Preview 2026 MSD Draft Prospects

we might want to hurry up with that

the msd is in 8 days next tuesday night
I dont think they would submit anything until as late as possible in case another injury crops up and they don't need to place Thredgold on the LTI

Nothing wrong with taking 2 msd picks especially 6 month contract players

Can't see Thredgold playing meaningful footy in 2026, poor kid, but they can manage him through high level of local footy whilst getting his body bulletproof for pre-season. For MSD if we open up a spot isn't Bammert injured or is that to keep him out of the public eye? I like Voss from Frankston as a hard body ready to go, Sharkie from the Tigers as a hard runner who mate at club staff told me did 15ks in a game recently or even revert back to look at McGuane but Port didn't take him after SSV so?

MSD:

Pick 1 (Richmond) - Jaxon Artemis
Pick 2 (Essendon) - Ollie Griffin
*Carlton not opening a list spot
Pick 3 (West Coast) - Marcus Herbert
Pick 4 (Port) - Alex Van Wyk
Pick 5 (GWS) - ???
Pick 6 (North) - Xavier Bamert
Reckon GWS go a ruck - Mirkov mentioned today by Twomey.

I like Bamert but surely with how things are looking we have a crack at getting Barnett in. Essentially like for like for Thredgold.

Reckon GWS go a ruck - Mirkov mentioned today by Twomey.

I like Bamert but surely with how things are looking we have a crack at getting Barnett in. Essentially like for like for Thredgold.

I like Bamert too, but a half forward type isn't exactly what we need.

Would prefer we go one of the half backs in Voss or Montgomery, or Barnett as you've suggested.

The defense is the biggest issue on our list, about time we prioritised it.

Would prefer we go one of the half backs in Voss or Montgomery, or Barnett as you've suggested.

Agree Defense is our priority. I like Bamert and he's a good athlete/runner so likely could adapt to fill a number of roles if they love his character but more inclined to get a specialized player to tailor to our immediate needs.

I'm fine with Bamert if we go that way. Whilst not exactly a positional need, he's a good athlete, strong runner, tough, competitive and you could give him just about any role and I think he'd try and do that job for the team.
I guess we can't rule out Becker either with him nominating. We can always rookie someone at year end.

Haven't really seen Bamert play but from the comments in here about his attributes it reads like he could be used as a defensive midfielder, which is definitely a positional need. roos_fanatic08 chubbspeterson what are your thoughts on him in that role?

We’ve been playing him in the VFL mainly as a half forward, but he played as a mid and a defender in juniors.

Got the right attributes to be a big bodied defensive mid. Has endurance, size, physicality and that natural competitiveness. Excellent tackling technique too.

We’ve been playing him in the VFL mainly as a half forward, but he played as a mid and a defender in juniors.

Got the right attributes to be a big bodied defensive mid. Has endurance, size, physicality and that natural competitiveness. Excellent tackling technique too.
That does sound like a good option for us as our lack of defensive pressure through the midfield is still a big issue. Our backline has big issues across the board too, but I guess it's about the right player being available at our pick (assuming we have one).

Clarkson: half-forward it is

Haven't really seen Bamert play but from the comments in here about his attributes it reads like he could be used as a defensive midfielder, which is definitely a positional need. roos_fanatic08 chubbspeterson what are your thoughts on him in that role?
He played as a defensive mid for Vic Metro, allowed Jagga and others to be more offensive.
I reckon he'd take on any role you gave him for the team and he'd do his best to execute it.

A defensive mid is definitely an immediate priority, but probably not as much as the back seven.

That does sound like a good option for us as our lack of defensive pressure through the midfield is still a big issue. Our backline has big issues across the board too, but I guess it's about the right player being available at our pick (assuming we have one).

He played as a defensive mid for Vic Metro, allowed Jagga and others to be more offensive.
I reckon he'd take on any role you gave him for the team and he'd do his best to execute it.
FWIW, Bamert's stats:
IMG_4424.webp

The Sandy game involved him on the wing as well as the HF role he usually plays. The other games were mostly at HF.

Draft Profile: https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/xavier-bamert/

^2.15-2.26 (Strength) and 4.05-4.15 (Marking/Athleticism)