List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Cammanitti is only gonna get better.
Having him learn new skills in the back line, will help him as a forward. He competes, smashes packs and is a good mark...and now he can play both ends what's not love, a young Chris Grant, Matty Pavelich style player, Ross and Co. are on record as saying players need to be multi -dimensional, Cammanitti is a KP one.
Commenti? Cammanitti? Are you peanuts trying to trigger us lol

O'Sullivan is a much better version. SDK isn't really a true KPB. He's like Howard where he can play there but he's best sitting across CHB taking marks. When they changed their game plan he lost his impact.
I qualify my response with 'I want to see the Marshal TDK partnership...it's maturing up a list and launch for a crack at the 2nd flag by 2027...however if SDK and change came for Marshall.
They would have a 1st and 2 nd ruck. 2nd ruck is a back men instead of a forward, it might actually be a better 2nd ruck setup and the obvs. Thing of being brothers, like another bloke said on here, the TDK's instead of he Kings. It keeps the forward set, does that help with lthe forwards eading patterns and hence more shots at goal?
I reckon Sharman and Michito would have field days as the 3rd tall, 1 of them would kick 50...
I reckon Michito could replicate a Raynor type influence on games.
NAS is special.
We will see him be a special mid this year and playing forward. But far out... how good is he out of defense... running through the middle...lace out delivery... sexual 🥰

Looks like Geelong have briefed the media. Which makes me feel uneasy.

Similar article now by Peter Ryan and the age.

They want Marshall. Curnow appears to be a pipe dream.
Good thing is SOS doesnt give a crap what the geelong media boys are pushing.

He'll do what he wants and what benefits us.

Just spotted Max King at Cole’s, I overheard him ask the trolley boy if he could help him lift the groceries into his boot 😬😬
Are you sure it was him?

I just saw him at the aged care home being pushed around in a wheelchair by a 93 year old.

Don't worry
..the pace was slow so thst the bumps would not jar his knee.

If SDK was on the table with Marshall, you would have to think strongly about it. Would also be good marketing to have the two blonde De Koenings in the same team.
We’ve got Nas and Tauru as our marketing players.
Don’t need SDk - for that, or at all
Hope the club holds firm on Marshall - esp as it appears we’ve pretty much paid most of his salary already.

Looks like Geelong have briefed the media. Which makes me feel uneasy.

Similar article now by Peter Ryan and the age.

They want Marshall. Curnow appears to be a pipe dream.
Geelong has told Ryan they are going again.

No rebuild. Strive to get back.

They will be desperate for Marshall.

It’s in our hands. This is where Silvsgni earns his money.

We either hold him or bend Geelong over in a trade.

Why does this make you feel uneasy mate?
Player movement only hits the media when it benefits someone.

Geelong framing a potential Marshall inclusion in articles about how they catch Brisbane is what makes me thing it’s genuinely going to happen.

Player movement only hits the media when it benefits someone.

Geelong framing a potential Marshall inclusion in articles about how they catch Brisbane is what makes me thing it’s genuinely going to happen.
It will be interesting.

Mackie generally tries to bend over every club he deals with.

Not our saints though!

Geelong has told Ryan they are going again.

No rebuild. Strive to get back.

They will be desperate for Marshall.

It’s in our hands. This is where Silvsgni earns his money.

We either hold him or bend Geelong over in a trade.
The cats have been used to getting their way with trades - GAJ, Dangerfield, Cameron. I don’t think they’ve have to deal with SOS, Gubby and Ross before though. Might be different this time around.
We’re not giving up our aim of making the 8 to help them win another flag.

It will be interesting.

Not our saints though!
They want something we have - under contract.

The $64 million question is whether our list management team actually want to keep him or not.

We have our opinions, but does anyone really know? They can say he’s going nowhere, but that could also just be posturing.

Most importantly - we need to get a very good deal for him, otherwise he stays. I’m not seeing SOS as a pushover.

It will be interesting.

Not our saints though!
Its about time Geelong is bent over. Had it too good for too long. No skin off our nose if Roh stays. In fact most people want him to stay.

If they want him, they pay up, Saints wont buckle on either Marshall (which could be a possibility) or Wilkie (extremely unlikely).
How many times does Lyon and the others have to say this?

X was a superstar ruined by injury and Raph was an absolute gun as a junior.

I know someone who coached against him when he played seniors in the NT and he was a ripper. He had some health problems with us but imo your way off the mark here.

They were both selected on talent, you can’t foresee injury and illness.
Xavier was an incredibly talented, spectacular player.

Don't see a world where trading Marshall is worth it. At best Cats will offer their first. No thanks, we absolutely need him. He doesn't have to be a star forward, just give us a target and Owens and Sharman will be far more dangerous.

If Steele wants to go, I would facilitate that. Will help with Ryan and Aleer trades and is surplus to needs now. He had been a great club man, but you have to make tough calls sometimes. Not clear he is best 23 anymore.

Don't see a world where trading Marshall is worth it. At best Cats will offer their first. No thanks, we absolutely need him. He doesn't have to be a star forward, just give us a target and Owens and Sharman will be far more dangerous.

If Steele wants to go, I would facilitate that. Will help with Ryan and Aleer trades and is surplus to needs now. He had been a great club man, but you have to make tough calls sometimes. Not clear he is best 23 anymore.
What if there is a crazy world where Geelong do end up offering more than their first?

Cammanitti is only gonna get better.
Having him learn new skills in the back line, will help him as a forward. He competes, smashes packs and is a good mark...and now he can play both ends what's not love, a young Chris Grant, Matty Pavelich style player, Ross and Co. are on record as saying players need to be multi -dimensional, Cammanitti is a KP one.
... and we can take a lesson from Geelong's recruiting of Rhys Stanley. We gave him up for pick #20ish when he was a middling CHF for us. At Geelong he put on more muscle and has had a long career as a ruckman (mainly).
Maybe its our impatience but we fans know that talls usually take more time to reach their full potential and yet we seem to demand that all players show something immediately or we want to dump them and go to the next shiny.
Let's hang on to Caminiti and Schoenmaker, and Keeler, and Dodson, and Barratt etc for as long as it takes.