List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

So if Windy goes to Melbourne you think we are going to regret it?

You think that Windy will move the needle for Melbourne?
Hey PJays ... seems you want to keep avoiding some basic questions :handpointup:

Also can you outline your list strategy and who we should have or should be targeting? .... I asked this question of you earlier as well

Just interested in hearing about an alternative direction to take this current list?

I didn’t see the game yesterday to comment.

Thought he looked good in patches against us in r23.
I am not into our club paying top dollar for "Patches" Aleer and squeezing out a potential future captain and one of the best two way runners in the club by shortchanging him.

Pay Windy

Hope Flanders plays a better Q clash than what he served up last night

Haven't seem much of him in crunch games, but looked a bit of a squib

We’ve got a few soft ***** in our team (and Aleer doesn’t give me Byron Pickett vibes either), but Windy is not one. He has mongrel amongst other admiral traits. Hope he stays because you need guys like that.

During the early 2000’s when we recruited Gehrig, Hamill, Lawrence, those were the days. Nobody could F with us. Add in Baker of course. I’m okay for recruiting players with skill but can we also get some players with ticker and mongrel?

Why not make a play for Steven May instead of Aleer since we’ve started going for older guys. You don’t want to sit in front of that prick because you know you’ll get smashed. Players like Max King and Aleer are too nice. That’s my take.

Windy is a better looking version than cj. He can’t kick - doesn’t win enough in the middle and doesn’t hurt. He does everything that cj did well but just his kick looks a bit prettier.

The Club has finished 12 and 12 the last two years as we suddenly believe that the same crop of players going to get us there.

Marshall great around the ground consistently gets beaten by the best ruckman.

Steele may never be the same player.

Whilst aleer may turn out to be a stretch we were definitely short in the back half this year, the rest of the players and retaining nas will make us stronger. A full preseason under nas hall playing midfield with poo to stay fit and windy would be getting in as a back pocket at best.

I am not into our club paying top dollar for "Patches" Aleer and squeezing out a potential future captain and one of the best two way runners in the club by shortchanging him.

Pay Windy
Linking Windy to the Aleer acquisition in isolation is just ridiculous. Nas’s contract is every bit to blame as each recruits contract. McRae’s contract is also very substantial for what he is at this stage of his career. A little more depth wouldn’t hurt.

Losing Windy will be very hard to swallow. He's a heart and soul kind of player, tough as nails. This reminds me of the Luke Ball situation in 2009. RTB pigeon holes players early, and has a habit of playing favourites, I reckon Windy has been damned by faint praise by Ross, while Pou on the other hand is a bit of a teachers pet.

Pay Windy
Yes pay Windy

Pay every StKilda player that tuns 22 800 k a season too....

Except how to we actually pay all of our average players that?

Yeah, that's what you call someone who's played almost every game since they arrived as an 18 year old

You may be right but sport is full of people who perform for a short time and then drop off.

Sustainable performance deserves long-term contract.

Horses for courses.

But as you admit:

it may have been 4.

My comment was merely that a 2 year offer in that situation is more understandable to me.

But we do know he was initially offered 2.

no matter how many times you try to avoid that point.

When they deserve it yes.

Cheerleading and apologetics is useless. We should be demanding good things from our club.

I may not have got everything right about St Kilda's specific situation, because I wasn't aware of every single thing reported by every talking head. But I know more about the CBA and the cap than many of the prolific posters here and their half-baked apologetics.
If you don’t know when the club tried to negotiate with Windy. You don’t know what the original offer was. We know only what the reports tell us, that his current offer was at 2 years. The fact we have gone from 2 to 4 years evidently suggests the issue was never YEARS. it’s always been about the money.

And no playing every game since debuting doesn’t make you a proven commodity. We have all seen every windy game here and we have people who think he is an A graders. People who think he is on his way and others who think he is a B grader and that’s his level.

That’s the very definition of not being a proven commodity. It means we don’t know if he can get better. What we do know is that he is a good tagger. But his ball use is generally poor.

“Demanding good things from our club”.

Is that what this attempt is? Have we not hit the draft. Have we not just landed 2 via FA. Have we not just had 2 nominate or about to nominate us with another 1-2 coming?

If you know so much about the cap. You wouldn’t have spent so much time telling prolific posters how we had X to spend and make no provisions when the club was adamant it wasn’t risking its future. Now you find out we are an additional $2m better off than your best guesstimates.

Doesn’t really seem like the club is stressed “being over a barrel” in the way they were with Nas.

Which is the point. If this another player you didn’t like. You wouldn’t care. But you rate Windy so you think it’s stupid and we should pay up.
But, here you are maintaining that the club’s prepared to “do what’s required to get themselves their desired outcome” in respect to going to the PSD for Windy.

Clearly, if the club’s not all that stressed, they’re clearly not going to the extent of the PSD for Windy. But, hey, we all live in the life of daily contradictions from Stav.

As I age, each day I am feeling more and more like Phanty

Losing Windy will be very hard to swallow. He's a heart and soul kind of player, tough as nails. This reminds me of the Luke Ball situation in 2009. RTB pigeon holes players early, and has a habit of playing favourites, I reckon Windy has been damned by faint praise by Ross, while Pou on the other hand is a bit of a teachers pet.
He can earn the title of a heart and soul player... if he stays!

At least til free agency... bit early to call him that and have him pi55 off to Melbourne.

But, here you are maintaining that the club’s prepared to “do what’s required to get themselves their desired outcome” in respect to going to the PSD for Windy.

Clearly, if the club’s not all that stressed, they’re clearly not going to the extent of the PSD for Windy. But, hey, we all live in the life of daily contradictions from Stav.

Bloke, you proved earlier you had no idea what you were talking about and I maintain it now.

Did Ross not say that port couldn’t satisfy us with Nas and Caro put it in print that we would have used the draft?

Did Ross not make the same claim with contracted players that it needed to be beneficial to the club?

Did the club not pull out of trading for soldo because of his knee and Kemp because of trade price?

What makes you think we won’t do what’s required if we don’t get an offer that’s inline with the going market rate for players such as windy?

There is no contradiction. Just your belief you think you’re getting one over me. 🥱

And me and phantom are good. Ask him yourself.

Who have we lost so far? ... a bunch of C & D graders and "maybe" 2 current best 22 ..... who don't seem to moving the needle ... and maybe they dont even go

Maybe we are spinning like a top because we havent done anything thus far?

Yet now that we are ... people are still finding ways to complain and whinge

We had cap space to use and had to use it or lose it

Damned if you do ..... damned if you dont
When you’re looking at TDK in Marshall out that’s a push and we’ve bought a pick.

If that pick somehow becomes Flanders you’ve improved but added $1.5 million to the cap and you're back to square one if Windhager walks.

Silvagni is a good pick up on good money so that’s a win.

Ryan on good money is another win depending on the pick.

Aleer if I’m kind is a project who probably replaces Howard long term or is an expensive back up.

None of this really moves the needle much there has to be more to this or it’s much ado about nothing imo.

There aren’t any gauranteed plans if there were everyone would be doing it. We have some unusual circumstances like Tassie entering the comp that have forced our hand. We’ve been very smart with the cap and our contracts to put together a war chest.

There has to be a part two to all this and that’s the part that will determine if we’ve put together a finals side or just made a lot of noise and spent a lot of money.

I’m concerned if part two is underwhelming we’ll have blown another list build, remember the Bulldogs missed with 14 wins and a percentage of 137.

I’d assume we’ll be looking to extend Wilson over the off season given he is out of contract at the end of next year. Good first season, struggled in year 2 until the blinder in the last game.

What do we offer at this point or do we let it get into a late season negotiation again?

We can't be held to ransom now every time a player's contract comes up

Would Adrian Cole (last years NGA) do any worse than Aleer? He’s cost a lot less too! Very weird choice to pursue Aleer. Hope I’m wrong. Can’t see him offering any offensive capability, which was the knock on Cole.
Clearly Lyon sees something he really likes in Aleer. Presumably his athleticism, ability to jump and cover the ground, and how those cogs fits into the overall defence.

Today, the day after GWS were eliminated in the finals, Aleer nominates Saints. No mucking around.

The club seems to be focusing on what he does very well rather than his deficiencies.

Seriously you are all psycho ..if you have been reading to where naz hasn't signed until now ...*ing footy nuff nuff trippers ..go home take your kids for a walk or whatever ..you are all seriously insane ....to quote the deli lama ...it is what it is ...if windy doesn't want two mill over 4 years he can * off. Greedy ****er..

deli lama.jpg

Clearly Lyon sees something her really likes in Aleer. Presumably his athleticism, ability to jump and cover the ground, and how those cogs fits into the overall defence.

Today, the day after GWS were eliminated in the finals, Aleer nominates Saints. No mucking around.

The club seems to be focusing on what he does very well rather than his deficiencies.
It could very well be that coupled with the above traits you have listed. Aleer understands how to play and apply a zone defence.

Which is the basis of every Lyon defensive plan. It is what put the lesser player in Dawson over an absolute elite 1 on 1 defender in Max.

Because all the midfield and forwards need to do is choke the transition and ball movement and an Aleer or Tauru or Wilkie comes over and kills the high ball or marks it. Which was the issue Ross referenced to not being able to control the airways.

Bloke, you proved earlier you had no idea what you were talking about and I maintain it now.

Did Ross not say that port couldn’t satisfy us with Nas and Caro put it in print that we would have used the draft?

Did Ross not make the same claim with contracted players that it needed to be beneficial to the club?

Did the club not pull out of trading for soldo because of his knee and Kemp because of trade price?

What makes you think we won’t do what’s required if we don’t get an offer that’s inline with the going market rate for players such as windy?

There is no contradiction. Just your belief you think you’re getting one over me. 🥱

And me and phantom are good. Ask him yourself.
Look, there’s a whole of hyperbole in here not even worth responding. But, hey champ how’s Windy’s reduced CBAs comparing to Flanders and C-Mac’s this year?

1757247560852.gif