List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II 📃

Pre-season Injury list will set the trend as to how season 2026 will go for Carlton imo.

If we are one of the leaders (Top 4) on the Injury list going into R0/R1 against Richmond with Top players out Injured ... then we will be looking like another rough season is ahead for us Bluebaggers.

However, the off-season is a time for optimism for all teams ... so fingers crossed it gets turned around starting with sorting out the Richos with a close to fully fit team

We seem to be recognising the harsh truth that the most important 'ability' a player can have is availability.

Quite simply, you need at least 30-32 players on your list who can slot straight into a role at AFL level. That allows you 6 or so draft picks who can develop for a year or two.

The last two years seem to be about that. Clearing out Marchbank, Martin, Cunningham last year crushed our depth and contributed to our ladder slide, but they were all perpetually injured. You can say the same now for Silvagni, Cincotta and Docherty. And also Lemmey - there just isn't any point in carrying highly speculative 18 year olds if they can't even hold down a roll temporarily to cover injury. Hollands - same problem here, if you can't play reliably.

Strangely, I think you can say the same for TDK and even Curnow, albeit to a lesser degree. But TDK has missed 4-5 games every year except this one (and his form dropped off after an injury in 2025), and struggles against monster opponents which is NOT what you want in someone you are paying $10m. And Charlie - has enough injury worries that you at least listen to offers.

It means going backwards, at least on paper. For supporters it feels like giving up hope, but surely we realise now that the 'hope' of 2022 was an illusion caught up in things like 'if Marchbank, Martin, McGovern and Williams are all fit, we can beat anyone'.

I guess the thinking is to put together a consistent 30 who can plan, evolve and grow together, rather than being so luck dependent. Long term I think it is he right call, if we can manage expectations across the journey

He's a mid. That's the whole reason he's open to a move.
Played half back and they paid up big to bring in 2 half backs to play that role.
I think there plan was to play him as the third mid with rowell and Anderson
But with his interrupted pre season and injury
And Miller , graham , humphries having big preseasons. Forced him to a flank to offer something different for them.

Nonsense. The Club, for once, did the right thing when faced with outside noise. It's well past time for the tail to stop wagging the dog at Carlton. If players are 'unhappy', they can go. We only need players who are fully committed. Starting with Voss's confirmation, I'm pretty excited to see what the club is doing. It will be to our benefit. I can't wait to see how things develop next season.
I can see a couple more conditional players being shown the door.

One thing I did notice was the change in Motlop after the confirmation of Voss for next year. He had been drifting a bit, but as soon as the club backed in Voss, he arced up again. I reckon a couple of players were thinking "oh no here we go again".

I can see a couple more conditional players being shown the door.

One thing I did notice was the change in Motlop after the confirmation of Voss for next year. He had been drifting a bit, but as soon as the club backed in Voss, he arced up again. I reckon a couple of players were thinking "oh no here we go again".

Similar to Cook's public statement backing Voss preceding the golden run in 2023

You only been here 12?

Casual.
So, what was your original account called? Because this one was created last year. So, you're either someone who's been board banned or site banned before and has snuck in with a new account?

So Curnow for Flanders and what else would be a realistic trade to suit both parties?
I think its only a matter of time before GC are on the phone about Curnow given recent events. I think they will be keener to deal than Sydney and if anything else could drive up what we get for Curnow. I'd take Flanders and King. Don't see why we wouldn't be asking for anything else. He's not going to Sydney for for nothing. We would want one of their top 5 players, after all, its up to the destination club to make it happen.

Where did I come at Voss? I'm lamenting the fact that we are going to lose a player in Hollands that makes us considerably better on-field. I tend not to get to caught up in the speculation - it is simply a shame that we have not been able to capitalise on bringing a very talented player to the club.

Yes the Saints were into TDK early, and I've stated numerous times we have no business matching it. Again, it's a lament that we are losing a type that transforms our game (and yes I'm talking about the pre self-preservation TDK). Earlier intervention by the club on both TDK and Jack may have yielded different results. Who knows? Sliding doors moments.

Dead rubber games? How odd. Would have thought games early in the season when we were fighting for finals count, but that's just me. I'm not the sort of poster that would highlight your multiple posts praising Jack's games in defense, but we both know they are there. I'd be happy for the club to pay fair market value...I'm sure all players would like to be paid comparably to peers.

Don't know about AA, but Jack certainly ranked high in a number of key defensive metrics pre-injury, and his stats compare very well to newly minted AA Josh Battle. Not like he is a world away.
So... you want to keep a player that is one strike away from being deregistered by the AFL? So... in the rest of that first paragraph, you are putting the blame for the players actions on the club? If the club had done it's due dilligence, it would have realised that the player has serious issues and will always be a problem child and we shouldn't go near him without a hazmat suit.

He's not going to be cheap, and we have a much bigger requirement for half forwards, especially if we move Lij on.
Kemp, Moir, and potentially Khamis say hi... Oh, and Frank the Tank and Flynn Young are in the background waving. Williams has also proven to be a good option forward. Then we have Cotts coming back and Motts who will rotate through the middle of the ground with Moir and Williams.

Losing Lij isn't quite the problem that people think.

Fogarty McGovern Acres Durdin Binns L.Young Boyd (trade, delist, keep)?
All in-contract for ‘26 with Acres to ‘27.
Not much to deal with in that lot either..

Might need to keep McGovern as insurance for Curnow as a forward.
I understand they are contracted BH and most probably wouldn’t be entertained by other clubs in a trade scenario or at all, Acres & Durds perhaps, imo they are the next group of players that will need replacing for upgrading the overall list requirements…
More likely they will mainly be depth playing reserves (Acres aside when injury free) for different reasons, opportunity will come for a number of reasons, end of next year they’re all top of the list…

Thank you for proving my point. So when they were actually decent:

-First year plays 2 games.
-Second year as a 20 year old in a good team still, averages are goal a game and 2 tackles a game.
-Third year plays 6 games - major hamstring tear throughout the year.
-Fourth year - 17 games, 16 goals.

From then on out WC dont win more than 2 games a season.

He's shown plenty more than most small forwards on our list. Instant upgrade on White, Durdin, Fogarty.

Also becomes just about the fastest player on our list which the club has noted as a priority.

He's shown plenty, you just weren't watching.
proving your point - settle down.
I've watched him plenty enough. He is dead set rubbish.
You can dress it up anyway you like with stats and whatever floats your boat ... doesn't change the fact he was a potato then, is a potato now and i suspect will be a potato into the future.
I wouldn't even give him a game in our VFL team

proving your point - settle down.
I've watched him plenty enough. He is dead set rubbish.
You can dress it up anyway you like with stats and whatever floats your boat ... doesn't change the fact he was a potato then, is a potato now and i suspect will be a potato into the future.
I wouldn't even give him a game in our VFL team
I love it when people disregard data and facts because it doesn't match their opinions. Nice to meet you too.

I love it when people provide stats that don't move the needle of their argument and then are condescending to others because 'how dare they have a differing opinion'. If I wanted to read stats I wouldn't be logging on to big footy, i'd be on footywire or using AI.
I'm ok with you having a different opinion and i'd be fine eating humble pie if i'm proved to be wrong. Pretty sure i'll be going hungry.
Nice to meet you too champ!

Thank you for proving my point. So when they were actually decent:

-First year plays 2 games.
-Second year as a 20 year old in a good team still, averages are goal a game and 2 tackles a game.
-Third year plays 6 games - major hamstring tear throughout the year.
-Fourth year - 17 games, 16 goals.

From then on out WC dont win more than 2 games a season.

He's shown plenty more than most small forwards on our list. Instant upgrade on White, Durdin, Fogarty.

Also becomes just about the fastest player on our list which the club has noted as a priority.

He's shown plenty, you just weren't watching.
If Owies is getting games ahead of him at WCE, we've got some real issues....

Why are folks thinking Gold Coast would even entertain the thought of swapping King for Charlie..?
It's not like King isn't performing rather nicely. Ok .. I was an early critic ... but ... umm

Ben King comes out of contract as a restricted free agent next year.

It has long been suggested he wants to return to Victoria

I love it when people provide stats that don't move the needle of their argument and then are condescending to others because 'how dare they have a differing opinion'. If I wanted to read stats I wouldn't be logging on to big footy, i'd be on footywire or using AI.
I'm ok with you having a different opinion and i'd be fine eating humble pie if i'm proved to be wrong. Pretty sure i'll be going hungry.
Nice to meet you too champ!
The art of the misrepresentation - as defined by circusdevil

Kemp, Moir, and potentially Khamis say hi... Oh, and Frank the Tank and Flynn Young are in the background waving. Williams has also proven to be a good option forward. Then we have Cotts coming back and Motts who will rotate through the middle of the ground with Moir and Williams.

Losing Lij isn't quite the problem that people think.
Kemp Moir and Khamis are all more 3rd tall types, and aside from Williams at times none of the others have consistently provided a good link between the midfield and forward line. Unless the situation is truly untenable I’m really hoping we keep him

Why are folks thinking Gold Coast would even entertain the thought of swapping King for Charlie..?
It's not like King isn't performing rather nicely. Ok .. I was an early critic ... but ... umm
King only signed a 2 year extension in 2024 and is OOC at the end of 2026. Doesn’t seem that talks are progressing fwiw.

If they think he will leave next year as a Free Agent, getting Charlie rather than a pick in the teens would be better for the Suns.

That’s probably what people are thinking when they raise Kings name

None of the above Dram.

Aggressive tone you are taking mate.
Nah, that's actually being polite. Being aggressive usually gets me banned.

Oh, and it's Dramoth to you.