
  • Harry Boyd
  • Isaac Keeler
  • Jack Carroll (UFA)
  • Jimmy Webster (UFA)
  • Liam O'Connell
  • Liam Stocker (UFA)
  • Marcus Windhager
  • Max Heath
  • Ryan Byrnes
  • Zaine Cordy (UFA)
  • Zak Jones
Here are some other fringe players and when their contracts are up:
  • Dan Butler 2026
  • Eamonn Armstrong 2026
  • Hunter Clark 2027
  • Lance Collard 2027
  • Paddy Dow 2026
Assuming that we draft a minimum of 3 new players, look to trade in TDK and Aleer, that's already 5 spaces needed, but could be -and will probably be - many more.

Here's my preference:

1. Webster (retire): I suppose it's possible that he might go round again, but maybe it's time to move on the next phase of life and enjoy a peaceful retirement with the satisfaction of a successful career (on a personal level)
  2. Boyd (delist): It's telling with all the issues in ruck we've had over the rounds, Harry wasn't picked after his first game. Thanks anyway.
  3. Cordy (delist): It's potentially dangerous to get rid of another key backman, especially a calm senior player, but his standard is a little under what we should be aiming for as a club. I loved what he was part of in Ross's first season back but I'm hoping we won't need him going forward.
  4. Jones (delist): I've loved his efforts and maintain he's helped get us over the line a few times, but there comes a time. Great Saints man, all heart but if spots are tight he's in danger.
  5. McLennan (delist): Countless players over the history stay on the fringes and never really get a chance: Leo Connolly, Oscar Adams, Olli Hotton recent examples. Angus got a handful of games and may still make it, but we don't have enough space to justify keeping him sad to say.
  6. Dow (delist): Unlikely, due to not getting a run at it, but it hasn't worked out and out of he and Carroll, I think Carroll has the potential to be more useful. I wouldn't be too upset if he's given another year though.
  7. Steele (trade): I think he has the potential to reinvent himself in the forward line and the last few weeks he's shown that he is still highly valued by the boys and the coaches, so I doubt this happens, but the game has moved past him IMO.
  8. Butler (trade/delist): in the leadership group and at his best devastating player, but similarly to Membrey last year, his spot needs to be given to develop a younger player and with Dan's increasing injury record, it's time to say thanks for your service. May end up getting him to a club in need of a pressure crummer to complete their list.
  9. Marshall (trade): Another very popular player and it turns out a talismanic leader. If we are to bring in TDK, with Dodson Heath and Keeler all needing to develop, this trade makes sense at his external value and age. First round picks only.
  10. **** UPON MEDICAL ADVICE Henry (trade/delist): Time to be real here; if that knee issue is as bad as Crouchy's last year, then it's a shame but he'll never be the player we need him to be. HOWEVER, if he fully recovers and gets his 2024 form back again, then lock him in, he'll be great.
Other possibilities:
Schoenmaker (trade/delist): Still a hope this guy develops into something big, but could just as easily not. The smart play is surely to hold onto him until Tassie enters the AFL and then see if they want to trade one of their draft picks for him, unless he makes himself undroppable.
O'Connell (trade/delist): A tough backman to replace Webster would be a lock you'd think, but he hasn't really had that many games in what must be said has been an inconsistent defence. What do the coaches think about him?
Collard (trade): I doubt we let him go this early in his career, but he'd want to get cracking this pre-season and make the jump in output next year. If we're being ruthless and we get a great offer from the WA clubs, it's possible we might cash in our chips but I hope not.
Byrnes (trade): Being the whipping boy is a bit unfair, people see what they want, and I see a lot of hard work, leadership, determination and enthusiasm and very decent linking play. He's not popular, but you need types like Byrnes in the best sides. Will SOS see it this way? Let's see. Someone will want him, that's for sure.
Heath (trade/delist): "Moose" has offered us a glimpse during his 2-game stint that there's something to work with. Will it be enough to justify holding onto him? We're about to find out. I hope so, personally.
Keeler (trade/delist): ditto but probably has a bit more to work with and the relationship with Nas helps. I like this player though, want to keep him.
Macrae (retire): I'm hoping Jackson can go around again and give us the service that he gave us this year, but he's looking very tired towards the end of this season.
Windhager (trade): I utterly hate this idea, but if he wants to drive a hard bargin for an unrealistic deal, the unthinkable may happen. I would be very dark on SOS if he let Windy leave, even after Nas re-signing.

The other players are either very unlikely to be delisted or ask for a trade or retire at this stage.
Too lazy to reply in depth but a lot of this I disagree with and things like Dow when another year added recently don’t add to the credibility.

If Liam Ryan wants to leave a trade will get done, it’s not a nasiah situation he’s 29 and doesn’t fit the eagles list profile, it will hurt the eagles but they will be happy to get a pick for him.

How would Marshall go as a key back? Might be a silly question.

if that's the case then what is the point of front-loading contracts if this is the end result. WC would be well within their rights to say no
Good I hope for our sakes they save us from ourselves
Eagles have a severe dearth of talent and leadership.
Why would they look to trade a quality player when they have the least quality players of any AFL side due to some of the poorest list management decisions we have ever seen?
If true we are the only club in the Afl interested and that's a genuine concern

Not sure why you need to pot my club, think the discussion here has been pretty respectful both ways?

It’s really simple, he’s contracted, no cap issues and is a valuable player on and off the field. If an offer is not commensurate to that value then we’ll hang onto him or engage with other clubs. I’m sure you’d expect the same of your contracted players.

I think your club has built a strong indigenous culture and would be a good landing spot for him should he request a trade.

Bottom line is, if we want him, we will make an offer which won't be promising young stars or a first round draft pick (and likely not even a second round pick) headed your way. Ryan is about to turn 29. Likely it will be a third rounder, or a combo of thirds and fourths or picks going back and forth. If Eagles aren't interested and they want to hang onto him, he will stay as he is contracted.

We aren't going to overpay for Ryan--simples.

If Ryan is coming must mean collard is going

I would've thought part of the idea behind bringing Liam Ryan to the club would be so our list has another experienced indigenous player to act as a mentor to the younger talent - like Collard, Keeler and Liam Henry - so they can further their development and realize their potential.

Hilly is the leader

Not sure where I have read it but I did see someone suggesting that Ross wants to deploy Higgins into the mid rotation but our lack of quality small forwards hasn’t allowed that. Liam Ryan was a way of providing more flexibility and class in that area of the ground

Ross said it himself. It was either on Footy Classified last week or in his post-game presser, I can't remeber. We've had RTB overload the last few weeks. But he definitely wants to try Higgins as a midfielder.

I see this as more of an extension of the crap we've had to put up with for weeks. West Coast fan coming in here talking about Ryan and mentioning Wilson as if the return was ever going to be that high.