List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Let's not drop our bundle over a statement by Finey. Let's wait and see. I still feel he stays--all the Twomey etc talk was a 4 year deal would do it and he wants to stay. I doubt he is desperate to leave over a few shekels. It's probably posturing by manager to squeeze more money out of us.
Sick of you and your happy Clapper positivity.
Heard all this from you for weeks about NWM and look how that turned out.....oh wait...

If Windy goes to a basketcase club who spent the year without a CEO, where most of their guns are either 33 years old or a shadow of their former selves (Gawn, May, Petracca, Oliver), and finished below St Kilda the last 2 years....

Will the cheerleaders in this thread still be convinced in the direction of the club, and that we should just "have faith in the list managers?" because "they know what they're doing"?

Asking for a friend.
Maybe Windy has been promised a permanent mid position and $850k over 5 years by the Cho.
He should jump at it because he won't get a starting mid position at Saints hopefully. He has limited skills but trys really hard and is a good citizen. Worth keeping for the right price.

To me this reeks of Nathan Buckley getting in Windy's ear and saying come with me mate, I rate you highly and we can do this, this and this.
To be fair we've had Gubby lurking in the corners other teams dressing rooms for four years... we're in no position to get the hump with other teams.

Anyone actually watch the clip of Finey making the statement?

“He will definitely be at Melbourne next year… unless Saints can entice him to stay”

That’s such a ‘backtrack in one sentence’ it’s hilarious. Is it definite or not?

Reckon he stays still.
I am hearing he definately stays.....unless he doesn't.

I think you seriously struggle to understand the argument and have tried to get me in some kinda gotcha.

There are numerous posters talking up Windy as a midfielder that must stick around. For whatever reason, he wasn’t a Centre bounce mid unless he tagged from R16 onwards - which coincided with Nas going in there. So there is a genuine argument that the club doesn’t see him as part of its starting onball brigade.

You throwing Flanders and Cmac at me are weird when I’ve clearly stated

A) I see Cmac as another Hall. But you want the data. Sure …

Windy averaged 45% CBA across the entire season.
Cmac averages 48%.

Flanders 9%

However my other point, was that it’s likely…

B) we are recruiting Flanders based off his 6 game sample size as a midfielder in late 2024.

His CBA during that span was at a whopping 80.5%
No need to get triggered and personal mate. The point still stands 🤣 which thankfully you’ve pointed out on my behalf with these pearler stats, great work 👌

no skin off my back at the end of the day, you just seem hell bent on downplaying the windy scenario, even when it’s at odds with our trade scenarios on foot, and in direct contradiction

You do you, Stav 😆

Maybe Windy has been promised a permanent mid position and $850k over 5 years by the Cho.
He should jump at it because he won't get a starting mid position at Saints hopefully. He has limited skills but trys really hard and is a good citizen. Worth keeping for the right price.
And he'd get to talk to Richo every day...

No need to get triggered and personal mate. The point still stands 🤣 which thankfully you’ve pointed out on my behalf with these pearler stats, great work 👌

no skin off my back at the end of the day, you just seem hell bent on downplaying the windy scenario, even when it’s at odds with our trade scenarios on foot, and in direct contradiction

You do you, Stav 😆
What are you talking about?

To be fair we've had Gubby lurking in the corners other teams dressing rooms for four years... we're in no position to get the hump with other teams.
Don't think anyone is getting upset, except for the bedwetters.
So a rival is enticing an opposition player, oh no, never happened before.
We certainly didn't entice TDK or JSOS to join us on big money, nobody has spoken to Ryan, he just decided he would nominate the Saints.
Allen and the Saints haven't been talking to GC all year about a possible Flanders trade.
Yes being facetious, but as you say if anyone is sooking about a player being poached they need to understand the way of the world.
Losing a specific player is a different argument. Basically you can understand this will happen and still be upset because you like the player.

He looks like he is completely lost out there , athlete without the footballers brain
He reminds me of Matt Allison the way he runs around without knowing what he is meant to be doing , i know he hasn't played a lot of games but god he would want to improve

What are you talking about?
You know what I’m talking about. You’re doing a whole song and dance about windy on reduced CBAs, which by your own admission are still quite significant, and yet here we are making plays for C-Mac and Flanders in a similar scenario re CBAs. It’s odd and strange mate, whatever way you want to posture it.

It’s literally zero skin off my back, I actually couldn’t care less, I just think the confirmation bias reeks. You do you.

You know what I’m talking about. You’re doing a whole song and dance about windy on reduced CBAs, which by your own admission are still quite significant, and yet here we are making plays for C-Mac and Flanders in a similar scenario re CBAs. It’s odd and strange mate, whatever way you want to posture it.

It’s literally zero skin off my back, I actually couldn’t care less, I just think the confirmation bias reeks. You do you.
I pointed out that from round 16 onwards Windy only saw a CBA when tagging and that the club could be moving forward of the view he isn’t one.

You then brought up Cmac and Flanders - when I hadn’t mentioned them and claimed I was being biased and asked about their CBA. I said I hadn’t looked but you can use the link.

You then double down on this bias. So I gave you the CBA you had brought up for both players and the player I said was more like Hall in my eyes, had more CBA then windy and the player we are very public about wanting and I referenced the period that has likely caught our eye - had an 80% CBA during that time.

So both more than Windy - which was the point that we may not see him as part of the onball brigade.

😂 😂 fancy being very wrong and trying to spin it otherwise.

You have said yourself he will never be an A grader and spent the last few pages pointing out his flaws, now you think we must get a first round pick for him if he leaves?
If they’re offering an A graders deal, then yes.

He reminds me of Matt Allison the way he runs around without knowing what he is meant to be doing , i know he hasn't played a lot of games but god he would want to improve
That’s the same player I was thinking of. Athletically gifted although Aleer is still rake thin and gets pushed off balance even easily by Sharman. Basically if he doesn’t mark the ball, he’s toast. Little game sense or awareness. Complete opposite to Silvagni

I pointed out that from round 16 onwards Windy only saw a CBA when tagging and that the club could be moving forward of the view he isn’t one.

You then brought up Cmac and Flanders - when I hadn’t mentioned them and claimed I was being biased and asked about their CBA. I said I hadn’t looked but you can use the link.

You then double down on this bias. So I gave you the CBA you had brought up for both players and the player I said was more like Hall in my eyes, had more CBA then windy and the player we are very public about wanting and I referenced the period that has likely caught our eye - had an 80% CBA during that time.

So both more than Windy - which was the point that we may not see him as part of the onball brigade.

😂 😂 fancy being very wrong and trying to spin it otherwise.
Don’t know what cool aid you’re drinking mate, but from rounds 17-24 Windy had 5 rounds of more than 30% CBAs. Once again, continue with all the circle work you want, but it’s odd you’re not pointing out the same thing for Flanders or C-Mac.

“Fancy being wrong”. That’s cute mate 🤣