ferball
desperately terminally-contrarian
- Jul 24, 2015
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
Nah we can totally afford it. He's the one who will miss out. Not the club.Horseshit.
He failed us. At a time we could least afford it too.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Nah we can totally afford it. He's the one who will miss out. Not the club.Horseshit.
He failed us. At a time we could least afford it too.
I do find it ironic that Laura Kane, probably one of the people who has the most to do with him since he was 15, basically gave him his marching rights the other day.
Yeah, I find this forum funny sometimes,Yeah. Kind of sad.
Look, you make your own bed and have to lie in it but often its the bed you learn to make that you have to lie in and if no one shows you how to do it properly...
I don't buy that we've failed him. Are there things we could have done better? My guess is most definitely BUT you can't help someone unless they want to help themselves. Yes we need to take some responsibility and look at how we can do things better next time but if he's played his last game of AFL then that's on him not us.I honestly never thought I'd be at the point where losing Tarryn didn't matter to how our footy side went cos he is of the most talented players I've seen. But (as the saying goes) we have cake and icing now. I mean it still matter but there was a time not that long ago when this would have really hurt the side on field and I don't think it does anymore (we can cover it.)
What bugs me is that we've been involved with him for nearly a decade, during a very important time for young people and how they turn out and this is the result. I can't help but think we've failed him as a club cos we let him get away with this sort of s**t earlier when he should have been pulled up on it. I remember seeing Jy Simpkin in an airport with Higgo before we even drafted TT and he was hanging on every word Higgo said when they weren't posing for photos with us or talking to the kids.
He needed better mentoring and we missed that.
If we lose him and that looks like a 95%+ possibility, then we need to take some responsibility for it as well.
You're talking future, I'm talking past.Nah we can totally afford it. He's the one who will miss out. Not the club.
Also wrt what I just said above - his career at North has been a chaotic time for the club and the country as a whole so there is a chance in a more stable time we could have provided better leadership to him.
You're talking future, I'm talking past.
Just what every troubled kid needs, a revolving door of influence.He probably holds some record for the most amount of coaches in the least number of games.
He's played 69 (hur) games.
By my count he's had:
Brad Scott
Rhyce Shaw
David Noble
Patch Adams
Alistair Clarkson
Brett Ratten
Clarko again
He'd averaged a coaching change every ten games lol
That’s how I read it. There would be few people more aware than Laura of the support TT has been given by NMFC.Or perhaps telling.
He's brought it on himself. Although I'm always going to be suspicious of the AFL not having a fair process in place, or coming to a fair outcome. It might as well be trial by media.If he had his head on straight he'd be the cream on top of this seriously impressive list we're building and potential success coming. Such a shame.
I don't buy that we've failed him. Are there things we could have done better? My guess is most definitely BUT you can't help someone unless they want to help themselves. Yes we need to take some responsibility and look at how we can do things better next time but if he's played his last game of AFL then that's on him not us.
Bloody Hell JR, you had me there for a moment…How can you say that? It took just one person involved at the club. Just one. Just one to say ‘Tarryn. Burner. Phone.’
Nah kidding, you’re right i don’t know if there is a way a club can involve themselves in players personal lives as much as we did, any further it’s just unethical.
Us, along with his manager probably paid a part in inflating his ego with his contract at the age of what 20? Without setting greater perimeters
I get where you're coming from, but some people are too proud, stubborn or stupid to take advice and direction. I think TT might be one of those as I'm sure the club has tried many times to guide him. People who are very naturally gifted can be the most difficult people to manage (and coach) because they think their talent gives them special privileges and they know better than anyone else.I honestly never thought I'd be at the point where losing Tarryn didn't matter to how our footy side went cos he is of the most talented players I've seen. But (as the saying goes) we have cake and icing now. I mean it still matter but there was a time not that long ago when this would have really hurt the side on field and I don't think it does anymore (we can cover it.)
What bugs me is that we've been involved with him for nearly a decade, during a very important time for young people and how they turn out and this is the result. I can't help but think we've failed him as a club cos we let him get away with this sort of s**t earlier when he should have been pulled up on it. I remember seeing Jy Simpkin in an airport with Higgo before we even drafted TT and he was hanging on every word Higgo said when they weren't posing for photos with us or talking to the kids.
If we lose him and that looks like a 95%+ possibility, then we need to take some responsibility for it as well.
Yeah. Kind of sad.
Look, you make your own bed and have to lie in it but often its the bed you learn to make that you have to lie in and if no one shows you how to do it properly...
We can’t assume any of that.Reckon Laura Kane. knows just how many bed making lessons Tarryn has had, and how many of the lessons have been culturally sensitive and appropriate and it this stage he does know how to make his bed, but wants to get shitfaced and pass out on the couch every night as well
Can lead a horse to water and all that..I honestly never thought I'd be at the point where losing Tarryn didn't matter to how our footy side went cos he is of the most talented players I've seen. But (as the saying goes) we have cake and icing now. I mean it still matter but there was a time not that long ago when this would have really hurt the side on field and I don't think it does anymore (we can cover it.)
We can’t assume any of that.
Putting my teff hat on for a second, she could’ve been preoccupied with getting the afl women’s team off the ground and a troubled kid could’ve been taking up way to much of her time and resources. Certainly would’ve pissed me off, if I were in her shoes.
I think it’s fair to say we were way underfunded/under resourced in the departments that would’ve been needed at the time, cause we were desperate to chase the zero debt.
I know and she went on to do a lot of big things at North, she made a massive difference, all of that take serious effort and dedication.Her first gig was running our Tassie academy, she was there from the get go with Tarryn.
You’ve just described the average afl playerIs anyone on this forum confident Tarryn could write 50 coherent words about his life and not assume a 12 year old wrote it when reading it? I find it interesting that essentially he will lose his career for written word abuse rather than verbal or physical. He clearly isn’t reading Macbeth from an intellectual standpoint. I would be surprised if he could read Grug.