20th AFL Team

Which location will be the home of the 20th AFL team?

Currently, as it stands, Canberra and Southern NSW has more than double the amount of AFL players of the NT.
Maybe one day but Canberra are 40 years minimum away from being able to have a team.
The Territory and Northern Australia has the talent pool,support, historical contribution the climate and all round passion for the game. Not to mention the growth potential with mining, tourism and international growth in the next 100 years.
There really is only 1 option for the 20th team. NA is it

Maybe one day but Canberra are 40 years minimum away from being able to have a team.
The Territory and Northern Australia has the talent pool,support, historical contribution the climate and all round passion for the game. Not to mention the growth potential with mining, tourism and international growth in the next 100 years.
There really is only 1 option for the 20th team. NA is it

So gonna ignore all facts and go with the vibe again?

The population projections were posted just a few pages back on this thread.

Darwin projected to grow 19% over the next 20 years. Canberra's expected to grow 46%.

Compared to Darwin, Canberra already has all the numbers in its favour. But long-term, that gap just grows.

So gonna ignore all facts and go with the vibe again?

The population projections were posted just a few pages back on this thread.

Darwin projected to grow 19% over the next 20 years. Canberra's expected to grow 46%.

Compared to Darwin, Canberra already has all the numbers in its favour. But long-term, that gap just grows.
He’s right, though, there’s what, 4 million people in Darwin, it’s just an absolute economic powerhouse, the Dubai of the Southern Hemisphere.

They should’ve had two teams a few decades ago, tbh.

Well ahead of Canberra who’s probably gonna have to wait another 500 years and then maybe, just maybe, they’ll have enough people to sellout 20k at Manuka. Even then, it’s a lineball.

As it stands, you’re the only AFL fan in the ACT, a lone wolf amid the wilderness of Raiders and Brumbies. Maybe if they could clone you, the race for the elusive 20th licence would be closer.

He’s right, though, there’s what, 4 million people in Darwin, it’s just an absolute economic powerhouse, the Dubai of the Southern Hemisphere.

They should’ve had two teams a few decades ago, tbh.

Well ahead of Canberra who’s probably gonna have to wait another 500 years and then maybe, just maybe, they’ll have enough people to sellout 20k at Manuka. Even then, it’s a lineball.

As it stands, you’re the only AFL fan in the ACT, a lone wolf amid the wilderness of Raiders and Brumbies. Maybe if they could clone you, the race for the elusive 20th licence would be closer.
Yep because chucking a team in Western Sydney with their population has been a raving success.
It takes passion and above all interest.
The NT has contributed far more to the game than Canberra and deserves the spot

Do you actually believe the stuff you spout? Gold Coast is a booming mid-sized city with a strong southerner population. If any comparison is to be made, it's to Canberra.

Canberra has Darwin beat on pretty much everything you've said. Sure, per capita, Darwin might win, but Greater Canberra is so much bigger that it still wins overall.

There were two Canberrans in the national draft. None from the NT. There are around 40 players from Canberra and Southern NSW. Whereas there's around 17-18 from the NT. Canberra has the talent base to support a team.

As for support, it's obvious that Canberra has more AFL fans than Darwin. It's basic maths.

I know I keep falling for it, but you can't seriously think the NT beats Canberra in any comparison other than vibes.
You have to be joking.
Your not seriously comparing Canberra with the Gold Coast?
They are nothing alike
The GC is a national icon and while is not working at the minute has potential and has produced players.
The NT is also a national icon and an AFL powerhouse. A talent factory.
The ACT has what? Population. If that was the only metric GWS should be a powerhouse. But they are subsidised and the beneficiaries of an afl post covid bounce.
Team 20 on an already saturated market needs support identity and the potential for national growth from day dot. The NT/Northern Australia is the clear option

Round 1 2035.
The scene is set.
Reigning premiers Tassie are set to run out in -3 degrees to play Canberra with a few politicians in support
Vs
The scene is set. Tasmania are travelling to the top end to open the season against the NT. Football royalty in attendance not to mention 14 locally grown talent ready to take the competition by storm. Longs Riolis etc in attendance not to mention the next generation academy who played the curtain raiser.
Insert mining company the sponsor
Collingwood essendon West coast next 3 home games which have sold out.

You have to be joking.
Your not seriously comparing Canberra with the Gold Coast?They are nothing alike

Demographically, Canberra is much more similar. A mid-sized city with massive population growth.

The main demographic difference is economy, with Canberrans' median income 55% higher than the Gold Coast. So as a market, we're already ahead of where the Gold Coast was when the Suns entered.

Darwin is tiny, and not growing fast, so will only become smaller as a percentage of the country's population.

The GC is a national icon and while is not working at the minute has potential and has produced players.
The NT is also a national icon and an AFL powerhouse. A talent factory.
The ACT has what? Population.

I've already shown you the current player stats, but you ignore them.

If that was the only metric GWS should be a powerhouse.

Canberra is nothing like GWS.

GWS has the population, without the pre-existing AFL fanbase. The NT has the pre-existing fanbase, without the population.

Canberra has both.

The NT/Northern Australia is the clear option

Just because you keep repeating it doesn't make it true.

Yep because chucking a team in Western Sydney with their population has been a raving success.
It takes passion and above all interest.

It takes passion and population.

The NT only has one.

The NT has contributed far more to the game than Canberra and deserves the spot

It's not like Canberra's a blackhole for footy.

We've contributed multiple marks of the year; the mark of the century; many captains; a Norm Smith and Brownlow winner; even the guy who founded the game was born here.

It's subjective who "deserves" a team. But Canberra has contributed plenty.

The ACT is 40 years away minimum. Simply hasn't built the talent base or support

You remove any credibility for the N.T. by posting ridiculous statements trying to destroy a logical push for Canberra.
Canberra has a decent population, employment, a local AFL and is close to a rural hinterland that has produced some AFL stars.
Canberra would have the AFL draft to draw upon and in the future would probably be home to increased facilities
and I would suggest that Canberra would be ideal for an AFL academy.

The N.T. has limited talent in one specific area only.

You remove any credibility for the N.T. by posting ridiculous statements trying to destroy a logical push for Canberra.
Canberra has a decent population, employment, a local AFL and is close to a rural hinterland that has produced some AFL stars.
Canberra would have the AFL draft to draw upon and in the future would probably be home to increased facilities
and I would suggest that Canberra would be ideal for an AFL academy.

The N.T. has limited talent in one specific area only.
Plus heaps of social issues, high unemployment, high crime rates and low levels of disposable income

Same thing could be said of Geelong 30 years a go now it is booming.
Led by the AFL team. Similar thing will happen in Tassie.
Whole Northern Australia has the potential to.explode.
Think of the extra talent on top of what it already produces if an extra kick was given

Geelong also benefits from being an hour down the road from Melbourne.

Darwin is 28 hours' drive from the closest sizeable city.

North Queensland maybe which is a long way from Darwin

Geelong also benefits from being an hour down the road from Melbourne.

Darwin is 28 hours' drive from the closest sizeable city.

The City of Greater Geelong also has a larger population than the entire Northern Territory

MOVE GWS from Sydney to Canberra and launch them as the Eastern Giants.

AFL Team #20 can be Darwin and that side can be given the entire NT, PNG and associated islands as their exclusive recruiting zone.
That is the only way NT gets a team from mine, after Canberra. Darwin climate totally unsuitable for footy, tiny population, and what we southerners forget is that if you combine Rugby League and Union, it is almost as popular up there as Aussie Rules. Perhaps 60/40 but it is not quite the AFL mad town we all think it is.

Still the AFL media love the NT for team 20 - they spoke about how good it would be tonight on Midweek Tackle tonight. They are proposing the team be called NT Lightning annd would play the first 2 - 4 games in Alice Springs (population 34K) due to Darwin’s unsuitable weather until late May.

They also mentioned that WA/WAFL are now keen on a 3rd club.

That is the only way NT gets a team from mine, after Canberra. Darwin climate totally unsuitable for footy, tiny population, and what we southerners forget is that if you combine Rugby League and Union, it is almost as popular up there as Aussie Rules. Perhaps 60/40 but it is not quite the AFL mad town we all think it is.

Still the AFL media love the NT for team 20 - they spoke about how good it would be tonight on Midweek Tackle tonight. They are proposing the team be called NT Lightning annd would play the first 2 - 4 games in Alice Springs (population 34K) due to Darwin’s unsuitable weather until late May.

They also mentioned that WA/WAFL are now keen on a 3rd club.
It’d have to be 4 games in Alice Springs because of Darwin’s weather, with multiple away games early in the year in Perth and Adelaide so they don’t have too many long plane trips.

But they just don’t have the population. I don’t know why it’s so popular because it seems obvious the population is nowhere near it.

Still think it’ll be a 3rd Perth team or Canberra. It all depends on whether the AFL sees the problem with the Giants the same way we do. If they think 8 games is good enough then I’m afraid ACT is ****ed.

Call me skeptical but nobody in the media has the courage to call out the n.t as a terrible idea due to the cultural sensitivities around it. As it's a proposal that is seen to be helping the indigenous population up there.

Either that or they're completely un researched on the matter, but i think it's more likely the former. Even people like Eddie won't say it's a bad idea and all the same media people that said Tasmania was too small, all of a sudden think n.t is a great idea? I don't buy it.

Also the name the territory lightning? Sounds crap, also the colours proposed are the same as the giants. Another funny one is Demetriou is on the n.t taskforce pushing for it, the same guy that wouldn't let tassie in as CEO despite it having over double the population, because it wasn't financially sustainable enough? Clearly trying to rebuild his reputation as the good bloke that's now looking out for the little guy.

Call me skeptical but nobody in the media has the courage to call out the n.t as a terrible idea due to the cultural sensitivities around it. As it's a proposal that is seen to help the indigenous population up there.
The proposal as set out is not a terrible idea. It suggests an NT team is viable with government backing at a level similar to what the NRL is getting for PNG.

Like the NRL, the AFL aren't going to get the government backing without tying their proposal to social/cultural/political issues.

The proposal as set out is not a terrible idea. It suggests an NT team is viable with government backing at a level similar to what the NRL is getting for PNG.

Like the NRL, the AFL aren't going to get the government backing without tying their proposal to social/cultural/political issues.

Even if it's viable financially by the government propping it up, it will still have practically no fans and no growth potential. Imagine away games in Melbourne, I think I've only met 1 person from the n.t before and that was a guy that traveled down for work purposes for a meeting. Ballarat is passing Darwin for population soon apparently.

20th AFL Team