List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

So then it’s not about money, but the club never knew that and they should have wrapped their arms around everyone for a group hug ?

Every angle is ****ing stupid to make this story fit outside of, Bassat organised a tray of ****ing columbias finest coke to sniff and the family were repulsed because the old white men werent great at sharing it.
To be fair i did say its a stupid story all the way around.

I think the angle is that weve misread what Nas values, he doesnt want to be wined and dined and given wristys by creepy old white dudes just give him his 2m a year and let him spend it on his family and building orphanges in third world countries etc.

AGAIN, its a stupid ****in story but painting the indigenous kid from the backwaters of the bush as being uncomfortable in the rich white surroundings and the saints "not getting it" is the obvious angle to me.

Can we all assume everyone who's suggested he's signed already or he's not going anywhere, including Bambi, are trolling, guessing or full of shit? Or getting info off some source doing the same.

I'm almost sure if it had been done, and known in house, one of his team mates would have blurted it out after the win Sunday.

Sure. Maybe it did.

But what is the genuine alternative. How are you proposing the club gets infront of the player and his family and says:

We love you. We want you here forever. We will do what you need and have all of your best interests at heart?
Cheeseburgers and Fries , slab of XXXX

Deal done

as in Nas? haha
Would be an interesting chat. Would be nice to hear about him growing up, how he went playing footy as a kid, and his memories of St Kilda as a child. Would assume a get like that would come with things you can’t ask about.

Have you guys got the President coming back on? The interviews your channel do are really greayb

You can be down to earth and still want money.
One can like money but not the way in which some may use it as a sign of status.
I understand that mate.

Do you think the club spoke solely about money?

That’s why the actual story is stupid beyond belief.

No matter how it’s framed. It’s a pot shot at the club from the only person in the room who isn’t aligned to stkilda.

It’s absolutely stupid.

Get Eric Bana to go around to Ben Williams house with a bottle of red, worked wonders for Collingwood getting them out of mess. 😝

I think the angle is that weve misread what Nas values, he doesnt want to be wined and dined and given wristys by creepy old white dudes just give him his 2m a year and let him spend it on his family and building orphanges in third world countries etc.

AGAIN, its a stupid ****in story but painting the indigenous kid from the backwaters of the bush as being uncomfortable in the rich white surroundings and the saints "not getting it" is the obvious angle to me.
Didn't think id ever say this but for once you're right IMO ;)

Sorry mate, but genuinely how else are you proposing they show how much someone is valued outside of putting everyone in a room and telling them face to face ?

Whilst also letting Nas design our jumper.

Creating a room for our Indigenous players only to use at Moorabbin etc

My wife was a corporate lawyer for a long time. I went to lots of dinners and parties and never felt at home as someone who was bought up middle class and spent lots of time in the country. It actually repulsed me and made me feel inadequate at the same time somehow.

Watching people to remember which fork you are meant to be eating with and trying not to make a dick of yourself isn't fun to me. I'd rather go to the pub and play pool in all honesty. Maybe it says something about me but it's not my bag.

We still have corporate mates who don't like the OTT shows of elitism either so I don't know who it impresses.

He isn’t from the backwaters of the bush though mate like Liam Jurrah.

He grow up as a primary school kid in and around our club. From the moment Terry left he grew up in suburban Adelaide around other football clubs etc.

100% respectful to his culture and everything and I’m sure it’s significantly important to him. Just pointing out that there is a difference.

Ultimately, you are trying to show this kid he means the world to us. Even if as a parent (which we both are) aren’t comfortable in these settings, the setting is literally we will do anything for your kid to be happy here and for you to know we will ensure he is set for life - that it will never be a concern to anyone etc.

I’m not sure how else that is supposed to happen is more my point and why the story is the biggest load of horse crap.

Around a fire cooking damper and turtle of course!

I'll take him out to the bush and get on the cans with him and guarantee he'd have a better time. Should have Rooey take him down to Tassie and let him go fishing on his little property. Get Cho to go along as the entertainment.

My wife was a corporate lawyer for a long time. I went to lots of dinners and parties and never felt at home as someone who was bought up middle class and spent lots of time in the country. It actually repulsed me and made me feel inadequate at the same time somehow.

Watching people to remember which fork you are meant to be eating with and trying not to make a dick of yourself isn't fun to me. I'd rather go to the pub and play pool in all honesty. Maybe it says something about me but it's not my bag.

We still have corporate mates who don't like the OTT shows of elitism either so I don't know who it impresses.
Hilarious you think that’s what happened hahaha

Can we seperate the Richie rich which fork we are eating with and the fact a football club president has his best player and his family at his house.

Like Ross was there and it wouldn’t surprise me if RTB just ate his drumstick with his ****ing hands.

Of course you know what colour I am, you could draw me head to toe down to the last freckle you scoundrel 😈

I did say you were cute even though I used you to look woke.

Sure. Maybe it did.

But what is the genuine alternative. How are you proposing the club gets infront of the player and his family and says:

We love you. We want you here forever. We will do what you need and have all of your best interests at heart?

Buy them a house in Melbourne. Chuck them the keys and a voucher book for an airline and say this is yours for as long as the contract goes. Buy a house next to his folks in SA and promise him he can use it when ever he needs it.

Astute observation, until the Tom Morris story leaked about the dinner at Bassat’s place. The story mentioned that NWM’s wasn’t swayed by the opulence of it all.

People need to keep thinking about why was the story leaked? And who leaked it?

By process of elimination, it was leaked by Ben Williams to put more pressure on St Kilda for more money. Which, IMO, is an indication that NWM is staying.

Pretty ordinary stuff by Williams. It wouldn’t impress anybody in the football industry. And I don’t think NWM’s parents would enjoy the publicity either.

If NWM had made the decision to go home to SA this story would not have been leaked. It has raised the temperature, and presumably made St Kilda more agitated and frustrated.

As has been mentioned numerous times, if NWM wants to go home to SA he needs to be traded. Why unnecessarily anger the club that facilitates that trade? What would it achieve?

It is a highly risky move if a trade is required. Counterproductive. Reckless.

However, if NWM is staying at St Kilda, the strategy has logic. Squeeze the lemon for as much juice as you can extract. Still not nice. Bog average. But it has logic behind it.

Remember, this story was strategically leaked. The dinner was earlier this year, not recently. There is a strategy and reason for why it has been leaked.

Just my option for what it is worth.
Mnnn..
I heard on SEN this morning too.
And the way it was reported sounds appalling.
It looks like a Hollywood movie.
Brighton.
Mansion.
Rolls Royces and Mercedes parked in the courtyard on the pebbles.
Butler at the door.
Billionaires in the drawing room..

….into walk NAS , his Mum and a relative . All goodness and wholesome, from Adelaide.
And remember that NAS grew up near Mt Gambier, then Whyalla (or one of those god forsaken dry and hot as hell Spencer Gulf port towns) before moving to Adelaide.

Anyway, it is a post-card of the filthy rich talking down to the regulars peasants trope.

It sounds bloody awful.

I understand that mate.

Do you think the club spoke solely about money?

That’s why the actual story is stupid beyond belief.

No matter how it’s framed. It’s a pot shot at the club from the only person in the room who isn’t aligned to stkilda.

It’s absolutely stupid.

It was a nothing story designed to make us look a bit pathetic but it was cringe move despite that.

He isn’t from the backwaters of the bush though mate like Liam Jurrah.

He grow up as a primary school kid in and around our club. From the moment Terry left he grew up in suburban Adelaide around other football clubs etc.

100% respectful to his culture and everything and I’m sure it’s significantly important to him. Just pointing out that there is a difference.

Ultimately, you are trying to show this kid he means the world to us. Even if as a parent (which we both are) aren’t comfortable in these settings, the setting is literally we will do anything for your kid to be happy here and for you to know we will ensure he is set for life - that it will never be a concern to anyone etc.

I’m not sure how else that is supposed to happen is more my point and why the story is the biggest load of horse crap.
I didn’t say he was, I said the angle for the story is almost cliche.

To be clear it’s a stupid story, I agree, I just think your anger at it is for the wrong reason.