List Mgmt. 2025 Trade/FA Thread

Just on Butters going to Geelong (allegedly) how the F*** are they prying him out and they have Worpel and Rohan Marshall coming in. Theres no way that even their creative accounts team can cook those books to make it work when they just signed Smith last season.
Butters is staying next year, isn't he?

SEN chatter from Hodge calling on Steven May to consider joining the Dogs is pretty funny. May is a bully. Not a good fit many places.

The media reporting Bulldogs as the standout club for Steven May this morning tells me they’ve quickly fallen out of the race for JSOS.
IF Rumours they where never really in it

SEN chatter from Hodge calling on Steven May to consider joining the Dogs is pretty funny. May is a bully. Not a good fit many places.
Bevo and May might knock each other out at a preseason lunch

As much as I dislike him, go through the stress of watching your wife battle terminal cancer and we’ll see how you’re looking.
I have and lost

He was very keen to come to us.
Chose Melbourne because they could get the deal done and we couldn’t.
He’s an improvement of Charlie Dean.
Not an improvement as a person.

Geelong zero in on one targeted player a year and sell the farm (literally) to get the deal done, talking up Geelong like interstate teams do, especially if that said player has the most minuet link to Geelong previously.

+ this fake ass aurora that Scott and the Media thinks he has!!!!

Not sure the swans would be able to convince any of their star mids to leave the club to go to carlton.

Their only option is involving a 3rd team with a star midfielder who is willing to go to carlton,and are happy to let the star mid go for draft capital.

What makes you think their cap is tight? They’re like us in that two of their best in Cameron and Dangerfield are at the tail end of their career so are taking no space beyond a year or two. And their big recruit in Smith last year came for unders post ACL and attitude queries.

People have to realise there is a lot more flexibility with cap space than you’d think. It’s not the individual money in a single year that matters it’s the length, how long to go, the make up of the list etc.

If you need any evidence just look at St Kilda. They have the first $2m/y player in the comp, have just added a ruckman on 1.7m for 8 years and have a perennially injured KPF on a long term $1m/y. If they can do that I don’t see why Geelong (or us) can’t bring someone like Butters. Might be a trade off down the track and will result in losing a player or two they’d prefer to keep ideally, but still doable.
Yeah Danger is probably playing for not too much now hes an old man. But Cameron was on almost a mil per season back in 2020 when he joined - mega coin for that time. He just resigned this year for another 2 years. Bailey Smith is all about his image and insta followers, no way he signed for peanuts. Ollie Dempsey just signed 4 years. Myers, SDK and Atkins also resigned, none would have been cheap. Blicavs and the other chook Stanley are on sweet FA.
We have heard for years Hawkins, Selwood, etc played for "unders" to keep the team challenging, so when he (hawkins) retired, that wouldnt free up any substantial cash.

Their accounts books should be relabelled cook books. Everyone knows its dodgy, even the flogs running the league.

And on the saints, its widely tipped Marshall will move (also to the cats- how funny) once TDK comes in so theres money freed up. They might lose windhager because of the money theyre paying TDK and have given to NWM.

he's definitely 2 firsts. speaking to a family friend and he has had the shits all year with Voss.
Two first rounders for an injury-prone 28 year-old seems a lot to pay (on top of a very high salary) unless going to a genuine Premiership contender just needing a bit more scoring firepower to get them to the Promised Land. Not sure thats the Swans.

Also, Blues fans are kidding themselves if they think Swans are going to give up any of Gulden, Heeney or Warner for Curnow. That would be a backwards move for the Swans.

I reckon Charlie stays at the Blues.

he's definitely 2 firsts. speaking to a family friend and he has had the shits all year with Voss.

Imagine spending years trying to communicate with Michael Voss. Smoke signals, morse code, crayons, play dough, fingerpainting, baby sign language... you've tried everything but to no avail.

Then you have a conversation with someone like Fly or even Dean Cox.

It would be like having a chat with Jesus, Allah, Buddha and Vishnu in one, wrapped up in a polo shirt covered in sponsor's logos.

Not sure. Theres "chatter" he could become the newest farmer in the hoops or join the poo and wee flogs, yet the other half of pundits say he is staying in 2026.
SA talk is he's staying in 2026, alnd that's why Nas stayed as well - Port wouldn't have been able to get a deal done.

Two first rounders for an injury-prone 28 year-old seems a lot to pay (on top of a very high salary) unless going to a genuine Premiership contender just needing a bit more scoring firepower to get them to the Promised Land. Not sure thats the Swans.

Also, Blues fans are kidding themselves if they think Swans are going to give up any of Gulden, Heeney or Warner for Curnow. That would be a backwards move for the Swans.

I reckon Charlie stays at the Blues.
I'm not sure what they'll get for him, his knee(s) are pretty f**ked. I've heard Blues supporters say they want Gulden, i wouldn't think the Swans would want to lose him. Will be interesting to see what happens.

Why on earth would Gulden consider going to that shithole with the way the Swans finished the season. Those Carlton flogs are delirious as well as deluded

I think you're underestimating the power of fans wanting their club to recruit a star player. It's how we got Jeremy Cameron.

The brawl was after a premiership?

Fly and May are different characters but their desire to win mentally would work well.
You’re going to have to be specific, as May has had several brawls with teammates.

He’s a colossal campaigner, pass!