Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October

Is anyone on this forum confident Tarryn could write 50 coherent words about his life and not assume a 12 year old wrote it when reading it? I find it interesting that essentially he will lose his career for written word abuse rather than verbal or physical. He clearly isn’t reading Macbeth from an intellectual standpoint. I would be surprised if he could read Grug.

I'm 100 per certain a detailed psychological and otherwise assessment of Tarryn would find a deeply traumatised individual who yes, has pretty limited academic skills.

There's a theory that people who experience immense trauma can be "frozen" at that point in their development.

How old was Tarryn when they moved to Tassie?

14/15?

Reckon something pretty traumatic would have happened in Sydney to spark the move, he's probably stayed about there mentally.

AFL hits Tarryn Thomas with 18-match ban for inappropriate behaviour​

By Jake Niall and Peter Ryan

February 22, 2024 — 1.30pm

North Melbourne’s Tarryn Thomas will miss 18 matches after he was found by an AFL investigation to have behaved inappropriately towards a woman, putting his career at the Kangaroos in extreme jeopardy.

The suspension, which ends on July 22, will rule him out of the Kangaroos’ community cup match and their first 18 premiership matches, as they have a bye in round 12, and he will not be allowed to play football at any level during the period of his ban.

The Age has confirmed the league’s decision, which Nine’s Tom Morris first reported on Tuesday, from two sources familiar with the situation who were not authorised to talk.

The 23-year-old has not trained with North Melbourne since January 17 when the investigation that has put his career at risk became public.

The league’s integrity unit spoke to Thomas at AFL headquarters on January 29.

His representatives are understood to have fought the length of the ban with Thomas’ contract due to expire at the end of 2024.

The AFL are expected to release the details of the ban on Thursday afternoon. North Melbourne are expected to consider the details of Thomas’s behaviour provided by the AFL before deciding on his career, but he is at long odds to remain with the Kangaroos beyond this season.

I know and she went on to do a lot of big things at North, she made a massive difference, all of that take serious effort and dedication.

What I’m getting at is, while all of these big things were happening, we had players like Tarryn. Who if ended up at a team like Richmond would’ve had a team of minders, which is probably what he needed until he matured.

I just hope he gets the chance to turn his life around.

The only reason Richmond kept Dusty from ruining his career was by employing EXACTLY the same tactics that Rusty Jackson reckons are human rights violations.

If it weren't for that bloody mural...
How long before it gets painted over l wonder...

AFL hits Tarryn Thomas with 18-match ban for inappropriate behaviour​

By Jake Niall and Peter Ryan

February 22, 2024 — 1.30pm

North Melbourne’s Tarryn Thomas will miss 18 matches after he was found by an AFL investigation to have behaved inappropriately towards a woman, putting his career at the Kangaroos in extreme jeopardy.

The suspension, which ends on July 22, will rule him out of the Kangaroos’ community cup match and their first 18 premiership matches, as they have a bye in round 12, and he will not be allowed to play football at any level during the period of his ban.

The Age has confirmed the league’s decision, which Nine’s Tom Morris first reported on Tuesday, from two sources familiar with the situation who were not authorised to talk.

The 23-year-old has not trained with North Melbourne since January 17 when the investigation that has put his career at risk became public.

The league’s integrity unit spoke to Thomas at AFL headquarters on January 29.

His representatives are understood to have fought the length of the ban with Thomas’ contract due to expire at the end of 2024.

The AFL are expected to release the details of the ban on Thursday afternoon. North Melbourne are expected to consider the details of Thomas’s behaviour provided by the AFL before deciding on his career, but he is at long odds to remain with the Kangaroos beyond this season.

Now its time to move on.......Bring on NORTHBALL...

Just in case anyone had forgotten, Marlion Pickett, who has prior charges for serious assault, is still on bail for Burglary related matter. Still playing.

Funnily enough, the AFL doesn’t seem to have a problem with actual criminal offence allegations. Or rampant drug use.

The line seems to be ‘inappropriate behaviour’.

Good times.

I'm 100 per certain a detailed psychological and otherwise assessment of Tarryn would find a deeply traumatised individual who yes, has pretty limited academic skills.

There's a theory that people who experience immense trauma can be "frozen" at that point in their development.

14/15?

Reckon something pretty traumatic would have happened in Sydney to spark the move, he's probably stayed about there mentally.
I'm not really a fan of this kind of speculation because we don't know the guy, but the whole point of the NGA system was to make a footy career possible for guys from underprivileged backgrounds, of course that's going to come with carrying more trauma into adulthood than the usual private school boys that make up AFL lists, which compounded with the shitloads of money and public profile can be pretty destructive to a young mind. I would hope that whatever the outcome is the club continues to offer him some kind of pathway to come back from this and grow as a person. As usual I find the "wannabe gangsta" shit in this thread incredibly racist and distasteful, at the end of the day he's a young guy who's done some bad shit and also had a lot of bad shit happen to him and the idea that he's just locked in and irredeemable represents a pretty bleak worldview.

Let him do his time. Support him. Ideally support the victim. Let him train away from the group. He will realise he has blown it. Offer him a heavily reduced contract for 25 (afl player minimum) with a trigger for 26 based on behaviour clauses.

I'm not really a fan of this kind of speculation because we don't know the guy, but the whole point of the NGA system was to make a footy career possible for guys from underprivileged backgrounds, of course that's going to come with carrying more trauma into adulthood than the usual private school boys that make up AFL lists, which compounded with the shitloads of money and public profile can be pretty destructive to a young mind. I would hope that whatever the outcome is the club continues to offer him some kind of pathway to come back from this and grow as a person. As usual I find the "wannabe gangsta" s**t in this thread incredibly racist and distasteful, at the end of the day he's a young guy who's done some bad s**t and also had a lot of bad s**t happen to him and the idea that he's just locked in and irredeemable represents a pretty bleak worldview.
Curb Your Enthusiasm Bingo GIF by Jason Clarke

Just in case anyone had forgotten, Marlion Pickett, who has prior charges for serious assault, is still on bail for Burglary related matter. Still playing.

Good times.
I know plenty of us have a victim complex with the AFL but they absolutely aim to manage shit for every club to minimise the negative fallout as far as possible. It seems time to suggest that for an 18 game ban to be handed down and not negotiated back, what he has done is somewhat worse than has been painted publicly up to now.

I know plenty of us have a victim complex with the AFL but they absolutely aim to manage s**t for every club to minimise the negative fallout as far as possible. It seems time to suggest that for an 18 game ban to be handed down and not negotiated back, what he has done is somewhat worse than has been painted publicly up to now.
And the 18 weeks is a negotiated outcome.

I know plenty of us have a victim complex with the AFL but they absolutely aim to manage s**t for every club to minimise the negative fallout as far as possible. It seems time to suggest that for an 18 game ban to be handed down and not negotiated back, what he has done is somewhat worse than has been painted publicly up to now.
Oh, I know they do. Some of the shit they’ve made disappear that I know about would make peoples head explode.

I know that Laura Kane has more insight into the complexity of Tarryn's siuation that pretty much anyone in the game and the supreme irony of the person who did so much to get him into AFL footy now effectively ending his career is not lost on me.

Let's see how forcefully she can get the AFL to apply its respect and responsibility policy when a star player from a big side or club the AFL wants in the finals does exactly this shit in mid August.

14/15?

In another life he says up in Sydney and just plays in a Penarth Panthers threepeat or ends up like his bro or worse.

Funnily enough, the AFL doesn’t seem to have a problem with actual criminal offence allegations. Or rampant drug use.

The line seems to be ‘inappropriate behaviour’.

Good times.
Milne played for 10 years before he was charged and ended up paying a 15k fine.

I know that Laura Kane has more insight into the complexity of Tarryn's siuation that pretty much anyone in the game and the supreme irony of the person who did so much to get him into AFL footy now effectively ending his career is not lost on me.

Let's see how forcefully she can get the AFL to apply its respect and responsibility policy when a star player from a big side or club the AFL wants in the finals does exactly this s**t in mid August.
That’s a rhetorical statement. It’s already been demonstrated.

We all know the answer to that.

North Melbourne star Tarryn Thomas will be forced to sit out of football for 18 games in an AFL suspension that will ultimately end his time at Arden Street.

The AFL is set to hand down its penalty for his inappropriate behaviour towards a woman on Thursday afternoon in a sign it has had enough of Thomas’ repeated transgressions.

Thomas will be available for the club’s last five AFL games but given he will not be allowed to play at any level during the ban his senior AFL career is almost certainly over.

The club had promised to assess any penalty and his rights under the CBA before it considered its position.

But the Herald Sun reported on Monday that the Roos were intent on cutting ties with Thomas ahead of the 2025 season given his repeated poor behaviour and lack of buy-in to the club’s culture.

The Roos have a bye in round 12 so Thomas will be available for the club’s last five games, with the AFLPA sure to have their say on whether the Roos have an ability to sever his contract.

He is due to be paid at least the remaining $400,000 of his $700,000 contract but the Roos will want clarity about whether Thomas’ ban gives them the right to sack him.

If he is kept on their senior list they would still have the rights to trade him at the end of the year as his contract expires.

But any club that sought to recruit him would need board approval and would need to believe he had a long-term commitment to improve his conduct.

Thomas has not been training with the Kangaroos in recent weeks.

The Roos stepped Thomas down last year after believing he had not adhered to the club’s education programs.

A female known to Thomas came forward to the AFL’s integrity team in January with a complaint about his conduct over social media or text messages.

Thomas had dodged a conviction midway through last year after threatening to post intimate videos with a partner and paid a $1000 fine.

But after a third incident this year the AFL, AFL executive general manager Laura Kane said on Monday the league took a dim view of such matters.

“We’re moving as quickly as we can given people are involved in this. What I will say is we don’t stand for that behaviour in this industry,” she said.

AFL chief executive Andrew Dillon on Wednesday had foreshadowed the ban as he said the AFL’s legal counsel Stephen Meade would hand down a finding when ready.

“It’s a complex and complicated issue with potentially quite severe consequences, and we’ve also got a complainant there who we’re really mindful of their welfare.”

I'm not really a fan of this kind of speculation because we don't know the guy, but the whole point of the NGA system was to make a footy career possible for guys from underprivileged backgrounds, of course that's going to come with carrying more trauma into adulthood than the usual private school boys that make up AFL lists, which compounded with the shitloads of money and public profile can be pretty destructive to a young mind. I would hope that whatever the outcome is the club continues to offer him some kind of pathway to come back from this and grow as a person. As usual I find the "wannabe gangsta" s**t in this thread incredibly racist and distasteful, at the end of the day he's a young guy who's done some bad s**t and also had a lot of bad s**t happen to him and the idea that he's just locked in and irredeemable represents a pretty bleak worldview.

I certainly don't think that.

You know, maybe the best thing for Tarryn isn't a career in footy.

Yes, its the most lucrative option for him but hey, cocaine dealing is also very lucrative and I wouldn't suggest it as a career option for a young person.

Maybe Tarryn should just try and have a life where the goal is to be a good person who can feel comfortable in his own skin.

In another life he says up in Sydney and just plays in a Penarth Panthers threepeat or ends up like his bro or worse.

I suspect if he stayed in Sydney he'd be in jail or dead

Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October