List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

This makes no sense. Who told us to make a trade proposal 😂

S: We were looking to buy one of y...
H: Looking? Looking to buy? What does that mean? How much money do you have? What are you willing to give me? SHOW ME THE MONEY!!
S: Alrigh...
H: HE'S NOT FOR SALE!! Beat it.

View attachment 2408867

parents are taking the piss now. ****ing sounds like one of those auto generated names on a video game to pad out a playing list

**** the list gets worse and worse. WTF is this shit:
View attachment 2408878
It's going to come full circle soon where parents will start giving their kids really traditional names to be different.

In the words of Louis CK: "Just give your kid a normal name. I mean, John Lennon's name was John. What a loser"

Hawks would only entertain McKenzie trade if they needed draft capital to bring in a big name (e.g Butters, Petracca)

Worpel will likely go to Geelong and Day is always going to be under a cloud, so if McKenzie can't solidify a spot in their midfield come 12 months time then he might have issues we're blind to.

correct

But St Kilda wouldn’t reasonably offer a deal that Hawthorn would accept

It doesn’t make sense for either party

Hence why it has only gone through management at this stage

Appreciate you coming here and posting respectfully. Always a tough ask crossing enemy lines.

When I've watched Cam it feels like he is a bit slow and his kicking is a little vanilla, underwhelming and lacking penetration. Has that been the case for his career so far? I'll admit I haven't seen much of him of late.

The timing of the Cam rumours are fascinating being on the eve of finals. Bit of a selection warning from management I'm thinking.

Having said that, McKenzie, Heath and Petracca have all been linked with moving now so who knows - there's always time for a good three way.

They were only $7 last week :thumbsu:

Wait until Windy signs, $2 memberships here we go!

Good luck for next season 👍

Thanks to the saints posters for engaging reasonably

who are the hawks linked too? that might explain whats happening.

from our side of the fence there appears to be a reset on the list where they're looking for experience to support the younger crew coming through to try and have a decent crack at the top 6 inside two years.

hence why older players are linked to other clubs.

but for hawthorn there must be a reason why his agent is shopping him then. who are hawthorn into?

who are the hawks linked too? that might explain whats happening.

from our side of the fence there appears to be a reset on the list where they're looking for experience to support the younger crew coming through to try and have a decent crack at the top 6 inside two years.

hence why older players are linked to other clubs.

but for hawthorn there must be a reason why his agent is shopping him then. who are hawthorn into?
Petreecca

The best way I can describe him is he reminds me of a typical Brisbane midfielder.

He’s a bit like Will Ashcroft in that there’s no obviously flaw, but there’s no one outstanding trait. He has capacity to hit the scoreboard but doesn’t do it regularly.

Some would describe him as vanilla but I think he’s a very well rounded young mid.
I agree. The times I’ve seen him he looks like a nice player - good at most things but not exceptional at anything. I’d take him if the price was right, but our first pick isn’t it.

Cordy arguably got us to finals in 2023. He was playing full forward as the leading player, negating the oppositions full back, and being the General in the forward line. He barely cost us anything (no compensation for Bulldogs), and seems like he was a great fit culturally. He came back after his pec injury and held down full back in the VFL to relieve Barrat, which aids his development too.
I’m surprised they didn’t try Cordy forward this year. Accurate set shot too.

Honestly reckon Tom is talking junk about us and JSos… Cal was pretty quick to remind him that we’re going after Aleer after he mentioned JSos.

Hope he’s wrong anyway.

Neither JSos or Aleer are the lock down gorilla fullbacks we need. Just pay Windy and keep building the core
My mate has told me JSOS is done. Signing with us.

Getting names linked is exciting and all until having to go through the garbage of two months of media speculation, oppo fans, and the chaos in here 🤣. We’re entering the much less fun phase.
Nah, this is our moment. The best time. Footy season has more or less sucked arse since 2010. Trade and draft time is when the crazies are let out to roam amongst the normals and turn them into one of them.
It's syphilitic zombie time and the Wild West combined.
Get your gun and start shooting Tommy.
It's time to dance 😎

My mate has told me JSOS is done. Signing with us.
Don't hate it.
Fitness is an issue, but a very solid pick up if he stays fit.
Adds a bit more experience to the backline with Wilkie and Sinc's. Three old heads, and two or three under 25's.
Throws the Aleer acquisition out a bit though, if it happens at all.

Don't hate it.
Fitness is an issue, but a very solid pick up if he stays fit.
Adds a bit more experience to the backline with Wilkie and Sinc's. Three old heads, and two or three under 25's.
Throws the Aleer acquisition out a bit though, if it happens at all.
Is it fair to say he’d (JSOS) be a Battle replacement?

I’m not super familiar with his game.