Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October

My intel now confirmed. Suggestion that there were 18 infractions for the 18 weeks but I am not sure how that is/was measured. Also told he will not play for us again like many others have also stated. NM has had enough - sponsors have had enough - team has had enough of the distractions. Also told TT is needing some strong support at the moment as reality hits home over the last few weeks that his career is probably finished. Lets see how much more of the story comes out about the circumstances that caused this.

I saw Jyza doing extra ground ball work with Boomer after training on Monday.

Captain of the club doing the kind of extras that a Charlie Laz was doing to get himself up to 22nd spot.

Jyza stood by Tarryn last year and as a proud Yorta Yorta man he understands where Tarryn has come from.

I think the run out of chances with his teammates bit here is has been the deciding factor.

So obvious this would come out today to try and bury the Brayshaw story.

Normally I'd share your conspiratorial outlook, but I don't think that's the case here.

I certainly don't think that.

You know, maybe the best thing for Tarryn isn't a career in footy.

Yes, its the most lucrative option for him but hey, cocaine dealing is also very lucrative and I wouldn't suggest it as a career option for a young person.

Maybe Tarryn should just try and have a life where the goal is to be a good person who can feel comfortable in his own skin.
That was a more general statement about the reactions, not a response to you

AFL hits Tarryn Thomas with 18-match ban for inappropriate behaviour​

By Jake Niall and Peter Ryan

February 22, 2024 — 1.30pm

North Melbourne’s Tarryn Thomas will miss 18 matches after he was found by an AFL investigation to have behaved inappropriately towards a woman, putting his career at the Kangaroos in extreme jeopardy.

The suspension, which ends on July 22, will rule him out of the Kangaroos’ community cup match and their first 18 premiership matches, as they have a bye in round 12, and he will not be allowed to play football at any level during the period of his ban.

The Age has confirmed the league’s decision, which Nine’s Tom Morris first reported on Tuesday, from two sources familiar with the situation who were not authorised to talk.

The 23-year-old has not trained with North Melbourne since January 17 when the investigation that has put his career at risk became public.

The league’s integrity unit spoke to Thomas at AFL headquarters on January 29.

His representatives are understood to have fought the length of the ban with Thomas’ contract due to expire at the end of 2024.

The AFL are expected to release the details of the ban on Thursday afternoon. North Melbourne are expected to consider the details of Thomas’s behaviour provided by the AFL before deciding on his career, but he is at long odds to remain with the Kangaroos beyond this season.

nEVeR doUbtEd gokangas fOr a miNUtE

As s*t a bloke as Tarryn is and as ****** unacceptable as this s**t is, he's going to need support from somewhere - club, aflpa, etc - so he doesnt completely spiral

A sad situation all round, not least for his victim

We've offered him as much support as we can over the last two years and from what I know the AFL has too.

I worry about how he'll travel over the next year or so.

If I'm him I'm going up to Sydney to run with some old crew and if I end up in Silverwater with my bro eating KFC every night, rooting screws, getting high when I want and generally being King Shit, well that's just fine.

There should be no “if”, he HAS to go.

Oh, I'm in full agreement. Don't get me wrong.

But my suspicion is that it'll be somewhat complex, and the AFLPA will be a player here too.

Reckon Laura Kane. knows just how many bed making lessons Tarryn has had, and how many of the lessons have been culturally sensitive and appropriate and it this stage he does know how to make his bed, but wants to get shitfaced and pass out on the couch every night as it were
I have a feeling his behaviour might be worse than we're expecting if the AFL thought 18 weeks was feasible on top of what just happened with Clarkson.

We can’t assume any of that.
Putting my teff hat on for a second, she could’ve been preoccupied with getting the afl women’s team off the ground and a troubled kid could’ve been taking up way to much of her time and resources. Certainly would’ve pissed me off, if I were in her shoes.

I think it’s fair to say we were way underfunded/under resourced in the departments that would’ve been needed at the time, cause we were desperate to chase the zero debt.
We don't know anything really. That's the crux of it right now.

Just in case anyone had forgotten, Marlion Pickett, who has prior charges for serious assault, is still on bail for Burglary related matter. Still playing.

Funnily enough, the AFL doesn’t seem to have a problem with actual criminal offence allegations. Or rampant drug use.

The line seems to be ‘inappropriate behaviour’.

Good times.

Plus drug trafficking, nightclub fights, underage girls and more

I'm 100 per certain a detailed psychological and otherwise assessment of Tarryn would find a deeply traumatised individual who yes, has pretty limited academic skills.

There's a theory that people who experience immense trauma can be "frozen" at that point in their development.

How old was Tarryn when they moved to Tassie?

14/15?

Reckon something pretty traumatic would have happened in Sydney to spark the move, he's probably stayed about there mentally.
I've seen that happen with people.

Its ****en weird too sometimes.

I know plenty of us have a victim complex with the AFL but they absolutely aim to manage s**t for every club to minimise the negative fallout as far as possible. It seems time to suggest that for an 18 game ban to be handed down and not negotiated back, what he has done is somewhat worse than has been painted publicly up to now.
Yeah exactly. Its disappointing but we can't hide from it.

Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October