20th AFL Team

Which location will be the home of the 20th AFL team?

Divisions are NEVER going to happen. Conferences maybe,just maybe.

There are two West Australian teams that aren't going too flash either a.t.m.
That's why the AFL has equalisation measures to make things interesting.
The level of equalisation is always open to debate.

All very strong clubs.

I ask again - why ?
Why? To keep the number of the teams in the AFL at 18. I think a 20 team AFL Comp becomes too big and complex and could cause the season to commence in late February and end in mid-October which is just far too long.

20 AFL teams may require serious consideration for 2 divisions of 10 teams each and promotion and relegation after each season. There are at least 5 VIC teams that currently seem to be in a state of permanent mediocrity - North Melb/St Kilda/Melb/Essendon/Carlton - so is it time to merge 2 of them?
No. 20 teams is fine for single tier, but 21 may require consideration.

12 teams in the top division playing twice, 9 in division two then eventually 10 teams.

Or conferences of 5,5,5 and 6, then eventually two conferences of 5 and two of 6.

The maximum you could have single tier is 24 teams playing each other once but you’d need to expand to a top 10 or 12 finals system imo.

Why? To keep the number of the teams in the AFL at 18.

What's magical about the number "18" ?
Why is the AFL expanding past 18 teams and not worrying ?

I think a 20 team AFL Comp becomes too big

It is a big number and far from optimum but the NFL has 32 teams !

and complex

No - the opposite. With 22 teams each team would play each other only once.
and could cause the season to commence in late February and end in mid-October

Why ?
which is just far too long.

Nah.

On the Canberra colours, I wouldn't mind this combination below, if not a green/ black/ white which would be distinct in that AFL.

View attachment 2281762
Don't mind that.

I could see a light blue and yellow mixed with something else. But I would think that if a Canberra team joined, they would also try and 'own' a colour as part of their branding to differentiate themselves from others. It's what all the recent expansion teams have done.
Gws (orange)
Gc (red... got there eventually)
Freo (purple)
Port (teal)

Tassie is going to be the green team, so if Canberra is the 20th team, I don't think they will do a shade of green as well, because that would seem like theyre copying the team that just came in.

On the Canberra colours, I wouldn't mind this combination below, if not a green/ black/ white which would be distinct in that AFL.

View attachment 2281762
One thing which might work in regards to doing something similar to your example would be to have a colour scheme like this, where you own the colour light blue, then also have a gold/tan colour. Easy home and away switch up, similar to state colours, unique (you own the branding colours), and you aren't cutting west coasts lunch.

Attachments

• uclll.webp
    100.1 KB · Views: 11
Why? To keep the number of the teams in the AFL at 18.

What for? No mergers or expulsions are necessary.

Why not 22 teams with a 21 round home and away season? Each team plays each other once. Home and away status between any two teams to rotate every two years. No conferences or divisions needed.

Three new teams after Tasmania could come from any of the following

Canberra
Darwin
New Zealand
Third SE Qld team
Third WA team
I think a 20 team AFL Comp becomes too big and complex and could cause the season to commence in late February and end in mid-October which is just far too long.
See above.

I read a comment which was similar to the idea I had in mind with relegation and promotion:

• AFL, 12 clubs playing each other twice
  • WAFL
  • SANFL
  • VFL (with Tasmania, New Zealand)
  • NEAFL (NSW, QLD, ACT, NT)

Bottom 2 AFL clubs relegated to whatever region they’re from.

The Premiers of the state leagues play off for 2 promotion spots.

Salary cap, draft, funding and talent would all be issues, though.

But if the funding model favoured the second tier clubs, they might be able to attract good players who can’t play in the AFL and have better resources to develop them.

With just 12 clubs in the top league, the talent gap between the national and state leagues could lessen, but probably nowhere near enough to make it viable.

A pity they couldn’t have gotten something like that going back in the 80s.

Edit: I mean given the TV rights they’d probably max at 20 but again it is very hard to see promotion and relegation happening. The talent gap does seem too big between national and state comps.

What colours do you think would work well with a Canberra team?

Northern team most likely uses ochre colour I reckon. Plus predominantly white home kit would give them the edge in hot climate.

For Canberra it's a bit more broad because west coast already wears blue and yellow, so you'd have to go something completely new. Light blue, gold, Light green, pink? Any thoughts?

I think I'd like to see green and blue. A bit in line with Canberra United and the Raiders, but more blue. The green would be lighter than Tasmania. Something like the below.

Brz6PDZ.jpeg

Otherwise a tri-colour blue, green and yellow. Like Woodville West-Torrens in the SANFL. The territory colours, plus the green for the bush capital.

I reckon Gold Coast will lean into the pink and grey, but that would've been great for Canberra. Would've worked for the Canberra Cockatoos (same colour as galahs, which are technically cockatoos)

Like Woodville West-Torrens in the SANFL. The territory colours, plus the green for the bush capital.

The merger of West Torrens AFC, blue with golden eagle with Woodville AFC , green and gold produced a nice jumper.

IF you look at single colours there isn't much left - green, gold, brown. marroon (Subiaco)
You cannot look at light colours - white, blue, green, yellow & pink as they are usually reserved for clash colours.
If you form a matrix then there's double blues (Sturt), double green, green with most colours & white.
Tricolours present opportunities for good colour combinations and also being unique.
You could go high-tech with "metallic" colours but I wouldn't.

I think I'd like to see green and blue. A bit in line with Canberra United and the Raiders, but more blue. The green would be lighter than Tasmania. Something like the below.

View attachment 2283221

Otherwise a tri-colour blue, green and yellow. Like Woodville West-Torrens in the SANFL. The territory colours, plus the green for the bush capital.

I reckon Gold Coast will lean into the pink and grey, but that would've been great for Canberra. Would've worked for the Canberra Cockatoos (same colour as galahs, which are technically cockatoos)

I don't mind the idea of blue, green and yellow, it's kinda reflective of the national colours for the national capital.

In the photo you posted I actually like the green of the guy on the right with his shirt rolled up, it bounces off the blue nicely. The green you suggest will result in the usual sooking from the rugby league fans of copying, even the giants got that with claims they copied the west tigers.

Anyhow those 3 colours I mentioned give a good number of options for a variety of jumpers too. You could have the base colour as any of the 3.

I don't mind the idea of blue, green and yellow, it's kinda reflective of the national colours for the national capital.

Well it is the new national colours.
On a side note I have to look at all the "national" colour variations- green & gold, dark green & gold, gold & green, orange & green and then a progression of lollypop colours, yellow and light green,two tone green, greens & white etc etc.
The only sporting teams with good Australian colours are Brazilian.

In the photo you posted I actually like the green of the guy on the right with his shirt rolled up, it bounces off the blue nicely. The green you suggest will result in the usual sooking from the rugby league fans of copying, even the giants got that with claims they copied the west tigers.

Anyhow those 3 colours I mentioned give a good number of options for a variety of jumpers too. You could have the base colour as any of the 3.

Personally I don't mind the similarity with the Raiders. The lighter green has kind of become Canberra's default colour (when we can't get blue and yellow). Kind of like with any Brisbane team wearing maroon. I'm more cautious of the green veering away from Tassie's green.

But definitely no qualms with three colours.

Might be pedantic, but I think my biggest hope is they veer away from warm colours. All the northern teams have more or less a variation of red. Just don't want any more red/orange north of the Murray.

Personally I don't mind the similarity with the Raiders.

Personally i think the Raider's efforts are lame. My old school played in a plain darker green and it was boring.
It doesn't have to be so.
Take simple stripes of two tone green. Put in a thin light border colour..

View attachment 2283221

I see where you're coming from but honestly I think there's almost 0 chance Canberra comes in after Tasmania also wearing green.

It would be a shocking look from a branding perspective.

Maybe if Canberra wasn't the 20th team and someone else came in between to give Canberra some clean air then it might be possible, but unlikely.

I see where you're coming from but honestly I think there's almost 0 chance Canberra comes in after Tasmania also wearing green.

It would be a shocking look from a branding perspective.

Maybe if Canberra wasn't the 20th team and someone else came in between to give Canberra some clean air then it might be possible, but unlikely.
Could definitely see them rocking a Seattle Seahawks or Minnesota Timberwolves style colour set of navy, a lighter green and white. Enough distinction with Tassies darker green, maroon and gold

Possibly, if it was a bright enough green then perhaps if would be distinguished from tasmania a bit. But by that same token, I get major AFL X or big bash vibes from a bright green. Just seems a bit unserious.

I still think leaning into the state team colours and doing something with light blue would be the obvious choice.

Besides, I don't think the AFL nor Canberra would want their brand to be seen as copying tasmania, or the NRL team

Possibly, if it was a bright enough green then perhaps if would be distinguished from tasmania a bit. But by that same token, I get major AFL X or big bash vibes from a bright green. Just seems a bit unserious.

I still think leaning into the state team colours and doing something with light blue would be the obvious choice.

Besides, I don't think the AFL nor Canberra would want their brand to be seen as copying tasmania, or the NRL team
Light blue isn't one of the ACT's colours though; it's NSW's colour. So by using sky blue you wouldn't be leaning into the ACT's colours, you'd be leaning into NSW, and Canberra's whole sporting history is trying to step out of the shadow of, and beat, the guys that wear that colour.

Frankly, light/sky blue shouldn't be anywhere near a team representing Canberra/ACT in a national competition. It'd be like the only team in Sydney being maroon.

A second green team coming in straight after the first wouldn't be as bad from a branding perspective as being the tenth club in the AFL with a shade of blue in their colour scheme either. Using the most popular colour in the AFL would just be making it that much more difficult for your club to stand out from the crowd.

In a sense you would be copying the Raiders by using green, because they are the one that started the tradition of Canberra sides using green as their colour. Nobody here is going care though, green being associated with Canberra outgrew the Raiders long ago.

I'd just be upfront about it if people tried to make it an issue. I'd be like "yeah, like many teams before us we're following the tradition of Canberra sides playing in green that the Raiders popularised... What of it?".

Aside from light blue being a bad idea, I don't really have strong feelings on which colours a Canberran AFL team should use TBH.

Green and white would probably be the obvious choice, but Canberra is the sort of place where you could get away with any number of colours and combinations, even pink or brown if you went about it the right way.

I'd just be upfront about it if people tried to make it an issue. I'd be like "yeah, like many teams before us we're following the tradition of Canberra sides playing in green that the Raiders popularised... What of it?".

In 1903 the NSWFL was formed. When the NSWRL was formed in 1908 many of the teams had the same names and colours. Balmain, East Sydney, North shore and West Sydney. Later teams like St George and Manly, the reverse hapenned.

With a new rugby team going to Perth I think it's more and more likely WA3 will be the 20th team, and canberra and NT to follow that
I wouldn’t be so sure Canberra will ever get a team if Perth gets team 20. If they don’t get the next team after Tassie then sadly I don’t think the AFL gives a shit about Canberra and I don’t expect that to change in the future.

I think WA (don't know where or how is the best option). I wonder if the new nrl franchise might change thinking? I believe it will find a bit of a market market over there l, but won't intrude on afl...
I can see the AFL being code war ****ing idiots though and going for WA3 to take the wind out of any potential NRL sail.

I would hope the AFL give as good as they got when it comes to w.a, in response to the anti suns and giants campaigns that have been run by the Sydney news corp media for the past 15 years (and Peter Vlandy's recently, speak to people that work at the afl about the lengths he goes to suppress afl growth).

Well actually, it goes back to 1915 when Australian football was getting 25k crowds every weekend to the scg before the local media and rugby fraternity made a conserted effort to kill off the Australian game there.

In saying all that, yes it could have an impact on the Canberra bid if this club gets some attention. Looking online though, w.a people don't seem too supportive of propping up an old Sydney team, they're pretty parochial over there and are not particularly fond of the east coast.

20th AFL Team