List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

The Norf board acting like they had Windhager, Darcy Wilson and Callum Wilkie locked in based on twitter rumours put out by SA journalists that they were unhappy is hilarious stuff

Coz there's some very good players in that range. This draft is criticised because of a poor top 5 and it doesn’t bat very deep, but our pick 7 is as good as a pick 7 in most years. If we can pull our trades off with futures in comprised drafts then we should do that since we are youth heavy now and most of them look to have a future as league players. It's always a gamble either way but especially since priority access looks to be getting dumped for the first round next year, but again looking at the pool that's likely available to us this year they are players you'd want to have. Bird in the hand and all..
Well, we hope so, but IMV it’s a long way back from the usual pick 7 (8 with Allen, hopefully no one is stupid enough to give Draper with an Achilles snap a big contract).

The Norf board acting like they had Windhager, Darcy Wilson and Callum Wilkie locked in based on twitter rumours put out by SA journalists that they were unhappy is hilarious stuff

One of their posts was he should come to them after we increased our years to 4 because they truly valued him from start lol

We run about 35 deep of listed players who should be putting their hands up for selection if we land all these players.

We will bat deep. Which should mean we can manage a few players along the way, if all goes to plan
Which is why I'm not worried about Ryan or JSOS' bodies

Ryan has Henry, Collard, Butler all as backups
JSOS has Tauru, O'Connell, Caminiti, Barrat (when ready)

Then you've got guys like Macrae & Steele who'll surely be managed throughout the season with Boxshall, Clark, Dow, Trav (hopefully) all able to run through

while I haven't thought too much about Liam Ryan coming across or general body of work lately, I'm all for it because it'll mean he'll stop toweling us up.

swear to god he has generational games against the saints every year. unsure about the stats but he always seems to be fuggin everywhere and attempts a MOTY every time he plays us. it needs to stop

I'm more excited by Ryan's ball use and ability to create a contest aerialy than I am about his goal output.

He's just all class ball in hand. He makes stuff happen. Would do wonders for our forward half ball movement and retention.

Age and body are my only concerns
Would Ryan and Henry be competing for the same role in the team?

while I haven't thought too much about Liam Ryan coming across or general body of work lately, I'm all for it because it'll mean he'll stop toweling us up.

swear to god he has generational games against the saints every year. unsure about the stats but he always seems to be fuggin everywhere and attempts a MOTY every time he plays us. it needs to stop

He doesn't have big numbers games against us, its more that he cuts through us like a hot knife through butter with his ball use.

Would be nice to have that on our side.

I'm more excited by Ryan's ball use and ability to create a contest aerialy than I am about his goal output.

He's just all class ball in hand. He makes stuff happen. Would do wonders for our forward half ball movement and retention.

Age and body are my only concerns
I’d say he has been target to improve our connection mid to forward, leadership and his relationship with NAS.

Yep. Ensure we sign our young kids, add TDK. Excellent!
Flanders.
Never heard of him till about 15 pages back, but now I’m desperate to get him.
Top off the trade season with TDK, Ryan and Flanders (Aleer?) and we “done good”.

Surely we aren't putting Liam Stocker's very real and genuine mental health condition in the same category as a bloke with a very real and genuine drug problem?

That's a new low for BF as far as I'm concerned.

Wouldn't take Hollands even if the scum paid us.

Well, we hope so, but IMV it’s a long way back from the usual pick 7 (8 with Allen, hopefully no one is stupid enough to give Draper with an Achilles snap a big contract).
IIRC its around the Greeves, Cumming, Pou2, Lindsay range which is good enought for me. On top of that if Dymple wants to pluck a kid that's not necessarily high on the radar its opportunity to do so.

Surely we aren't putting Liam Stocker's very real and genuine mental health condition in the same category as a bloke with a very real and genuine drug problem?

That's a new low for BF as far as I'm concerned.

Wouldn't take Hollands even if the scum paid us.

Flog or not because I don't know anything about Hollands case but drug use and mental health issues often go hand in hand.

Edited for accuracy.

A brilliant review.

He highlighted Macrae's stats for the year, which were really impressive top 10 in a lot of important actions. I have been critical of his lack of speed and the club grabbing him at seasons end. I have to apologise as I was obviously seeing what he hasnt done and not what he was doing well. I was wrong Jacko you had a year better than we would have expected.
Thanks mate.

Apology accepted.

We have now upped our offer from two to four years and reports are he is likely to stay now.

Seems like the length of the deal was obviously a big part of the issue and it was strange we only had two on the table.

Everything sounds strange when you only hear half of it.

We were probably only prepared to offer him the money he wanted (eg 800k/year or whatever) for 2 years max.
So we did.

If we've since upped it to 4 years, we've either totally caved- or simply offered him less per year than he wanted.

Id be surprised if we totally caved given he's the messy/defensive mid we have a glut of.

But if we did totally cave- it could mean that we've suddenly got confident with moving steele on I'd reckon.