• Ryan Maric (6/9/04)
• Clay Hall (12/5/05)
• Harvey Johnston (18/8/05)
• Jake Miles-Wrency (??/??/05)
• Jacob Newton (20/3/06)
• Malakai Champion (17/5/06)
• Fred Rodriguez (10/7/07)

Have you been to, read up on, or even taken note of the general consensus re pre season? Bo has impressed. Did you watch either of the practice matches? He was pretty solid.

The chances that he is missing tomorrow because he’s not good enough or hasn’t earnt it are slim to none. I would put my entire life savings on it being that, as other people have suggested, they are giving some non b23 players their crack at competitive AFL level footy before the season starts to gauge where they’re at.
I will have some of that. Sounds like you are a boy so it won't be to much, you sound like Trump " other people say " they say he is the best , **** me he has done nothing to suggest he is the b23. I went to a few training sessions and the only noticeable thing he did was coat hanger Elijah Hewett. So how much big fella. Just a tip dont get chat gpt to do your posts, because you end up with words like consensus,
when there is none on Bigfooty. I watched the games, if he was going ok he would have played against PA.

I will have some of that. Sounds like you are a boy so it won't be to much, you sound like Trump " other people say " they say he is the best , **** me he has done nothing to suggest he is the b23. I went to a few training sessions and the only noticeable thing he did was coat hanger Elijah Hewett. So how much big fella. Just a tip dont get chat gpt to do your posts, because you end up with words like consensus,
when there is none on Bigfooty. I watched the games, if he was going ok he would have played against PA.
Regularly has had good reports in the training thread, played alright in both the intra club and the Freo hit out, not the only person to be rested against Port.

He probably hasn’t cemented his place in the best 23 because he’s now behind a number 1 pick who has been compared to Bont and would’ve topped the 2024 class as well, and on the other side he has Hamish Davis who is an endurance animal and by all reports was a top 3 trainer this pre season.

What part of my post read like chatGPT??? Because I used consensus? Of which there was pre-PA. We had people listing him b23 ahead of Hammer. Most people with half brain were being reasonable given the fella lost 8kg through illness and got ****ed around as the sub last season. Played 4 full games and wasn’t a plodder in the WAFL either.

Just get a ****ing grip mate, let the kid get a run at it my god

AFL players generally don’t indicate their preference to leave a club during the season and will openly lie when denying they intend to do so

Oscar Allen and Charlie Curnow are just two examples from last year

Brisbane are going to be trying to juggle midfield time for all of McLuggage, Berry, the Ashcroft’s, Fletcher, Dunkley, Marshall and Annable plus Rayner and Bailey pinch hitting through there

As good as Neale is, at 33 going into 2027 he’s arguably surplus to requirements for Brisbane who are going to need salary cap space to match the FA offers that are coming for Bailey
I think in this case, it is a little different. As Fagan, came out ages ago and said the club would be open to him leaving at the end of the year. So it's out there and pretty much expected in this case.

Anybody convinced we don't need Neale for 1 or 2 years, 1 as player and then development coach.
He is still top 10 player in the AFL and would bring his elite skills/training/preparation/footy IQ to our young core.
These are all the qualities we need in an on field leadership role and off field mentorship to help these young players develop more quickly.

Pay him his $800k+ a year and we will look back in 5 years time and say this was a great move.
L Neale will be playing in WA next year, 80% more likely than staying at BRI.
They do the 3 peat and will be easy to facilitate.
Yeah i think the weekend should have put to bed any of the Neale knockers. Would be a great get for us. We still need so much help.

AFL players generally don’t indicate their preference to leave a club during the season and will openly lie when denying they intend to do so

Oscar Allen and Charlie Curnow are just two examples from last year

Brisbane are going to be trying to juggle midfield time for all of McLuggage, Berry, the Ashcroft’s, Fletcher, Dunkley, Marshall and Annable plus Rayner and Bailey pinch hitting through there

As good as Neale is, at 33 going into 2027 he’s arguably surplus to requirements for Brisbane who are going to need salary cap space to match the FA offers that are coming for Bailey

I think in this case, it is a little different. As Fagan, came out ages ago and said the club would be open to him leaving at the end of the year. So it's out there and pretty much expected in this case.

Just my preference but I would rather we pass on Neale, because I would much prefer we save the coin that we would need to offer to him, be put towards ensuring that we entice Chad Warner to join us.

Lachie Neale will be 33 this year.
Chad Warner will be 25 this year.

Sure Neale would be useful but he would be an immediate sugar fix, however he wont contribute in our next finals push.

Conversely Chad Warner would be a key part of our next period of contention.

Purely a pragmatic decision for me and keeping the character and moral aspects of the situation out of it.

Just my preference but I would rather we pass on Neale, because I would much prefer we save the coin that we would need to offer to him, be put towards ensuring that we entice Chad Warner to join us.

Sure Neale would be useful but he would be an immediate sugar fix, however he wont contribute in our next finals push.

Purely a pragmatic decision for me and keeping the character and moral aspects of the situation out of it.
I agree with your on Chad Warner but he wil also not be jioning before end 2027 when his contract expires.
I think we have the $$ and the desire to get Warner easily.

Neale situation is different IMO.
He is a 1 year player because he has that left in him and then transition into developement role or something similer.
If Neale has 2 years left in him as a player, that's a bonus.

We are so deficient of leaders in our club and even 1 year as a player and on field and off field leader would be hugely beneficial.
I look at the Luke Hodge 2 years at BRI as an example in 18-19 after they had spent 5 years in the bottom 4 drafting and trading in players that have built their next premiership team and what they needed at the time was his leadership.

So many similarities to WC except we have a poorer list over this period, but 2023-25 draft and trade has started to correct that if only slightly.
If we can push out 4-5 wins this year and keep developing the kids as fast as possible while protecting them with the mature bodies we have brought I think the Neale trade for 1 year playing if we have Warner on the hook for 2027 is a wise investment.

Warner if he comes will join as a free agent in 2028.

Neale would be here for 2027, you'd frontload that first year, and a conditional second year (2028) at a lower salary.

Neale shouldn't be a hindrance at all for getting Warner.

And if we miss on Warner? He might sign on at the Swans or pick Freo.

There is a chance we get both and for only cap space. Huge win

Imo that should be the target

Warner if he comes will join as a free agent in 2028.

Neale would be here for 2027, you'd frontload that first year, and a conditional second year (2028) at a lower salary.

Neale shouldn't be a hindrance at all for getting Warner.

No guarantee Warner gets here as a FA.

Suggest the Swans match and force a trade.

Doesn't affect salaries or the cap which I think is the main discussion here.

Re Neale (and I may have posted this before) but:

1) I don’t think Neale and Yeo can coexist in the same team. It’s one spot too many being taken by a 33 year old midfielder. It slows an already somewhat pedestrian midfield and takes game time away from the youngsters we need to be developing. So we’d need to pay Yeo out or him retire which might eventuate if he struggles through 2026 battling form/injury
2) A one, maybe two, year stint doesn’t have much impact unless it’s tied to a move into an assistant coaching position once his playing career ends

I don’t think either Brisbane or Fremantle are going to be in a position to offer him significant money so I doubt we’d have much of an issue exceeding their respective offers whilst remaining under the salary cap. So bringing in Neale would have minimal, if any, impact on our chances of securing Warner as a FA

And that's the real bullshit of fa isn't it - not only are lower teams less likely to convince a free agent to come, if they do manage they're much more likely to have to pay a trade price rather than having the afl foot the bill.

We should be able to structure a front ended contract such that Swans are unable to match. They will be committed to a lot more salary (excluding Warner) than we are. If we haven't lined up our salaries to do so given the lead in time, then what are we even doing at this stage.

My trade targets for 2026 are:
L Neale/BRI/no explanation needed. No cost except salary.

J Sweet/PA/28/L McAndrew/ADE/26, 1 of these rucks are better than Flynn/BW/Barnett and if we land 1 keep Flynn for depth and sell/delist others. 2nd round pick probably fair value. We need a competent 1st ruck for 3 years while others develop. A Reid/CDT. We need to make a decision in 2026 on whether we draft another very good ruck prospect in BVR or sell high picks for A Walsh 2027 and convince him to stay out of Tassie.

J Rogers/GC/21/HF elite speed, skills, pressure. Fills the role of high pressure forward we desperately need. 2nd round pick fair value.

Z Zakostelsky/BRI/21/KPD with elite athletic traits and great leap. Went on the BRI board in peace and apparently he has had an interrupted 1st year with injury and came on as a player in 2025 playing a combination of KPD & Ruck. Opinion was he was excellent in the ruck and is still developing as a KPD. Give him 2 years as a KPD and he will replace most of our KPD's IMO. 3rd round pick.

J Walter/GC/21/KPF. Elite aerobic player, elite speed. Still needs to establish himself as a KPF more in 2025 to be our interest. WC need another KPF soon to replace Waterman in 2028/29. Shanahan is elite lock him in. A Reid is not a KPF he is a Ruck/Fwd or a KPD IMO.

Our draft hand should be solely focused on the best midfielder in the draft in the open pool and maybe another quality prospect in and around the end of 1st round like Heath Melody.
Take G Kenh, H Banfield and the best SF from our NGA's.

My trade targets for 2026 are:
L Neale/BRI/no explanation needed. No cost except salary. Agreed

J Sweet/PA/28/L McAndrew/ADE/26, 1 of these rucks are better than Flynn/BW/Barnett and if we land 1 keep Flynn for depth and sell/delist others. 2nd round pick probably fair value. We need a competent 1st ruck for 3 years while others develop. A Reid/CDT. We need to make a decision in 2026 on whether we draft another very good ruck prospect in BVR or sell high picks for A Walsh 2027 and convince him to stay out of Tassie. (McAndrew is contracted to end of 2027. He's not leaving Crows at end of season, he'll be their clear number 1 ruck. Jordan Sweet may be available if Visenti takes the number 1 ruck mantle. But i thought he had no interest in WA?) - Agree though that for the right price, a competent ruck would be nice.

J Rogers/GC/21/HF elite speed, skills, pressure. Fills the role of high pressure forward we desperately need. 2nd round pick fair value. Would be nice, though think he's going to play for GC. Wil he want out?

Z Zakostelsky/BRI/21/KPD with elite athletic traits and great leap. Went on the BRI board in peace and apparently he has had an interrupted 1st year with injury and came on as a player in 2025 playing a combination of KPD & Ruck. Opinion was he was excellent in the ruck and is still developing as a KPD. Give him 2 years as a KPD and he will replace most of our KPD's IMO. 3rd round pick. Looked good on the weekend. IF we can shake him out for not much i'd be ok

J Walter/GC/21/KPF. Elite aerobic player, elite speed. Still needs to establish himself as a KPF more in 2025 to be our interest. WC need another KPF soon to replace Waterman in 2028/29. Shanahan is elite lock him in. A Reid is not a KPF he is a Ruck/Fwd or a KPD IMO. - this is all about cost. Want him to show more to see that he's going to make it. If he does his price goes up. Ideally he shows a bit, but King signs back up, and JUH gets his shit together and they don't need him/he can't break into the team longterm

Our draft hand should be solely focused on the best midfielder in the draft in the open pool and maybe another quality prospect in and around the end of 1st round like Heath Melody.
Take G Kenh, H Banfield and the best SF from our NGA's.
Also for shits and giggles we should be prepared to make a big $ bid for Zac Butters.

Interesting, basically picking footy over your kids.
Would you actually be shocked if someone who'd cheated on his wife with her best friend then also decided that footy was more important than his kids?

Not even close to surprised. It's clear that Neale is an utter shit bloke.

Pfft it's just a bit of 'oh yeah gee I am committed to the Lions long term!' before the season starts.

Still a lot of water under the bridge before he works out what he is doing.

He has 1 maybe 2 seasons left in him - chances are he pulls the pin if he has a rough run this year.

Brisbane also, learning from the mistakes of those who have come before them (ie. us) should be looking to move on from him as a key player anyway.

For the record - I would have had him for the upcoming season with the potential of getting 2 years out of him but for a 1 season circus of his family life all over the news etc, yuck, not worth it.

Pfft it's just a bit of 'oh yeah gee I am committed to the Lions long term!' before the season starts.

Still a lot of water under the bridge before he works out what he is doing.

He has 1 maybe 2 seasons left in him - chances are he pulls the pin if he has a rough run this year.

Brisbane also, learning from the mistakes of those who have come before them (ie. us) should be looking to move on from him as a key player anyway.

For the record - I would have had him for the upcoming season with the potential of getting 2 years out of him but for a 1 season circus of his family life all over the news etc, yuck, not worth it.
Unless I am missing something in L Neale's history, actions, leadership I can't see how a breakup with his missus is ground breaking.
Not ideal in a leader but it happens all the time and I don't think it makes him a bad person or bad leader.

If he is busting to get back to see his kids then we should absolutely be committing to him short term.
Media making more out of this than is a standard bust up IMO.
They haven't had anything to write about all summer!!