Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October

I do find it ironic that Laura Kane, probably one of the people who has the most to do with him since he was 15, basically gave him his marching rights the other day.

Or perhaps telling.

Yeah. Kind of sad.

Look, you make your own bed and have to lie in it but often its the bed you learn to make that you have to lie in and if no one shows you how to do it properly...
Yeah, I find this forum funny sometimes,
I don’t think you would find someone who would argue against the aboriginal cycle of domestic violence at the moment, it’s such a sad state of affairs, it’s generational.
How do you break it? It’s going to take a long time and it’s only through education, showing the trauma done to the kids, families, partners etc.

Yet when faced with it, the general public’s immediate response is to sack/remove etc without looking at the underlying cause or trying to actually help/solve the problem. I guess when it gets real, people can’t face it.

Just kick a kid to the curb, who we’ve had more of an influence on then any other organisation in his life.

I honestly never thought I'd be at the point where losing Tarryn didn't matter to how our footy side went cos he is of the most talented players I've seen. But (as the saying goes) we have cake and icing now. I mean it still matter but there was a time not that long ago when this would have really hurt the side on field and I don't think it does anymore (we can cover it.)

What bugs me is that we've been involved with him for nearly a decade, during a very important time for young people and how they turn out and this is the result. I can't help but think we've failed him as a club cos we let him get away with this sort of s**t earlier when he should have been pulled up on it. I remember seeing Jy Simpkin in an airport with Higgo before we even drafted TT and he was hanging on every word Higgo said when they weren't posing for photos with us or talking to the kids.

He needed better mentoring and we missed that.

If we lose him and that looks like a 95%+ possibility, then we need to take some responsibility for it as well.
I don't buy that we've failed him. Are there things we could have done better? My guess is most definitely BUT you can't help someone unless they want to help themselves. Yes we need to take some responsibility and look at how we can do things better next time but if he's played his last game of AFL then that's on him not us.

Also wrt what I just said above - his career at North has been a chaotic time for the club and the country as a whole so there is a chance in a more stable time we could have provided better leadership to him.

He probably holds some record for the most amount of coaches in the least number of games.

He's played 69 (hur) games.

By my count he's had:

Brad Scott
Rhyce Shaw
David Noble
Patch Adams
Alistair Clarkson
Brett Ratten
Clarko again

He'd averaged a coaching change every ten games lol

You're talking future, I'm talking past.

When he was 20 we sent him up to the huddle with Rhyce Shaw who had a mental breakdown because of the stress. Our own GM didn’t go up to oversee everything.

We then sacked everyone, employed David Nobel and everything was rosey yeah?

Investigations still ongoing I guess? I wonder why the commission sanctioned an 18 week suspension while the investigation is still ongoing?

My guess is the AFL informed TT's legal reps of the 18 weeks and they said no don't think so, not with your bogus process, you better lawyer up.

He probably holds some record for the most amount of coaches in the least number of games.

He's played 69 (hur) games.

By my count he's had:

Brad Scott
Rhyce Shaw
David Noble
Patch Adams
Alistair Clarkson
Brett Ratten
Clarko again

He'd averaged a coaching change every ten games lol
Just what every troubled kid needs, a revolving door of influence.

Or perhaps telling.
That’s how I read it. There would be few people more aware than Laura of the support TT has been given by NMFC.

You can lead a horse to water…

If he had his head on straight he'd be the cream on top of this seriously impressive list we're building and potential success coming. Such a shame.
He's brought it on himself. Although I'm always going to be suspicious of the AFL not having a fair process in place, or coming to a fair outcome. It might as well be trial by media.

I don't buy that we've failed him. Are there things we could have done better? My guess is most definitely BUT you can't help someone unless they want to help themselves. Yes we need to take some responsibility and look at how we can do things better next time but if he's played his last game of AFL then that's on him not us.

How can you say that? It took just one person involved at the club. Just one. Just one to say ‘Tarryn. Burner. Phone.’

Nah kidding, you’re right i don’t know if there is a way a club can involve themselves in players personal lives as much as we did, any further it’s just unethical.

Us, along with his manager probably paid a part in inflating his ego with his contract at the age of what 20? Without setting greater perimeters

How can you say that? It took just one person involved at the club. Just one. Just one to say ‘Tarryn. Burner. Phone.’

Nah kidding, you’re right i don’t know if there is a way a club can involve themselves in players personal lives as much as we did, any further it’s just unethical.

Us, along with his manager probably paid a part in inflating his ego with his contract at the age of what 20? Without setting greater perimeters
Bloody Hell JR, you had me there for a moment…

I honestly never thought I'd be at the point where losing Tarryn didn't matter to how our footy side went cos he is of the most talented players I've seen. But (as the saying goes) we have cake and icing now. I mean it still matter but there was a time not that long ago when this would have really hurt the side on field and I don't think it does anymore (we can cover it.)

What bugs me is that we've been involved with him for nearly a decade, during a very important time for young people and how they turn out and this is the result. I can't help but think we've failed him as a club cos we let him get away with this sort of s**t earlier when he should have been pulled up on it. I remember seeing Jy Simpkin in an airport with Higgo before we even drafted TT and he was hanging on every word Higgo said when they weren't posing for photos with us or talking to the kids.

If we lose him and that looks like a 95%+ possibility, then we need to take some responsibility for it as well.
I get where you're coming from, but some people are too proud, stubborn or stupid to take advice and direction. I think TT might be one of those as I'm sure the club has tried many times to guide him. People who are very naturally gifted can be the most difficult people to manage (and coach) because they think their talent gives them special privileges and they know better than anyone else.

It probably hasn't helped that he has been paid far more than he has deserved, which may have contributed to him developing arrogant delusions of grandeur. That could be linked to the AFL's stupid insistence of clubs having to spend a minimum of 95% of the salary cap when the quality of our bottom dwelling list didn't go close to justifying that based on merit. Many of our players have been grossly overpaid as a result of that policy.

From a purely selfish point of view after the dark years we've had to endure, losing TT would be a bitter pill to swallow. With TT we could win several flags and without him we might win none even with all the other elite talent we are assembling. He is a potential top 10 player in the AFL and if we lose him we get nothing in return, which is a huge loss.

Wasted talent and a bloody shame he wont play for us anymore (i think we can all agree he is done).

But i cant argue with the decision on priors and the screenshots I've seen of what he allegedly wrote AGAIN.

Domestic violence is an epidemic and we need to piss it off and therefore we need to piss him off.

Obviously has the emotional intelligence and overall intelligence of a wet fart to not see what he's doing to himself and stop.

If you still now cant learn with what's happened before, there really isn't any amount of education that can help you.

Before he was drafted we all heard that his character and choices were piss poor, he's just continued that on obviously.

Stop the circus, cut him loose and lets go get that 5th Cup.

Yeah. Kind of sad.

Look, you make your own bed and have to lie in it but often its the bed you learn to make that you have to lie in and if no one shows you how to do it properly...

Reckon Laura Kane. knows just how many bed making lessons Tarryn has had, and how many of the lessons have been culturally sensitive and appropriate and it this stage he does know how to make his bed, but wants to get shitfaced and pass out on the couch every night as it were

Reckon Laura Kane. knows just how many bed making lessons Tarryn has had, and how many of the lessons have been culturally sensitive and appropriate and it this stage he does know how to make his bed, but wants to get shitfaced and pass out on the couch every night as well
We can’t assume any of that.
Putting my teff hat on for a second, she could’ve been preoccupied with getting the afl women’s team off the ground and a troubled kid could’ve been taking up way to much of her time and resources. Certainly would’ve pissed me off, if I were in her shoes.

I think it’s fair to say we were way underfunded/under resourced in the departments that would’ve been needed at the time, cause we were desperate to chase the zero debt.

Can lead a horse to water and all that..

Same with shit head Francis .. meh just shit people

What Tarryn needed to be was a shit-faced federal Politician, lying on the ground yelling at his significant other on the phone in public.

Alas he’s a football player and is clearly held to a higher standard, understandably.

We can’t assume any of that.
Putting my teff hat on for a second, she could’ve been preoccupied with getting the afl women’s team off the ground and a troubled kid could’ve been taking up way to much of her time and resources. Certainly would’ve pissed me off, if I were in her shoes.

I think it’s fair to say we were way underfunded/under resourced in the departments that would’ve been needed at the time, cause we were desperate to chase the zero debt.

Her first gig was running our Tassie academy, she was there from the get go with Tarryn.

I know and she went on to do a lot of big things at North, she made a massive difference, all of that take serious effort and dedication.

What I’m getting at is, while all of these big things were happening, we had players like Tarryn. Who if ended up at a team like Richmond would’ve had a team of minders, which is probably what he needed until he matured.

I just hope he gets the chance to turn his life around.

Is anyone on this forum confident Tarryn could write 50 coherent words about his life and not assume a 12 year old wrote it when reading it? I find it interesting that essentially he will lose his career for written word abuse rather than verbal or physical. He clearly isn’t reading Macbeth from an intellectual standpoint. I would be surprised if he could read Grug.

You’ve just described the average afl player ☹️

Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October