What if it were say:

Give:
2026 R1, 2027 R1

Get:
Petracca, 2025 R2, 2025 R3, 2026 R3

(Assuming McGuane projects as an R1 and the AFL let’s us do this as a result).
He’s 30 in jan. that is insane.

Trac is a great player. But at 30 he ain’t for us. Better off targeting a FA

Not a dig at your response but would you put this in the same category as Nth offering for Bruzzy?

Not saying I’m all for it, or even that Melbourne would be, but high chance we’d get 3-4 good years from an absolute top-shelf player in the comp which could translate to several flags possibly.

Meanwhile, we’d still bring in McGuane and have points to take other NGA prospects. And by selling those R1’s, it doesn’t mean we can’t still take draftees for the future.

You’d have to assume Melbourne would pay a little bit of his salary in this scenario, too.

Not a dig at your response but would you put this in the same category as Nth offering for Bruzzy?
Two firsts for a 30 year old is insane. And yes the reported north deal for Maynard was ridiculous as well.

We haven’t got much to play with atm. Outside of Rowell (pipe dream) we should stick to FA’s. Again all my opinion. Some may think trac is worth it. He’s a gun. He Melb would want more than I’d be willing to pay for a 30 year old

Two firsts for a 30 year old is insane. And yes the reported north deal for Maynard was ridiculous as well.

We haven’t got much to play with atm. Outside of Rowell (pipe dream) we should stick to FA’s. Again all my opinion. Some may think trac is worth it. He’s a gun. He Melb would want more than I’d be willing to pay for a 30 year old
If LDU, Rowell and Richards are all off the table, do we stick to our plan of going all in? Do we pivot and take someone like Petracca if he’s keen?

Or abandon the plan and stick to the draft instead?

We haven’t got much to play with atm. Outside of Rowell (pipe dream) we should stick to FA’s
I’m sure heard awhile back we had interest in Rowell. Aka over a year now. But most clubs start mining prospects over two years out.

Who knows. We didn’t have any collateral to get Houston either.

Plus by end on this year with possible retirements (and other trades out contracts ending) we should have plenty in the bank to shop with too.

I’m sure heard awhile back we had interest in Rowell. Aka over a year now. But most clubs start mining prospects over two years out.

Who knows. We didn’t have any collateral to get Houston either.

Plus by end on this year with possible retirements (and other trades out contracts ending) we should have plenty in the bank to shop with too.
This time last year pretty sure we were only looking at adding Lobb. 12 months later, we've added Houston, Perryman and Membrey. Lots to come

If LDU, Rowell and Richards are all off the table, do we stick to our plan of going all in? Do we pivot and take someone like Petracca if he’s keen?

I don’t buy the “all in” media talk. We aren’t all in just this year IMO, same as we aren’t to old

If we were able to get trac in a deal similar to Mitchell, then why not I suppose. It's just the potential cost that worries me. It would require us to lose a couple of good players in order to get him. I reckon we'll just target someone who won't cost as much.

For that to happen then Trac would have to fall off a cliff this year and turn in to what would essentially be a salary dump. Outside of that, I don’t see Melbourne letting him go for anything close to a reasonable trade, even if it is in the best interests of all parties.

Yeah I agree. It's just not going to happen

If Maynard walked, would a band 1 first round pick be enough for Trac, we would probably need to throw in a second and a young player. Definitely not worth it. Better off chasing Butters next year when hes a free agent

**** Petracca. Don't want another 30yo who would cost the earth. Let's go all in for Rowell. Daicos and Rowell in the midfield together would make us a powerhouse. Petracca seems a bit sooky to me.
I'm with you. The thing with our recent recruiting is that despite the media shit it has extended our window rather than just being about the short term. Houston, Schultz and Perryman have years ahead of them.

Plus the most likely reason why he came back on is because he wanted to and bullshitted the medicos about his symptoms. I think he's thrown the whole club under the bus.

I'm with you. The thing with our recent recruiting is that despite the media shit it has extended our window rather than just being about the short term. Houston, Schultz and Perryman have years ahead of them.

Plus the most likely reason why he came back on is because he wanted to and bullshitted the medicos about his symptoms. I think he's thrown the whole club under the bus.
Its funny how Geelong have Blicavs 34, Dangefield 35, Stewart 32 , Cameron 32, Stanley 34, Guthrie 32, Duncan 33 all pushing mid 30s but all you hear is an never ending wank fest in the media about how the manage their list and how good they are. More ****n fossils playing than us. Where are ya Cornesy ya wrinkley headed flog

Yep - let’s use any trade capital for younger players and throw $$$ at FAs

Word is that his missus and his mum made/make a lot of noise/trouble behind the scenes.

That's just Italians being Italian. Very rowdy bunch, I have first hand experience

If there aren’t any FA’s to go after, I wouldn’t mind downgrading 2026 and 2027 R1’s and banking extra points to pick up a Rowell or Petracca (obviously Rowell preferred, but beggars can’t be choosers).

The whole preaching of love they've been doing is some of the fakest crap I have ever seen. Footy clubs are great at confected narratives but that takes the cake I reckon.

They're like that mate who's insecure about himself and is pretty sure his missus is cheating on him, but posts motivational bulldust on social media every day.

We all see through it.

They're like that mate who's insecure about himself and is pretty sure his missus is cheating on him, but posts motivational bulldust on social media every day.

We all see through it.
The "date night, so in love" posts on Facebook when in reality they're one argument from a divorce