Training 2026 Training Reports

Bruce is not athletic he’s slow and can’t jump so you are proving my point.
He fell to 17 because of that his IQ an skills with ball is what makes him as good as he is

I don’t know what cox has to do with my point that I prefer high IQ players over athletes so I feel like you’ve just missed my point fully
Bruce isn't slow... To say he isn't athletic is also inaccurate.

Go rewatch the doggies game where he burns off defenders and kicks a goal. He also has a beautiful step, can fend off, lays a lovely tackle and has hands so fast they make chuck Norris cry.

Geelong have big, stron

Bruce isn't slow... To say he isn't athletic is also inaccurate.

Go rewatch the doggies game where he burns off defenders and kicks a goal. He also has a beautiful step, can fend off, lays a lovely tackle and has hands so fast they make chuck Norris cry.
Bruce is slow in terms of afl players he wouldn’t be in the top 200 players for speed
And wouldn’t be in the top 300 players for vertical

He is unathletic but his smarts and skills make him an elite footballer. You don’t need to suck hole and act like he’s the perfect athlete

Murphy Reid ranked in the fastest players last year, it was the perception of his take off speed that had people call him slow - it is something that would be more of a problem in the midfield where the players are starting stationary than it does with him on the move at half forward.

He can work on that just like Chad Warner did, who had the same issue.

That 0-5m time compared to the 0-50m time. You'd pick the guy who gets to 5m faster than the guy who gets to 50m with a 10m lead on the 0-5m guy.

Stephen Hill used to reach top speed by the time his third step was hitting the grass. That's a special talent. Oh I miss Stephen.

Murphy Reid ranked in the fastest players last year, it was the perception of his take off speed that had people call him slow - it is something that would be more of a problem in the midfield where the players are starting stationary than it does with him on the move at half forward.

He can work on that just like Chad Warner did, who had the same issue.

That 0-5m time compared to the 0-50m time. You'd pick the guy who gets to 5m faster than the guy who gets to 50m with a 10m lead on the 0-5m guy.

Stephen Hill used to reach top speed by the time his third step was hitting the grass. That's a special talent. Oh I miss Stephen.
True. The first 5 metres is vital.
I watched a big fella, one who had health problems and trhough no fault of his own, play in the Goldfields competition.
He was not overlt tall, but he was quicker in the first five yard/metre burst as any player.Made a great FF. ON the lead he could not be stopped. Stepped in his way, AOK you went.When he hit , you stayed hit.
First five is important.

Bruce is slow in terms of afl players he wouldn’t be in the top 200 players for speed

He is unathletic but his smarts and skills make him an elite footballer. You don’t need to suck hole and act like he’s the perfect athlete
I wish you were as right as you are passionate.

Murphy Reid is perfect. Hes the perfect blend of athletic prowess coupled with Einstein footy IQ.

perfection GIF

I don’t think anyone is saying he’s the perfect athlete, but to say he’s unathletic is crazy. Do you know what that word means?

There’s a middle ground here about his SAQs that’s sitting in your blind spot I think, mate.

Calling any professional athlete unathletic seems a huge stretch for an AFL player who trains for 4 months before the season even starts. This is just to be ready after only 4-8 week break in training.

I’m sayin unathletic in terms of an afl player. I’d call pendles and Will Ashcroft unathletic but they are super stars.

Everyone is open to criticism. But any old mate armchair expert thinking they know better than our list management team is laughable. To use your example its akin to me thinking I know more about cooking than the Michelin star chef, more about filmmaking than the Hollywood director.
How dare you critique Big Footy list management content providers.

I'm the only one with the credentials to make such assessments.

If you don't respect my authority then this site will break down into groups of like minded individuals sharing their own opinions on matters involving the Fremantle Football Club and none of us want that!

I’m sayin unathletic in terms of an afl player. I’d call pendles and Will Ashcroft unathletic but they are super stars.

You're not making a great case for unathletic players. Will Ashcroft is an absolute specimen...
I'm unathletic ! Why am I not considered an absolute specimen...?

New Year Running GIF by FX Networks

Wouldn’t call Matt Priddis athletic but he won a Brownlow. Same goes for Sam Mitchell, James Hird etc etc…
I’ve said this heaps of times before.
You can’t teach what Murphy Reid has. It’s the same as those blokes, and because of the nature of sport a brain that is already wired to understand it will almost always win out vs an athletic beast. It’s only when you get and athletic specimen merged with the brain that you get a generational talent.
Give me the footy brain over the athletic specimen any day.

Wouldn’t call Matt Priddis athletic but he won a Brownlow. Same goes for Sam Mitchell, James Hird etc etc…
I’ve said this heaps of times before.
You can’t teach what Murphy Reid has. It’s the same as those blokes, and because of the nature of sport a brain that is already wired to understand it will almost always win out vs an athletic beast. It’s only when you get and athletic specimen merged with the brain that you get a generational talent.
Give me the footy brain over the athletic specimen any day.
100% agree give me smarts over athleticism all day every day

Skewed?
Generally if you have more (and more accurate) information you are in a position to have "better" perspectives.
I try to strive for more information than less.
However...
If I am determined to present my preconceptions and prejudices as valuable and worthy contributions to the discourse...
factual data often just gets in the way.
Thats my opinion anyway.
That assumes there is only one perspective and misses the point entirely.

No wonder you've taken offence.

If you genuinely think you can watch some games (from the stands or tv), read a bunch of articles, shoot the shit on social media with other fans, and then from that are in any way qualified to have a better perspective or understanding of our long term list management needs than our actual list management team then youre exactly the sort of person I was trying to mock with my original comment

The list management team that has arguably built the best list in the comp without any of the advantages handed to some of our rivals by the way.
I'm about as far from offended as can be. What does making assumptions do again?