List Mgmt. 2025 Trade/FA Thread

Same as Rowell - both can waltz on down as monster free agents in 2027!
Bergman higher risk on his behalf. I think he'll be a star, but he's not as franked as Rowell and right now could be his highest value when many would pay star salary for him which he might not be justifying by 2027.

Shows the media have no clue- cal twomey debunked the whole big fish idea last night
Cal gets heaps of clicks for his big fish stuff and then gets more again for debunking it. Nice work.

Bergman higher risk on his behalf. I think he'll be a star, but he's not as franked as Rowell and right now could be his highest value when many would pay star salary for him which he might not be justifying by 2027.
Agree. His game against Carlton was a ripper, but he's still having plenty of games under 20 touches and doesn't possess those manic powers of Rowell.

Shows the media have no clue- cal twomey debunked the whole big fish idea last night
Depends who you ask in the Media

I'm not as big on Bergman as others are. He's a good player but not in the elite class. Just my opinion though

He's a solid player now, but it's more what he could become. He's got a lot going for him.

Breakaway speed. In 5 years time Rowell could be the next Oliver and Bergman the next Dawson. I think I’d take whichever was gettable, but Bergman’s positional flexibility gives him the edge, IMO.

Correct
Was it all click bait?
No Way Wow GIF

Can’t believe these idiots staying at crap clubs.
What fools.

There is a very interesting trend happening in the industry though. Players very purposely being given the advice by agents to sign til their free agency eligibility. Can’t remember it being that much of a focus with short term contracts to the top of the top level players like Rowell, Bergman, maybe NWM and others.

This helps our list management strategy because it even further reduces the reliance on high draft pick/rebuilds to get top talent.

Salary cap is the new big currency in town.

Breakaway speed. In 5 years time Rowell could be the next Oliver and Bergman the next Dawson. I think I’d take whichever was gettable, but Bergman’s positional flexibility gives him the edge, IMO.
Does Bergman get it enough though?. Only averaged 18 disposals a game so far. With those stats he has to be a high impact per possession player and he isn't that yet. I reckon you need to be doing stuff like Harley Reid if you get under 20 disposals a game. I'm only going by what we see now, he could become that player but they usually would have shown it from the start. Anyway, I've been wrong before and will probably be wrong again

There is a very interesting trend happening in the industry though. Players very purposely being given the advice by agents to sign til their free agency eligibility. Can’t remember it being that much of a focus with short term contracts to the top of the top level players like Rowell, Bergman, maybe NWM and others.

This helps our list management strategy because it even further reduces the reliance on high draft pick/rebuilds to get top talent.

Salary cap is the new big currency in town.
There will still be Directors relying on future picks and back ending contracts, as they chase success during their tenure.

Does Bergman get it enough though?. Only averaged 18 disposals a game so far. With those stats he has to be a high impact per possession player and he isn't that yet. I reckon you need to be doing stuff like Harley Reid if you get under 20 disposals a game. I'm only going by what we see now, he could become that player but they usually would have shown it from the start. Anyway, I've been wrong before and will probably be wrong again
He’s only been in the midfield since the Showdown where they gave him a run with on Dawson. Since then (excluding the Sydney game where he admitted to Heeney he was crook in the lead up) he’s gone at 23 disposals, 9cp, 3cl and 7i50’s. That’s a guy winning more of it and getting on the end of possession chains to move the game forward, but the biggest factor is he’s doing that having just been exposed to the midfield. What you’re trying to predict is what he’ll be with a season or 2 under his belt in the middle. I’m projecting that he’ll improve on those numbers in that span.

Jack Silvagni would be a great Nathan Murphy replacement.

Gettable is nothing more than a mouthpiece for managers/players/listmanagers to spread their agenda in order to gain leverage in contractual discussions.

We should target 2 195cm + defenders in the national draft with late picks. Get them into the system and start developing them.

Cochran comes across more as a 3rd tall/ intercepting defender and not a lockdown defender.

We should target 2 195cm + defenders in the national draft with late picks. Get them into the system and start developing them.

Cochran comes across more as a 3rd tall/ intercepting defender and not a lockdown defender.
so take 5+ players in the draft? Given it seems expected we'll take our 3 NGAs/FS.

Smit could be our lock down defender hopefully.

I think he could become awesome. I like Port, so I watch them a fair bit. He's a fantastic athlete with really solid skills. He's been a disciplined defender, but is beginning to take the game on more. I think he might develop into something pretty awesome. Might not thoufgh - might just not have the instinctual flair of the really good ones - but he's got everything else.

so take 5+ players in the draft? Given it seems expected we'll take our 3 NGAs/FS.

Smit could be our lock down defender hopefully.

I like his development in a defensive role. Has shown tremendous improvement match to match and it’s not a role I’d imagine he’s ever had too much exposure in. Hopefully that improvement continues for the remainder of the season.

In terms of the draft, it’s actually (at least) 5 FS/NGA prospects we could look at. There’s a lot of focus on the big 3 but Lonie and Kerr can’t be dismissed. Difficulty is finding the list spots. Gets even more complicated if we want to retain 1 or both of Steele and Howes, and/or have a trade target in sight. Leppa and Cheesy has an interesting few months ahead of them.