List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Sam McClure via The Tradies podcast - Windy going to stay. Was out the door to North a few weeks ago but Ross has won him back.

Mitch Cleary disagrees and believes he hasn't made up his mind but if he leaves, it will be Melbourne.
The same Sam McClure who said "they won't pick him Mitch" when discussing whether West Coast would select Harley Reid?

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1416186

This is genuinely spiteful, just like the Jake Neill article. I am genuinely confused as to why it pisses people off so much that we are just trying to improve. I can’t get my head around it.
I really don't understand why Damien Barrett is held up as some kind of influential figure in the media - he isn't.
Nobody reads a Damo story, and adopts those talking points.

Nobody sees him cheerleading for something and thinks they should get behind it, too.

Out of everyone in the media, he may have a high profile, but almost no impact.

I don't understand why so many people hang on to see every word he writes, when those words don't matter.

This is genuinely spiteful, just like the Jake Neill article. I am genuinely confused as to why it pisses people off so much that we are just trying to improve. I can’t get my head around it.

He has never been a fan of anything we do, we shouldnt expect any change now. He is a bitter pencil di*k clown who shouldnt be on the AFL's payroll his journalism is so biased.

Just don’t see the appeal for Steele to move too WCE. Unless they chuck a heap of cash at him
3 clubs in for him apparently.

GWS Eagles and a third club in Melbourne.

Dunno who.

Let’s see what happens.

3 clubs in for him apparently.

GWS Eagles and a third club in Melbourne.

Dunno who.

Let’s see what happens.
Turning 30 in December, if a club is willing to pay premium for a club captain to come in and mentor their kids or sure up their mids then I’d take that premium and run.

At what cost to our own culture? I’m not sure.

Tasmania can absolutely do that.

A major difference between Tasmania vs GWS and Gold Coast is Tasmania's culture.

This is intangible but seeps through in the underdog belief, and the sheer excitement of the fans.

You need the right guy to harness and develop this (like Scott Roth with the JJ's) but the foundation is already there, in a way it simply wasn't on the Gold Coast and GWS.

JJ's has been an incredible sporting success story on and off the field.

Tassie Devils will have thousands of rusted-on, passionate supporters from day 1, keen to stick it to the mainland. They aren't some fake franchise attracting those with a passing interest. It's a state with rich footy history.

With all the list, cap and draft concessions, and that Tassie culture behind them, fair chance they're in finals by year 4.
Agreed - been to Tassie a fair bit over the years for work - first thing the taxi driver wants to talk about is footy and which team you follow - they love their footy - they would eat a football!

24z93kZ.gif
yuck. look at that empty stand. Footy without fans is nothing. Even Carlton fans

To be fair, i don't know if Barrett fits the category of "people ".

Using his own closing instance, it smacks of desperation and a rare moment to not be scavenging from a bin and daring to use that noggin for once. And he is of a people; people who have been blacklisted from several clubs due to being a bitch of a bloke.

Doesn't read as spiteful to me, he even says he likes it, but it is clearly very risky.

Who cares about losing Battle and offering his money to JSOS. Tauru and JSOS are worth more than Battle.

If we lose Marshall, no big deal, TDK and the pick(s) for Marshall still make us better.

I rate Windy, but it seems the coaching staff may not. Even before the Melbourne talk, he was "forgotten about" in the future best 23 we pitched to Nas. I just think the club are happy to trade him even if i don't personally agree.

The Wilkie thing is unfortunate. If he is successful in forcing his way out, he will be impossible to full replace.

From what I've seen, his manager is a bit of an idiot. The events as I understand them to have transpired don't sound like Wilkie, but I've never met the bloke, so maybe that's just the sort of bloke he is. I'm holding out hope that his manager is just playing real hard ball and misrepresenting facts, but the nature of the information I have received would make it incredibly weird for it to be made up. A close (incredibly close) contact of a manager repeating the managers talking points to a group of friends who don't know the first thing about footy and wouldn't even know who Wilkie is. Maybe this person has some facts wrong, I can only hope.

He has never been a fan of anything we do, we shouldnt expect any change now. He is a bitter pencil di*k clown who shouldnt be on the AFL's payroll his journalism is so biased.
Biased for/against whom?

I swear every teams supporters seem to think that Damo has some vendetta against them, even North supporters who i think he barracks for?

You are talking about him now which means he is earning his pay check.

If you want Damo and Kane to go away, don't consume their content.

Gabelich is an ex employee and well connected at the club still. I listen to him more than a lot of others. Not liking "still in play". The rumours are that Wilkie wasn't happy with the wages being offered and that has never gone away. He's probably on the same or less than Aleer is getting next year and probably ends up offered up to $1 million more a season at the Dogs. Best case is that we renegotiate with him and extend him out on more.
Tom Morris is also an ex-employee (less recent) with probable connections within St Kilda. That prick wants to stand around watching and grinning while the club burns down. He'd probably even bring marshmallows, the campaigner.

Josh G is a better journo and writer and seems to like us more, but his job is to get people clicking all over the AFL site these days.

Agree but can’t see any of SOS, Ross and/or Bass letting it happen, especially with the new found aggressive approach which we saw a glimpse of when Ross was discussing Nas.
Yep sort it out - offer him the captaincy (well deserved) plus get him in for lunch with our top end $ supporters to outline post career opportunities- he is a smart guy (qualified accountant and speaks well) - he could set himself up very nicely post footy.

Is it correct that with respect to Battle, the club "failed to offer him enough to stay as a free agent"?

Even May, yeh hes 34 and a complete campaigner but they have 2 more years tops with some of their guys (especially Bont) at the very top end.

May would cost **** all and improve them outta sight.
May is the type to be toxic for club culture though. Avoid at all costs.

They should be looking at Hawthorn who have a plethora of defenders but need running mids.

Trouble is the Bulldogs don’t want to give in order to get. And that is why their defence won’t get fixed in the near term.