Training 2026 Training Reports

Seeing as we are talking rubbish about our best recruit since Pav let me just say, being a real football fan, Give me a real footballer ovef an athlete every day of the week. Every day of the month. Every day of the year, over an athlete.
REal footballers have football nous and ability. Athletes have to learn how to play.
Such stupidity to be taking the p!$$ out of our prized recruit.

Seeing as we are talking rubbish about our best recruit since Pav let me just say, being a real football fan, Give me a real footballer ovef an athlete every day of the week. Every day of the month. Every day of the year, over an athlete.
REal footballers have football nous and ability. Athletes have to learn how to play.
Such stupidity to be taking the p!$$ out of our prized recruit.

Better than Fyfe?

This thread is our very own version of Days Of Our Lives. What offseason drama will tomorrow bring? We're probably due an outlandish statement from Hagdorn or Gossage to unite us for a moment.

I don’t think anyone is saying he’s the perfect athlete, but to say he’s unathletic is crazy. Do you know what that word means?

There’s a middle ground here about his SAQs that’s sitting in your blind spot I think, mate.
Hey Cappy...
I am saying hes perfect!
As in...I dont wish he was "better" in any way!
WTF is perfect anyway?

I think only one person has actually said Reid is not particularly athletically gifted.
That he is not fast. And thats not true.

He was measured in the top 2 or 3 fastest top speed on the ground in several games.
Yes, he definitely has a turn of speed. Think of the running goal against the bulldogs in the final round.

Calling any professional athlete unathletic seems a huge stretch for an AFL player who trains for 4 months before the season even starts. This is just to be ready after only 4-8 week break in training.
there's a rly good internet trend where people film asking their professional athlete partner/family member if they ever wish they were athletic. Fev's daughter did it to him. makes me laugh every time.

Wouldn’t call Matt Priddis athletic but he won a Brownlow. Same goes for Sam Mitchell, James Hird etc etc…
I’ve said this heaps of times before.
You can’t teach what Murphy Reid has. It’s the same as those blokes, and because of the nature of sport a brain that is already wired to understand it will almost always win out vs an athletic beast. It’s only when you get and athletic specimen merged with the brain that you get a generational talent.
Give me the footy brain over the athletic specimen any day.
Matt Priddis won Fyfe’s Brownlow.

Can I request a Scerri watch from our Training Observers? I'm beginning to fear the majority don't actually know what he looks like, hence his absence from training reports.

He's a 177cm high half forward white dude with a relatively prominent nose, slightly curly hair on top, and plays like Switkowski.

He's very quick, very high pressure, and big on repeat efforts. An impact/pressure/goal assist player. He sounds like a shoe-in for the final list spot. Cheers.

Attachments

• chris scerri.jpg
    chris scerri.jpg
    73.1 KB · Views: 19

He's very quick, very high pressure, and big on repeat efforts. An impact/pressure/goal assist player. He sounds like a shoe-in for the final list spot. Cheers.
Normally I would agree, except we just drafted Sweid, Murray and Kickett, plus Dudley sounds like he’s put the work in so far this off season, he’d need to have a significant POD to these 4 to be pushing for a spot.

Is it just me or is there less pre season content than usual.

Stuff all this year. Hopefully, a good thing. Sucks for us though.
I went training yesterday at Fremantle oval. There was no point in doing a report as it was almost exactly like the week before. They used medicine balls and it was possibly a bit more aerobic than last week.
Bloody hard work in the heat.
Only really interesting thing was Kickett trained with the main group, last week he was with first year group doing ball work. Not surprisingly he struggled towards the end , but he guts it out.
I struggled with the and left early .

I went training yesterday at Fremantle oval. There was no point in doing a report as it was almost exactly like the week before. They used medicine balls and it was possibly a bit more aerobic than last week.
Only really interesting thing was Kickett trained with the main group, last week he was with first year group doing ball work. Not surprisingly he struggled towards the end , but he guts it out.
Now I have mental pictures of the team doing kick to loc with a medicine ball. Good way to build up kicking power? 😆

Would be keen on your thoughts on Kickett as i hope I'm not overating him. I just can't see how he went rookie with such a great skill set and willing to tackle.

Can I request a Scerri watch from our Training Observers? I'm beginning to fear the majority don't actually know what he looks like, hence his absence from training reports.

He's a 177cm high half forward white dude with a relatively prominent nose, slightly curly hair on top, and plays like Switkowski.

He's packing the guns!! Sign him up, right now....