Wade Derksen - requests a trade to Melbourne
Liam Ryan - requests a trade to St Kilda
Leek Aleer - requests a trade to St Kilda
Campbell Chesser - requests a trade to Carlton
Will Brodie - requests a trade to Port Adelaide
Liam Reidy - requests a trade to Carlton
Sam Flanders - has requested a trade/explore options

Only been suggesting we look at Silvagni for three years. A 194cm swingman with 130 games under his belt that apparently the savvy recruiting lords at the Pies want. We are off our heads if we think he can't make us better. A far better proposition for the value than Khamis, McVee (who we already have a better version of in Hardeman) or Budarick

I know I know he once yelled at JHF and said we were shit, fine, but ...was he wrong

At this point I would take Pol Pot lining up at CHF if it meant we could win more than 4 games a season
I’d prefer we recruited Dave McNamara.
A much, much better player than Silvagni. Also, much less likely to get injured as he’s been dead for 57 years or so.

How in the hell is the thought of this even possible? It’s farcical.
They already have pick 6, then I guess it'll depend what Worpel gets paid but they'll have another pick from that. They can also add in their future picks.

Butters is a restricted free agent in 2026 so they wouldn't have to trade anything.

They already have pick 6, then I guess it'll depend what Worpel gets paid but they'll have another pick from that. They can also add in their future picks.

Butters is a restricted free agent in 2026 so they wouldn't have to trade anything.
Hawks would still have to trade for Butters if Port match the offer end of 2026.

Eddie was tracking well in 2023, then plateued last year despite playing 18 games in the 1's. But he's completely fallen off a cliff this year (niggling injuries haven't helped).

Another player we've screwed the development of?
Or he just doesn't have the smarts to play at the highest level?
Eddie, like all Ford's - ain't built to last.

Only been suggesting we look at Silvagni for three years. A 194cm swingman with 130 games under his belt that apparently the savvy recruiting lords at the Pies want. We are off our heads if we think he can't make us better. A far better proposition for the value than Khamis, McVee (who we already have a better version of in Hardeman) or Budarick

I know I know he once yelled at JHF and said we were shit, fine, but ...was he wrong

At this point I would take Pol Pot lining up at CHF if it meant we could win more than 4 games a season
Would Pol Pot be better at CHF or CHB? Seems like a fairly reactionary, destructive fellow. Think he'd make life pretty difficult for the Sam Darcys etc. of the world

Yeah fair enough. I haven't watched him super closely to tell how good his ball use is.
Sounds like he's keen to stay at GC anyway and will get a new deal.
I think it’s because my mate and I used to do disposal ladder bets in Covid to pass time, and he was a ball pig back then. I watched him very closely and I was disgusted every time pulling money out of my Sportsbet account after what I had just witnessed.

Worst post nut clarity ever

Would Pol Pot be better at CHF or CHB? Seems like a fairly reactionary, destructive fellow. Think he'd make life pretty difficult for the Sam Darcys etc. of the world
Quietly spoken chap, but seems to always be getting into causing trouble behind the play.

As much as he'd motivate the playing group to become intolerant of failure, we've been on this rebuild for so long, I'm not sure I'm ready to go back to Year Zero.

Quietly spoken chap, but seems to always be getting into causing trouble behind the play.

As much as he'd motivate the playing group to become intolerant of failure, we've been on this rebuild for so long, I'm not sure I'm ready to go back to Year Zero.
According to Todd Viney this is already year zero.

He seems more like a buzzing small pressure forward who goes around sniping the opposition. Reckon he'd be umpired out of the game though. Has a bad reputation allegedly..

Realistically I don't think Silvagni will come to North. The Collingwood interest is there because Dan Houston is his best mate.

Doesn't bother me as I really don't rate him, he is made to look a lot better than he is because Weitering is one of the best defenders in the comp. Exactly the same as Gardiner/Payne at Brisbane with Andrews making them look better than what they actually are.

I'd be happy if we backed in our existing KD's and went after a mid sized lock down type (Starcevich) to provide them more support. I'd also make a commitment to play Whitlock and Dawson down back as that's where I believe they are most suited. Move FOS up the ground.

Next year go with:

B: Hardeman, W.Dawson, Archer
HB: Whitlock, Comben, Starcevich

Bench: McDonald.

HB Depth: Goater, Daniel, C.Harvey?

KD Depth: Pink, Logue, Corr, Trembath?

Next year go with:

B: Hardeman, W.Dawson, Archer
HB: Whitlock, Comben, Starcevich

Bench: McDonald.

HB Depth: Goater, Daniel, C.Harvey?

KD Depth: Pink, Logue, Corr, Trembath?
If we did acquire Starcevich, this setup would be much more likely in H2 than from day dot IMO. The coaching panel have, rightly or wrongly, backed the veterans in when fit. They also seem to clearly want Daniel in the side as a distributor, and I can't see that changing at the start of 2026. There's little harm in Whitlock and Dawson getting another 10 games of VFL experience and continuing to play Pink and Logue/Corr early on, then bringing them into what is hopefully a better overall system.

Hardeman is the only one in that starting setup that I'd trust with kicking btw, and if he's kicking out who do you want him kicking to?

If we did acquire Starcevich, this setup would be much more likely in H2 than from day dot IMO. The coaching panel have, rightly or wrongly, backed the veterans in when fit. They also seem to clearly want Daniel in the side as a distributor, and I can't see that changing at the start of 2026. There's little harm in Whitlock and Dawson getting another 10 games of VFL experience and continuing to play Pink and Logue/Corr early on, then bringing them into what is hopefully a better overall system.

Hardeman is the only one in that starting setup that I'd trust with kicking btw, and if he's kicking out who do you want him kicking to?
Duursma.

From Fox Footy

THREE-CLUB RACE FOR LION

North Melbourne is believed to be one of multiple clubs “circling” free agent Brisbane defender Brandon Starcevich, who continues to weigh his playing future.

The Kangaroos, understandably in search of defensive reinforcement amid another campaign in which they’ve struggled stemming opposition attacks, join Essendon — which reportedly has “strong” interest — and West Coast, with Starcevich hailing from Western Australia.

“He’s been assessing his options after returning to Brisbane’s side in recent weeks ... the Lions would like to retain him; they’ve tabled a deal for him to stay, but he has interest from clubs around the country,” said journalist Riley Beveridge on AFL Media’s Gettable.

“Notably in Victoria, Essendon has strong interest, as does North Melbourne; another club that has circled Brandon Starcevich... West Coast also has some interest in Starcevich.”

The 26-year-old has had his struggles with concussion but is back in Brisbane’s side — having played in its past seven games — as it shapes another tilt at a premiership.

Starcevich remains an integral cog in the Lions’ back half alongside Harris Andrews and Darcy Gardiner, with Jack Payne struck down for the year and former Crow Tom Doedee still yet to make his club debut.

Sadly, it is clear the type of player we will attract is 30+ and moving for more dollars and extra time ahead of retirement. We are the chance for fading players to earn well.
We've allowed that to occur over the years due to rewarding under-performing senior players with games week-after-week despite their at times dreadful performance. Whilst at the same time holding younger talent to what appears to be a higher standard, and refusing to reward their performance, except with a single game here and their that seems them dropped straight back to the 2nd's.

Our culture is shit, the clubs treatment of members is crap, and seem to be following that Simpsons episode that said the best way to get out of a hole is to keep digging.