List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II 📃

Possibly not, but if we were going to thread the needle and maximise our current list it would require a dominant ruck, a solid partner for Weitering, a damaging half forward...thing we don't otherwise have.
A dominant ruck is a not a key factor for strong teams, Brisbane & Geelong continue to demonstrate this.

We aren't.

The difference makers are walking out the door.

We're 100% in a rebuild. The quicker everyone gets on the same page the better.
That’s not really my argument but we can segue, if our draft is taken up by Dean and Ison and we aren’t trading for quality, how are we getting these types?

Rebuild or not, Dean and ISON aren’t these types.

Looks to me that internally, GW knows where this list is at... no point going after any of those types:

1. Why would they want to leave to join us?
2. With the loss of TDK + Jack and potentially Charlie, plus the obvious decline of our senior core, we are going to be a worse side next year.. best to focus on the future and rebuild.

The time will come when we should be chasing those types... if we play our cards right, it'll come soon...
TYPES, these types, similar types,types, types, types, draftees of a similar type, not those players.

Dean and Ison as far as im aware aren’t the types to elevate the team.

I’d think we’d fill some depth needs with.
Trade
Buku
Fritsch
Chesser

DFA
Petrucelle
Blight

Draft
Best Available
Dean
Ison
Riley/Harding

Gresham (CatB)

Reidy - seriously WTF Carlton

If we trade Curnow then we can go for an elite player.
Don't forget Mingara as a Cat B rookie.

Don’t have to be both this year.

If he leaves as a FA next year, the best they can get is one first rounder straight after where they finish on the ladder.

Two firsts starting to look better if they are accepting he will leave.
PA would match any offer next year to force a trade. This year or next they will be getting good value for butters

Having said that, I am dead keen to try this year if we are thinking of him next year anyway. If Charlie is leaving turning him into butters would be good

Admittedly im only partially watching tonight’s game and watched a bit of last nights match and im asking myself, where are we getting the players for us to leap frog 4-5 teams above us?

All our trade/darft stuff is focused on Dean and Ison who even if both turn out good players, dont seem to be the types that we are missing to elevate the side, all the players we are linked to are once again from the bargain bin.

Where are we getting a Max Holmes, Zac Bailey, Cam Rayner, Darcy Wilmot, Toby Greene, Dangerfield, C Cameron types.
We're going to get two top 20 picks due to FA compo (barring FS/NGA adjustments). One pick goes to Dean and the other one goes to Grlj, Greeves, Ludowyke or Dovaston. Our Pick 34 goes to Ison and Pick 44 goes to next best available. Get four quality kids in each year and we will soon be back. We were unlucky this year with Jagga. He could have had an instant impact like Judd did.

We aren't.

The difference makers are walking out the door.

We're 100% in a rebuild. The quicker everyone gets on the same page the better.

Sorry mate but Sam Docherty, Tom De Koning and Jack Silvagni are not difference makers.

Doc was a liability in 2025.
Sos is replaceable.
TDK - yes, we’ll miss him around the ground but Pitto, interestingly enough is statistically a better ruckman.

Add a fit (& healthy) Sam Walsh, Matt Cottrell, Jagga Smith, Charlie Curnow, Brodie Kemp and Harry McKay we’ll be miles better.

That said, significant improvement is made throughout trade period and I’m not particularly inspired about who we’re linked to…

I agree but you know my hesitation is around Voss and being able to stop the same thing happening with the next iteration of the list. 🤷🏼‍♂️.

At least we aren't Essendon.
We need to bin off the coteries as "influencers" at the club in the decision making process. The moves that netted us Jagga were the sign that the coteries aren't pulling the strings in the background. Unfortunately, Doc was a tool within the club of the coteries.

If we'd listened to the coteries, we would have been trading in senior level players who might have been like Jack and chasing a big end of career contract.

I think that the club is going to have a sitdown with Charlie and his management and tell them that if Charlie performs at his best next year, we will allow him to be traded out to the club of his choice for the price we demand. It will be a very good deal for us because it will possibly put us into the top 5 in the draft and will let us get Cody and another very good player without an issue.

Wright has to find a better option - he has bought the time to do so...keeping Voss in helps the cultural change in at Carlton -Wright is dismantling the player power nuffery - in order to bring in any better alternative there has to be a clean deck.
And he's removing the power of the coteries as well.

We need to bin off the coteries as "influencers" at the club in the decision making process. The moves that netted us Jagga were the sign that the coteries aren't pulling the strings in the background. Unfortunately, Doc was a tool within the club of the coteries.

If we'd listened to the coteries, we would have been trading in senior level players who might have been like Jack and chasing a big end of career contract.

I think that the club is going to have a sitdown with Charlie and his management and tell them that if Charlie performs at his best next year, we will allow him to be traded out to the club of his choice for the price we demand. It will be a very good deal for us because it will possibly put us into the top 5 in the draft and will let us get Cody and another very good player without an issue.

I get your point, but If that’s our attitude then Sam McClure is 100% right… this footy club has become weak and lost any resemblance of ruthlessness.

Trade
Buku
Fritsch
Chesser

DFA
Petrucelle
Blight

Draft
Best Available
Dean
Ison
Riley/Harding

Gresham (CatB)

Critical that our TDK pick comes before Dean. We definitely need to turn TDK and JSOS into 2 first round players (including Dean).

Luckily Dean does look like a perfect fit for our main requirement - CHB who can kick. Although obviously he'll be very young next year he'll be a 10+ year investment.

With the other pick we need to find a clever good ball user. Murphy Reid-type player.

TYPES, these types, similar types,types, types, types, draftees of a similar type, not those players.

Dean and Ison as far as im aware aren’t the types to elevate the team.

LOL! Calm down:

Looks to me that internally, GW knows where this list is at... no point going after any of those types:

And draftees of those types will also be very costly unfortunately... too costly in fact, unless we do offload Charlie Curnow...

Let's be real here, it's not like Gov, Lij or Motlop will return the currency required.

Only other option is the TDK compo pick, but we'll probably hold onto that anyway.

And we'd be absolute fools to trade our 2026 1st now...

I get your point, but If that’s our attitude then Sam McClure is 100% right… this footy club has become weak and lost any resemblance of ruthlessness.
McClure is just sooking it up ever since he lost his inside contacts at the club. The guy struggles to brush his teeth without his mums help of a morning.
Keeping d*ck heads like that at arms length from anything Carlton related a sound move also.

Get me two Gryan Miers types please.

That is all...

Trade
Buku
Fritsch
Chesser

DFA
Petrucelle
Blight

Draft
Best Available
Dean
Ison
Riley/Harding

Gresham (CatB)

Apart from the draftees... that's like shuffling the deck chairs...

I just hope people are prepared for a very bad 2026...

Absolutely.

Ready for a couple more from that group to be cut loose.

There is some scope for strategic signings this years to fill some gaps, but I am more than happy to go to the draft and show a little patience. I don’t want “mature” blokes, just because they are a bit more advanced. Really want an uograde as a distributor. If Charlie goes to Sydney need a Campbell or Roberts in the steak knives.

Would be happy to grab Dean and Ison along with a HB/wing rebounder/distributor, a small forward option and a tall forward option to develop.. Also want a rookie spot for Flynn Riley to develop in the ruck (Reidy may be OK, but need uograde)
We got Charleson last year as the HB rebounder/distributor. From what I saw of him in the VFL games I watched, he is pretty unflappable. I reckon we'll get one more year out of Newman and Saad before we replace them both with Charleson and Wilson respectively.

A rookie spot is non-negotiable as far as Flynn Riley is concerned. He looked really good this year as well.

The small(ish) forward spot can be filled with our mature aged F/S in Darcy Hogg. I reckon we look to next years draft for the KPF option. Unless there is someone with potential who'll be a slider we can grab this year, I'd wait.

We're going to get two top 20 picks due to FA compo (barring FS/NGA adjustments). One pick goes to Dean and the other one goes to Grlj, Greeves, Ludowyke or Dovaston. Our Pick 34 goes to Ison and Pick 44 goes to next best available. Get four quality kids in each year and we will soon be back. We were unlucky this year with Jagga. He could have had an instant impact like Judd did.
If we’re holding the TDK pick (which will end up roughly 13) in the draft, there is zero chance a bid for Dean doesn’t come prior.

What’s the update with Motlop? Haven’t heard a thing about him.
There is probably a contract there for him, we just need to get to the actual end of season to see who else is moved on before we pencil in the dollar amount for him. He really started coming good at the end of the season which justifies another contract.

@ 6:28 BANG -

"as a senior player..I was hoping we were going to top up on talent and build on the prelim.. get some senior bodies to add - and we ended up getting Jagger Smith..."

It all boils down to where the Club decided to invest and the messages that gave the senior players regarding where the Club thought the playing list was at...

Some senior players ( including Docherty) wanted more senior players - the Club decided yeah naahhh.
Insightless by docherty. Perhaps his selection in last years elimination, Houston's form and the unavailability of Marchbank, cunningham and Martin would have made him aware that youth was a better strategy

Admittedly im only partially watching tonight’s game and watched a bit of last nights match and im asking myself, where are we getting the players for us to leap frog 4-5 teams above us?

All our trade/darft stuff is focused on Dean and Ison who even if both turn out good players, dont seem to be the types that we are missing to elevate the side, all the players we are linked to are once again from the bargain bin.

Where are we getting a Max Holmes, Zac Bailey, Cam Rayner, Darcy Wilmot, Toby Greene, Dangerfield, C Cameron types.

I think the half cup full supporters are seeing those names and thinking Cowan, Boyd, Carroll, Evans, L Campo etc.

It's hard reading if im honest.

Scratch Fritsch, we are moving conditional players on.

Buku has been linked, as an athletic swingman. Good chance Gov gone, so a vacancy exist in that area.

Chesser is a reasonable option, hopefully past his injury concerns (ankle been surgically repaired now). Not sure he is dramatically ahead of some of our kids.

Petrucelle, nah. Has had enough chances. Speed alone does not cut it. Ball use the key. Not worth a spot. Delisted by cellar dwellers.

Blight, absolutely. Hard to fathom the delisting except they have an oversupply of talls, many being high draft picks. The mature gap players have been “rationalised”. Defender first, but can play forward or pinch hit in the ruck with his athleticism. Even managed a mention in Barrett’s Sliding Doors. Great option while HOF rehabs and Dean develops. Would save us draft capital. Big yes.

Flynn Riley at 208cm 21 yo ruck seems a no brainer. Harding is only 199cm so more KPP than ruck, don’t mind him, but only have so many spots. If we miss FR somehow, need a genuine young ruck prospect.

Dean, Ison plus one or two more draftees. I am not against Monahan getting one more year, but a free hit on Gresham as a Cat B would be good business (some elixir to add a few centimetres too please)
Absolutely agree with you on Blight. I would even keep him on for a couple more years and let HOF and Dean form a partnership in the VFL for 12 months before bringing them up as our new defence. Do for Dean what we did for HOF and I reckon the Carlton faithful will be saying Silvagni who?

Didn't realise that Riley was a year older than Skull. If we brought in Riley, he'd do really well with Kreuzer as his ruck coach. We've already seen what Skull can do (that tackle... ugh... so beautiful) under the tutalage of Kreuzer.

We would get a free hit on Gresh and Mingara as Cat B's if they get through both the ND and the RD. Mingara would be a slow burn development small forward I reckon. It's all a win for us really.

Docherty knew the end of his career was near. He, and the others on the wrong end of their career, pushing for all chips in, would 100% be motivated by self interest rather than objective assessment of the list.
They'd rather stuff the club for that ultimate success... knowing that they'd be gone by the time the shit hit the fan.

I've said a few times in the past that if John Elliott had retired as president after the 1995 final and we elected a board to bring us into the modern game, we would have been a lot better off. But Carlton has always been about bringing in the players to top us up.