List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

So us holding out for a future first must be because we plan on targetting another big name next year, and want to capital to do so.

Even if we see next year's draft as better than this one, it's a bit of a moot point, as our list build is geared towards competing for a flag in 27-29, and anyone drafted in 26 is unlikely to be a massive part of that push. Hell, if we kept Marshall, even in the twilight of his career he'd still probably offer more to a flag run than anyone drafted mid to late draft in 26.

That, coupled with Gubby's declaration that we still had cash to spend says to me we want to keep bringing in top end talent via trades next year. Coming in to a year with opposition clubs and, importantly, player managers knowing that we have the money and the draft capital to get big trades done can only be a good thing. Very astute signalling by the team IMO
That may well be true. But I also hope we learned a lesson from Lyon’s last tenure when we didn’t keep replenishing youngsters (or didn’t pick well/develop well). Hopefully we can snag a FA.

Don't agree on the Hall statement , Old mate Mike was very keen on him early on in pre season , i must admit after watching him the year before at Sandy i was bit shocked with Mikes reports about him but once i saw him playing i sure was impressed
Yes, I was with him on Hall (and was totally wrong on Boyd), but no-one would have foreseen that kind of step up.

Really dislike Geelong. They’re so used to bullying teams into taking unders for players who want to move to the coast for the ‘lifestyle’ and the cotton on money.

They made the GF this year with Blicavs and Stanley in the ruck, Marshall is a massive upgrade. Surely they think (and their history suggests) they will at least make a prelim next year, and their goal will be to win the whole thing, so they are really haggling over a couple of picks when Marshall fixes the biggest hole in their team?

At this point I hope we keep him just to spite them. If he does end up going to them I will be death riding them harder than any club I’ve ever rooted against, regardless of whether or not we have their F1.

If we cave for pick 25 for Marshall after all Lyon has said about trading of contracted players, we are as unserious as the Bulldogs and all of the goodwill and confidence in what the Saints are doing will evaporate.
Lyon was upfront, was not prompted to make those statements and was adamant he would follow that advice.

The only reason I can see us caving is if we need his contract off the books. If that's not the case (I have no idea, although I'm aware of the conversations about it being front ended) then I'd be shocked if we took their first this year on it's own.

Bevo is such a blessing.

They should be dominant onfield with that list and stealing wilke and jsos from 12th placed spuds like us.

Instead they are unserious bedwetters onfield; and Reject Shop buyers off-field.

The dogs are living through what would have happened to us if we didn't fire GT.
Oh Amen. Love it. Best news when he re-signed. Yet, they’ll be the darling of the media next year again, premiership chances right the way through with their 50:50 record, sneak 8th, still flag chances, and drop out when the umps have an off day and don’t pay frees for ducking.

What’s with the arrogance of their supporters on Butters? He may well go there, but lots of Dogs List Managers on social media.

Oh Amen. Love it. Best news when he re-signed. Yet, they’ll be the darling of the media next year again, premiership chances right the way through with their 50:50 record, sneak 8th, still flag chances, and drop out when the umps have an off day and don’t pay frees for ducking.

What’s with the arrogance of their supporters on Butters? He may well go there, but lots of Dogs List Managers on social media.
But but the pug fans have been adamant their club is so well run they already have Butts lined up now they have missed on JSOS and Wilkie. They will not overpay because they are a big club who will win flags blah blah blah Bont Blah blah

That may well be true. But I also hope we learned a lesson from Lyon’s last tenure when we didn’t keep replenishing youngsters (or didn’t pick well/develop well). Hopefully we can snag a FA.
What have we been doing the last four years if not replenishing youngsters?

Lyon 1.0 had the basis of the Thomas built team and topped up for a tilt at the flag. Finishing higher up meant late picks as well.
Lyon 2.0, the build started before he arrived but wr hit the draft hard for four years before this spend.
There is one more uncompromised draft before Tassie.
We have flexibility to use the picks on a top player, get a FA or hit the draft in a better year.

We need to stop thinking about it being flag or bust 27-29. This needs to be a 10-year sustainable plan. I'm only in favour of trading out firsts in a weak draft like this year (plus we will land another one for Marshall be it this or next year) or for a gun like Butters.

The only way to find the next Nas is via the draft and ideally early picks.

The thing I'm happiest about with our approach this year is that we are likely to land TDK, JSOS, Flanders, Aleer and Ryan for a single first rounder. If you include losing Marshall in that it's only a 10 pick downgrade at worst.

I wonder if there is a world where we try to keep banking cash for future years?

if we swap Marshall for SDK, some in the media have suggested that it’s a robbery for us.

If we throw in Dougal to be a replacement for SDK and pay his full salary - essentially banking it for future years, does anyone have any issues?

Same with Steele, if a club came and wanted him, would you be happy to pay most of the salary if it means we keep it in the cap this year and free it up for next?
I think that’s entirely the Steele push - doesn’t sound to be needed, but it creates flex. Which Marshall will as well, even if they’ll want good compo on the latter.

And the preference debate for Steele in or out on this board really comes down to that. It’s not “Steele is still in our best mids and at worst good depth” vs “he’s finished, he’s clogging us up”. It’s whether the former is worth more than having his salary back and flex that it creates. (Perhaps plus a semi useful / (vs semi garbage) pick).

We need to stop thinking about it being flag or bust 27-29. This needs to be a 10-year sustainable plan. I'm only in favour of trading out firsts in a weak draft like this year (plus we will land another one for Marshall be it this or next year) or for a gun like Butters.

The thing I'm happiest about with our approach this year is that we are likely to land TDK, JSOS, Flanders, Aleer and Ryan for a single first rounder. If you include losing Marshall in that it's only a 10 pick downgrade at worst.
Yeah, I think we absolutely need to continue maintaining as many first round picks as possible (this year is the exception with the lack of quality and compromises).
Nas, Wilson, Philipou, and Tauru all show that you can get quality outside of the top top echelon of the draft (yes, theres still some doubts over if the latter will be genuine stars but theyve shown the goods so far) and we need to keep nailing those guys at a minimum.

Hear ye, hear ye 🙌

Not sure anyone is thinking about being flag or bust between 27-29. The club have consistently stated their desire to build the foundations for the long term, and our ambition to mirror clubs like Geelong.

We've been to the draft for four years, and stockpiled some terrific young talent (more than I can recall in the last 25 years) but the reality is that the strong clubs get stronger because they can attract established talent through FA and trade. We have an opportunity to put ourselves into the bracket of clubs that contend, which subsequently means you get looked at by wantaways from other clubs and the value of draft picks diminishes. TDK, JSOS and Flanders are all first round equivalents based on their output, so the strategy needs to be to continue to add first round level talent, through whichever means possible.

I marked my calendar. Today was the day I fell in love with Gubby Allan. What a dude.
oUUjbSc.gif