List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Nas will be 2 years more mature and aware of the system in 2 years time, might even have a new manager by then.

But no, much better to tell him and his manager who hates us apparently $1.4m for 2, more for longer, or you can **** off to port anyway".

Stav, youve ****ing lost it with this. Truly.
You have clearly never negotiated a thing in your life or you have been rinsed by everyone in deals you have done

“Here Mr Williams please take all the money to keep Nas here for 2 years. You’ll take a discount at the end of 2027 won’t you?… hello mr Williams? All I can hear is laughing… are you okay?” - Phantom

Or the likely outcome SOS and the club are working on.

We will give you X today and every year longer he signs for we will increase by Y.

Our X offer is more than what he will make over the deals in South Australia as you have put towards us and is a fair value of Nas to our club.

Time to throw a few points out I haven’t read yet
Know nothing of the situation ,I think Naz is gone,JHF has shown the way for him to get to Port
It doesn’t matter how much money is thrown at him it’s I want to go home factor .
Stkilda need to stop pampering to him ,this is the offer Naz, we need to know by this date ie tomorrow so we can look at what we can get as compensation.
Now TDK.I reckon his enthusiasm for Us is going to be waned without NWM.He doesn’t want to be wasting 3 years for the young compensation picks to perhaps be any good.
Naz is having a purple patch,so did Kosi.Opposition teams are going to be putting more work into him,if he has Weakness it will be exploited soon ,and a couple of hard hits and tackles will slow him down,I can’t see him being this good consistently for whatever contract length he has.
I hope his contract is at least 50% incentive based on Brownlow finishes,BF finishes etc.Its a hell of a gamble to pay 1 player that much money,and our history of that anointed player delivering ain’t that good.

Hutchy's take makes good sense in my biased Saints fan opinion. Take the big deal now Nas, cover your ass, and then if you really want to go home in two years, do so under contract. This way just about everyone wins.
Except St Kilda would have all the power and can hold him for the life of his contract. Only way he’d be able to force himself out is if he sooks it up and stops going to training

We are staring at losing 2 top 5 players in back to back seasons because SoS wanted to play hardball. Why the hell are people praising him?

Yeah alright, Tarau looks a gun. But nothing Port can offer us will satisfy? We will probably draft Dyson Sharp and Sam Cumming with those picks, and you guessed it. They'll ask for a trade home in 3 years.

Only one person is definitive about what happenes in 2027 in this chat and its not me or Sully.

Both of us have pointed out that the worst case scenario for us is still better.
Sorry mate I’m still skipping in a field where cows fart rainbows thinking Tasmania are going to make our life so much better if Nas leaves in 2 years.

Maybe he really does sign for less like you said he will.

Dreams eh?

You have clearly never negotiated a thing in your life or you have been rinsed by everyone in deals you have done

“Here Mr Williams please take all the money to keep Nas here for 2 years. You’ll take a discount at the end of 2027 won’t you?… hello mr Williams? All I can hear is laughing… are you okay?” - Phantom

Or the likely outcome SOS and the club are working on.

We will give you X today and every year longer he signs for we will increase by Y.

Our X offer is more than what he will make over the deals in South Australia as you have put towards us and is a fair value of Nas to our club.
I wouldnt negotiate it with him now moron, thats the whole point. I also tend to cop the L when ive got zero ****ing leverage. Hard to play hardball when the other side has every ****ing advantage.

I mean im glad youve at least finally taken a solid position. Lose him cause we refuse to pay him what hes worth now cause your crystal ball tell you that 2 years time itll be worse to lose him.

Same bloke that wanted to pay Rowell, TDK and NAS and figure it out when were winning later on.

Lots of hope in this idea mate. Which is why I’m against the $2m+ offer unless it comes with a significant commitment to it.

It’s creating all kinds of issues for us in 2 years.

The hope part is that he stays, but if we can’t work out better what to do if he doesn’t want to in 2 years that’s entirely on us.

Edit: I can’t see us making much good out of him leaving now that’s for sure.

Only one person is definitive about what happenes in 2027 in this chat and its not me or Sully.

Both of us have pointed out that the worst case scenario for us is still better.
Pick up on your negotiating skills will you 😂

I wouldnt negotiate it with him now moron, thats the whole point. I also tend to cop the L when ive got zero ****ing leverage. Hard to play hardball when the other side has every ****ing advantage.

I mean im glad youve at least finally taken a solid position. Lose him cause we refuse to pay him what hes worth now cause your crystal ball tell you that 2 years time itll be worse to lose him.

Same bloke that wanted to pay Rowell, TDK and NAS and figure it out when were winning later on.
Refuse to pay him what he is worth. 😂

We are paying him more than both Adelaide clubs.

So, is this another genius take by the worlds worst negotiator?

We are staring at losing 2 top 5 players in back to back seasons because SoS wanted to play hardball. Why the hell are people praising him?

Yeah alright, Tarau looks a gun. But nothing Port can offer us will satisfy? We will probably draft Dyson Sharp and Sam Cumming with those picks, and you guessed it. They'll ask for a trade home in 3 years.
Provide evidence other than complete speculation that SOS is playing hardball?

I'll wait :cool:

Refuse to pay him what he is worth. 😂

We are paying him more than both Adelaide clubs.

So, is this another genius take by the worlds worst negotiator?
Last i checked $2m is more than $1.2m or $1.4m.

Youre the ****ing guy adamant we shouldnt pay him $2m unless he signs for life, now were paying him more are we?

He doesnt actually need to do anything. We need him a **** load more than he needs us.
Of course he doesnt have to do anything.

But he also cant expect us to treat our entire contract like only the front ended years of a longer term deal without giving us anything in return. Negotiations need both parties to come to the table.

Hutchy's take makes good sense in my biased Saints fan opinion. Take the big deal now Nas, cover your ass, and then if you really want to go home in two years, do so under contract. This way just about everyone wins.
Absolutely. Hutchison has been around footy city for a long time and he’s clearly connecting with people within the industry. Presumably other player managers and club officials.

Hutchison’s view was that the 2 year deal NWM’s Manager is requesting is seen as short sighted. NWM’s value is never going to be higher relative terms to the rest of the competition. So lock in long term value now and ensure financial security.

Hutchison was critical of Ben Williams but gently used the words ”I wonder if his (NWM’s) manager) is missing a trick here”.

The Clayton Oliver example is prescient. Signed a monster long term deal in 2021 and early in the deal the wheels fell off. But he’s protected with his contract.

Hutchison was also the first journo (that I know of) to suggest that NWM’s deal with St Kilda WILL be longer than 2 years. He seemed very confident about that, as though there is other information he has knowledge about.

Watching it I was intrigued at how confident he seemed to be.

Anyway we will know soon enough.

Last i checked $2m is more than $1.2m or $1.4m.

Youre the ****ing guy adamant we shouldnt pay him $2m unless he signs for life, now were paying him more are we?
But he isn’t getting a 2 year deal in SA. 🤦‍♂️

You and anyone else who can’t understand this logic need to go back to school.

Over the life of those deals his average contract is Less than what we are paying him

Of course he doesnt have to do anything.

But he also cant expect us to treat our entire contract like only the front ended years of a longer term deal without giving us anything in return. Negotiations need both parties to come to the table.
To yours and stavs point, were not negotiating anything at this point, hes the hottest commodity in footy, everyone is ****ing falling all over themselves to get his signature and apparently Port is now gonna go to $2m for 7 years (or very close to).

The options as they stand are do the $2m/2 years he supposedly wants from us (at least the term). Stand idly by with our hands in our pockets at $1.4 or $1.6 for 2 years and watch the oppo blow us the **** out of the water and then feel good about it because "we didnt cave".

People thinking this is a negotation are hilarious. We have nothing he wants and hes given us the manual for his signature apparently. Just ****ing do it.

Call it kicking the can down the road if you like but we supposedly have the money and want the player. I couldnt give a **** if we manage to save a couple hundred grand a year down the line over this.

Letting Battle go for a kid showing signs of generational talent during a rebuilding phase deserves the highest of praise

But he isn’t getting a 2 year deal in SA. 🤦‍♂️

You and anyone else who can’t understand this logic need to go back to school.

Over the life of those deals his average contract is Less than what we are paying him
Is it? Cause the reports are that Ports upped their deal.

Given you reckon we could easily do Rowell at $2m, TDK at $1.7 and Nas at $1.5m just a week ago i reckon youre the only one who cant do the basic maths.

I tire of your idiotic takes now. Carry on thinking we have any negotiating power here if you like, I look forward to your trumpeting the success of the club when we get Pick 20 in 2026 and pick 25 in 2027 along with Bergman or some other shit kicker in 8 weeks time cause we took a stand.

Is it? Cause the reports are that Ports upped their deal.

Given you reckon we could easily do Rowell at $2m, TDK at $1.7 and Nas at $1.5m just a week ago i reckon youre the only one who cant do the basic maths.

I tire of your idiotic takes now. Carry on thinking we have any negotiating power here if you like, I look forward to your trumpeting the success of the club when we get Pick 20 in 2026 and pick 25 in 2027 along with Bergman or some other shit kicker in 8 weeks time cause we took a stand.
Which reports say he is getting a $2m a year deal over 7 seasons at port?

Riley Beveridges from yesterday.

It doesn’t even matter, 2 years against 2 years he gets more. He doesn’t want longer with us, we all agree so the 7 year average is irrelevant. You wanna negotiate on that basis good luck.

We have a competent list manager who understands the market and is holding his ground instead of caving in to overpay players and people still complain all day😂
The same guy paying $1.7m for TDK isn’t overpaying.

Interesting take

I get Stavros point
If we sign him for 2 years at 2 million a year he isn't going to take a pay cut in 2 years time. So we would naturally want a longer commitment on that sort of dollars

But I also say screw it we have been screaming for a generational talent at our football club since Roo and we have him under our roof at the moment

I get Stavros point
If we sign him for 2 years at 2 million a year he isn't going to take a pay cut in 2 years time. So we would naturally want a longer commitment on that sort of dollars

But I also say screw it we have been screaming for a generational talent at our football club since Roo and we have him under our roof at the moment
If he’s worth 2 in 2 years then just pay him that.

Stavs missing that we have absolutely no sell to him other than money right now. In 2 years if we’re any good we can point that out and that we have to pay his mates to keep a premiership team together (plus we’ve hopefully gotten him over the homesick stage).

If he wants more and we’re still shit then trade him at that point when there’s far more options for trade deals.