List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

I've noticed the same. I think probably if you win a premiership within living memory it takes the edge off of trade season..

We have been in rebuild mode for 15 years. Even the years we made finals were with some pretty terrible lists. Trade and draft period is our Christmas.

With race horses it not unusual to have a companion pony, horse, goat, or even a donkey to keep it company. These personal friends can even travel to the racetrack with the horse. Is this a possible post season player acquisition, to be seen as a companion for our champion stallion Nas?

I think that there is some talent there. Probably didn't take his chances the first time.Hopefully he grabs this one with two hands. I think he could be decent depth if nothing else.

The AFL made a rod for their back when they gave North compo picks. North made back to back prelims and then got multiple years of handouts.

The AFL said they judged it based on a 4 or 5 year window.

Do the same for her Eagles and they are as bad as anyone.

History is irrelevant at that point.

The ****ed part is that it's exactly what our Prez was saying about assisting teams: Clubs in the middle get nothing.

St Kilda, Essendon & Freo have been bouncing in the middle part of the ladder while teams like North & West Coast hit the top four, blow themselves up, and get compensated.

Add in clubs up the top grabbing FAs, plus FS/NGA kids, and the middle of the road teams cop it in both ends!!
It’s really encouraging clubs to do what Richmond have done. Win your flags then gut your list, go down to the bottom and get hand outs. I realise Richmond haven't asked for assistance yet but they could easily have traded one of their 8 top 23 picks last year for some experience but chose not to.
And don’t give me the 4 or 5 year window. The Saints have been in an ongoing window. We just get told to shut up and get our own house in order, which we are doing and nobody outside the club seems to like it which is fantastic.

Geelong and other clubs have been exploiting that for years and you can garuantee that Rowan being a country boy raised on a cattle farm will be offerred a prime block of land on the peninsular as a part of his deal.

The only thing that might convince him to remain at our club, is the AFL dropping the substitute rule and allowing 5 x players on the bench. Its just waiting to be signed off by the Commission, which will mean most clubs will next year play two ruckman. Swann indicated the 75 rotation rule would remain, so it will be more of a balancing act for coaches.

If Rowan does choose to leave good luck to him if he gets something out of Geelong, he deserves it for all his loyal years of service with our club.

I think he's almost certainly going to be at another club. I just can't see Lyon not using that extra bench spot for a runner. Unless they reinvent him as a KP somehow.

PERSONALLY I’d let Roma go for a second rounder. We don’t have one, we need some points for Fincher and ultimately IN MY OPINION Roma has zero value in our team outside a backup and if TDK needs a spell then I’d rather be getting games into Dodson and Keeler anyway.

Noting the above I don’t think the club would accept anything short of Geelongs first and that’s also absolutely fine, I’d back them to make the right call.

If Roma wants out then IN MY OPINION we should let him go, it’s shitty practice to keep him playing twos while his $1.4-$1.7 replacement is playing (and no I don’t think Roma can play as a CHF or FF)

If he wants to stay and the club thinks he can do the hybrid role then by all means give it a crack.
That would be horrible.

I don't disagree with WC getting hand outs but I think any hand out has to be used in a trade.

They should be looking to improve next year. They are already getting enough benefits in the draft by finishing last.

Suns got access to the state leagues and extra list spots didn't they? Picked up Sam Collins and maybe Moyle?

It’s really encouraging clubs to do what Richmond have done. Win your flags then gut your list, go down to the bottom and get hand outs. I realise Richmond haven't asked for assistance yet but they could easily have traded one of their 8 top 23 picks last year for some experience but chose not to.
And don’t give me the 4 or 5 year window. The Saints have been in an ongoing window. We just get told to shut up and get our own house in order, which we are doing and nobody outside the club seems to like it which is fantastic.

If we sat in the bottom 2-3 teams, getting belted like North & the Eagles, then after 4-5 years we would get handouts.

I guarantee that around the 28/29 draft, the Tigers will be getting compo picks to help them get competitive again.

Staying in the middle is the worst possible thing a club can do.

Load up and take a shot at winning. If you nail it then you try to go full Geelong and keep topping up, otherwise you gut the list and bottom out for another round of handouts.

I think he's almost certainly going to be at another club. I just can't see Lyon not using that extra bench spot for a runner. Unless they reinvent him as a KP somehow.
I think you're right, it seems like he's going. But the concern is we rely on a bunch of guys that aren't proven (Hammer, Keeler) and a guy that hasn't played in over a year due to a mystery knee injury. It also gives us quality injury cover for the ruck.

I just think the balance of the side looks better with Marshall. But agree, the drums are beating.

Question - given that every rule change is about speeding up the game, why does everyone assume that if the sub rule goes, the "sub" spot will be filled by a second ruckman rather than another runner?

You are possibly right there will be flexibility.

Although for our list having another tall forward/ruckman would also work in the rotations. King has often played better footy when he has had a big bodied team mate alongside him, to draw away or block the 2nd and 3rd defenders. Having that big body has to help King with his injury management also, rather than having multiple opponents climbing all over him.

Caminiti and Owens are see ball get ball style forwards and to date lack the ability to work for team mates in the air.

The other point with Marshall is he would be capable of playing key defence if that was required also.

It will be interesting to see if he ends up on the AFL list or the VFL list. We’re going to need a lot of top up players.
If he gets on the afl list as a companion pony it doesn’t send a good message to those trying their rings out to hold/gain a spot.
I’m dead against it if he can’t earn it. We’re not a ****en charity.

The issue being that group are 2nd & 3rd tall defenders - none can play on the big tall forwards. Accordingly I'd be surprised if fit that Howard is squeezed out, I think the Aleer trade we will be paying for a well paid VFL player.

I still cant believe what we are prepared to give up for Aleer?

Gubby, Lyon and co have obviously never watched Jacob Blight ex-Richmond play. A big strong contested marking full back IMO he would be the perfect replacement for Howard and would cost nothing. The knock on him was a lack of closing speed, but gees if we want a contested marking presence he is it. Plus from what Ive seen Aleer's speed off the mark is really tardy, he has a loping action which takes him some time to get to full speed.

The given, is with that many taller defenders that Caminiti moves forward to CHF.

Interesting that Hawks seemed to take a mass of similar intercepting backs over gorillas. It seems to be a fashion for aerial dominance that turns back into fast rebound.

Hawthorn are very much the current innovators. There aren't many really big lump backs left any more. Harris Andrews and Sam Taylor probably the best of the really tall backs, May and Collins the better of the big body types. Lobb probably the best of big body and tall.

As a one eyed (and two headed) Tasmanian I will call for a review of this post after 3 or 4 years of Tassie being in the comp!

Believe we are learning from the mistakes in how the other new clubs have established themselves. Obviously will take a while for the list to become competitive but I think there are very good people involved in the Devils starting with Benny Gale (CEO) and Derek Hine (Head of Recruiting).

It is starting next year with a full time VFL team in place which will give a pathway and includes a 'golden ticket/s' (not the type of golden some of you snoozers are thinking about) which is a rookie list spot on the main list for some of those coming back to play VFL in Tassie. Currently the majority of our fringe AFL talent leaves the state to play in the SANFL (Norwood has about 10 Tasmanians playing for them) / VFL / Queensland etc to try and get a AFL spot.

Once we get our head out of our arses and build the stadium the team and the state will come together. High performance centre is getting built in a suburb just out of Hobart etc etc

Jack Jumpers have set you up for high expectations. I reckon Port is the model you want. Mature state league side with some glitter on top and high picks. I could build them a competitive list from day one using that model but not just Tasmanians.

View attachment 2420343

Could it be that we are moving our highest CBA mid in Steele on, or at least transitioning him out?
Ross has mentioned all of Hall, Higgins, NAS (think we can cement NAS in mid now lol) and even Wilson as players he'd like to roll through mid (I can't see Wilson being a CBA mid yet but it has been said).

Hall is the most exciting of that bunch for mine, love his use and decision making.
So if he and Ryan are both playing, do they both play the high half fwd role switching mid, with Hall playing a higher percentage of midfield?

Then it is all down to form on who else is selected (obviously) between Wood, Owens and maybe Pou if not mid ready across the HFF?
V long post from you.
Got bored.

I liked him in the draft but you’d need a lot more than him for Wilkie.

He’s 4th banana is a great midfield plus a few bulldogs supporters have potted him for being a head dropper who panics under pressure. Mind you I’ve read crazy things on here as well so take it with a grain of salt.
i picked him in most of my fantasy teams,so liked him at start of year,watched him in bar with no volume vs the swans in sydney,he looked like a cross between bont and callaghan,that tall slightly hunched big bodied mid & he tore a new one that night,looked like a superstar,for rest of season he did nothing,i think one pretty good game,the rest garbage

but i saw enough,should be very good

If we sat in the bottom 2-3 teams, getting belted like North & the Eagles, then after 4-5 years we would get handouts.

I guarantee that around the 28/29 draft, the Tigers will be getting compo picks to help them get competitive again.

Staying in the middle is the worst possible thing a club can do.

Load up and take a shot at winning. If you nail it then you try to go full Geelong and keep topping up, otherwise you gut the list and bottom out for another round of handouts.
There aren't too many sides in recent times that have bottomed out for years and had success. Melbourne probably the only one.

It would be interesting to see how Roma and TDK would work together. Might be a thing of beauty.

If we lose Roma and we lose Steele though I'd be ok with it.

I'd probably prefer to lose Steele tbh.

I heard yesterday that the Demons had been right into Moose, but have now signed Tom Campbell. So if you read between the lines that are already between the lines, you could think that Moose thought he was too far back behind Marshall and TDK, and wanted a move, but has since found out that Marshall is going.