List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Dudes allowed to be both booksmart and a space cadet on the training track. He's constantly got the coaches on his back for not knowing the game plan or being in the wrong spot etc etc - I attribute that (partially at least) to lack of game sense or dare I say it, on field intelligence at this point of his career.

Of all people I'm not really one to talk, but lighten up guys. Don't let it get you down as I'm sure Hammer wouldn't give a shit.
Can confirm the above. He does get pulled up at training a fair bit, but from memory is coming from a fair way back only a handful of Northern Knights games, missed being drafted and was knocking about in the Carlton VFL team.

Don't think he is naturally gifted with strategy and positioning. Still a see ball get ball player.
Reminds me of Acres, can be a real space cadet then suddenly do the spectacular. Will need to work harder than most in a Lyon trained team on structure and positioning.

Agreed
Reilly O’Brien graduated from high school with an ATAR of 99.75 and has a postgraduate masters in neuroscience.
Even funnier is that Will Minson plays saxophone, speaks fluent German and studied civil engineering but is forever remembered as being a "big ****ing shithead" by Rodney Eade ahaha
Absolutely, but if someone called you a few sandwiches short of a picnic on the street I don't think you would stop and politely ask them whether they we're making a specific reference to your footballing nous.

Anyone find it hilarious how much opposition supporters seem to rate our existing list after calling us trash throughout the year. "why would they piss their players off"

By all accounts, every club around the league seems to think that Romar was a combination of Dean Cox and Max Gawn this year and that Windhager is going to finish top 5 in the brownlow. (Love them both obvs)

I mean, I've been on the North trade board recently and you could be forgiven for thinking that it was the saints one :sweatsmile:
Got the whole league rattled

Especially for the first game of the year lol. I like the Club putting their hands up for this game, but I don’t know about Spuds game opening our season
It's tough, but the clubs just has to find the right angle, maybe more of a positive slant at success stories, not really sure myself.

but more in general, we are so negative on everything the club tries to do game day, we had music years ago, and ppl hated it, it was the only way I could get my kids to enjoy the footy back then ( goal celebration music), we lost ALOT, so had to find a different angle, we still do it even now when my oldest is 16, then we had the chants, still liked them, but it didnt hit the mark and so many complained.

I love the U2/Green Day pre-game intro, hope that never stops, our version of Never Tear Us Apart

No way I’d entertain letting the Hammercock go.
Wouldn't do for anything under a 1st-round pick

He is the complete opposite of any other forward we have
Should be our FF, King filling the hole he creates.
may well be low footy IQ, but a straight leading target is one thing we don't have, Hall, Nas passing the ball, could be a winner.

plus, we now know he can defend. He may not be elite, but he is more than serviceable and will only get better with experience
Bassat had to learn from getting burnt too. Pretty sure he was on the board who over saw most of that terrible era. We made a lot of mistakes before realising that we were going the wrong way down a one way street.
Bassat was in charge when Lethlean became CEO, he's had a lot to learn on the job, kudos to him for pulling rein and backflipping. Has been strong since, but could also argue he was asleep/naive before that

Think Hammer did really well this year. With the way we were turning the ball over in games he saved our arses time and time again.
I am no Hammer down back fan. Think he is a natural forward. However a year down back will help his forward craft immeasurably, I reckon.

I'm pretty open minded about where he's suited best, but you're probably right. Seems Ross sees him forward long term so it seems he'll end up there.

All things considered though, I think he did really well this year.

I think having Dougal back will help us. He'd gotten a lot of the rubbish out of his game under Ross

It’s the midweek tackle and it’s effectively touching on what I said yesterday.

Club puts the right offer on the table. He can go.

Both parties are happy with that situation.

Obviously west coast if they get their compo package is the one to watch. But I reckon Jack wants the giants.
i think he's a perfect fit for WCE

but from Jack's perspective not sure i'd go unless the $$$ are good. i think WCE are going to need to pay to get some experience in

If you want an objective view of our list, look at all the opposition teams chasing our players.
Really nice change. Just a couple of short years ago we had to pay for clubs to take our players (Billings), give them away in trade (Acres) or get shit picks ( Bruce, Steven).
Now they are trying to prize out contracted players or forcing us to pay more luke in NAZ or Windy.
Nothing more says right track when your players are sought and a premium would need to nmbe paid.

Think Hammer did really well this year. With the way we were turning the ball over in games he saved our arses time and time again.

i thought this as well. so much so i questioned if moving him fwd is a bad move. looked at home at FB. big upgrade on doogal.

Who was trying to be a smart arse? As far as I've seen you didn't mention a club or a player so was just throwing it out as a possibility.

Why so sensitive?
I mentioned it plenty of times that it was Acres , you just need to go back and read

Me sensitive lol , you were the one who fired the first shot and missed, i didn't

I was pretty bullish about Hammer playing down back but you and others are correct mate.
He’s a natural lead up forward.
The acquisition of Aleer and Jsos pretty much confirms he’ll play forward - at least in my mind anyway.
The years tutelage down back with Enright and Wilkie will be nothing but positive for his forward craft.

Using the fact hammer is an academic to argue he’s not a low IQ footballer is moronic.
As a footballer he routinely makes poor decisions. He may improve, but the smartest people don’t necessarily make the smartest athletes
This is the concern I have over him as a defender.

One on one is he pretty solid. But being a defender is not only one on one contests.

It's coming from your man to help your team-mate.

Your positioning when the opposition comes forward.

Your work at ground level.

You can never doubt Caminiti's work-rate and determination. But he struggles at plenty of defensive aspects.

Yes, he can improve and a pre-season in the position would help, but I don't see it in him at this stage. I might be wrong.

The coaches and list management staff clearly think the same judging by our off-season moves.

Hopefully he has learned a lot about what it takes to be a successful forward by playing on some of the best.

That's where I see any future for him - at this point in time.

I was pretty bullish about Hammer playing down back but you and others are correct mate.
He’s a natural lead up forward.
The acquisition of Aleer and Jsos pretty much confirms he’ll play forward - at least in my mind anyway.
The years tutelage down back with Enright and Wilkie will be nothing but positive for his forward craft.

Frothage if we can get regular bags from Hammer and King, and then Owens and Sharminator get off the leash with Higgo and Flyin crumming. O baby!

This is the concern I have over him as a defender.

One on one is he pretty solid. But being a defender is not only one on one contests.

It's coming from your man to help your team-mate.

Your positioning when the opposition comes forward.

Your work at ground level.

You can never doubt Caminiti's work-rate and determination. But he struggles at plenty of defensive aspects.

Yes, he can improve and a pre-season in the position would help, but I don't see it in him at this stage. I might be wrong.

The coaches and list management staff clearly think the same judging by our off-season moves.

Hopefully he has learned a lot about what it takes to be a successful forward by playing on some of the best.

That's where I see any future for him - at this point in time.
Depends on the system, ours still looks to have a spot for the one on one athletic defender with some closing speed.

JSOS is a one out, Wilkie is a floater and Aleer/Tauru would be the 3rd/interceptor. At least IMO.