Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October

At this stage there is nothing to indicate the texts that were put on Instagram and then reported on by the Herald Sun are the same ones the AFL are investigating and there's no dates on them (although Tarryn's reference to women he had abused may indicate it was after last years saga).

Apart from that, until the AFL releases their findings, we are all in the dark as to the case they have and the timing of it.

Just seems suss that the timing was left off the post.

If there was definitive evidence that he had not changed his ways following rehabilitation then the text dates surely would have been included.

You don't generally get a text screenshot and the time and date stamp is not present.

Were these selectively edited?

If there was definitive evidence that he had not changed his ways following rehabilitation then the text dates surely would have been included.

You don't generally get a text screenshot and the time and date stamp is not present.

Can't say, the Herald Sun didn't post them on their website. Considering they are just there to rake the muck, it's hard to expect too much out of them.

If North is compelled to keep him on the books... does he have any trade value whatsoever?

If he's apparently unfit to play AFL for us this year, how is he going to be fit to play for any team next year?

I don’t believe this for a second, North would’ve been aware of everything, it’s just an easy out for them in front of the media.
Pointing the media to the afl to talk on the matter.

Of course North would be aware of everything... Jy accompanied him to his interview with the AFL.

Can't say, the Herald Sun didn't post them on their website. Considering they are just there to rake the muck, it's hard to expect too much out of them.

I am questioning the delay.

Is it because the AFL are trying to find a way not to release the details of the case and just hand down the punishment?

Are they trying to construct a framework by which the everyday supporter gets no information and we never understand the allegations or the system behind the punishment?

I can't help but feel a lot of the media have been briefed to commence the whitewash of the process. So many already have started playing judge, jury and executioner without a shred of public evidence.

When you consider this against the reaction to Melbourne/Smith today. "We have to let due process play out", "We can't rush to judge the club" etc etc. Two different tacts.

I’d like Healy to explain how we could have drafted Butters with our first pick being in the 40s in 2018… even if we kept our 1st round pick, it was a pick after PAs anyway.
Maybe there is a loophole that we don’t know about?

North's natural pick (11) before the Polec trade would have got Butters.

Port used North's natural pick (11) as well as pick 23, 30, 49 to trade up into Rozee (Pick 6) and future third.

Which eventually got in Melbourne's hands for Trent Rivers.

North was one of the first in the position to capitalise on NGA and F/S bidding but completely ****ed the strategy.

Instead of trying to get ahead of the bid like many do now and double dip on top draft picks, we viewed the pick as a burnable asset and overpaid on a player like Polec and matched Thomas with later picks.

We should have been targeting Ben King or Bailey Smith AND Thomas, not Jarred Polec.

Is it because the AFL are trying to find a way not to release the details of the case and just hand down the punishment?

Are they trying to construct a framework by which the everyday supporter gets no information and we never understand the allegations or the system behind the punishment?

I can't help but feel a lot of the media have been briefed to commence the whitewash of the process. So many already have started playing judge, jury and executioner without a shred of public evidence.

When you consider this against the reaction to Melbourne/Smith today. "We have to let due process play out", "We can't rush to judge the club" etc etc. Two different tacts.
You know exactly why the situations are playing out differently.

303807373cbcd2fa9666465c183b0da8

I'm not sure it can be compared to the Smith case, that's a six month long WADA investigation.

As for the "delay" I'd probably prefer they take as long as they need. They can't rush this stuff because footy fans have a vested interest in a player. Judgements on how the AFL have played it I can reserve until everything is done.

The media is just being the media. They got fed a drop of blood in the water last week that probably shouldn't have happened.

Exactly, it's also incorrect to imply that we could have had Butters if we chose not to match on TT and not trade out our first round pick. Our original first round pick ended up being pick 14, which was two picks after Butters was already gone. Pick 8 was only available to us from the moment Adelaide bid on TT and we chose to match, it was obviously never ours to take any other player still on the board.

Hindsight draft articles are bad enough at the best of times, but when they are kicking you for not selecting a player that wouldn't have even be available, it says more about the article's author than it does about any error made by the club!
What about John Patton, never saw the media kicking the Giants for picking him up at #1, only to traded off to hawthorn for minimal value and then stood down for sending inappropriate images to women. Every opportunity to kick our club and make us look a shambles.

enough with the victim mentality, he is a prawn , nobody could have foreseen his behavioural scenario, cut him loose and move on, we got some absolute ripper kids on the list now, dont need blokes like him hanging round and reflecting poorly on them.

Spot on! It's such lazy, cheap "expert journalism" to retrospectively point out a high draft pick that would have been better used elsewhere, every club has done it, pretty easy to pick one (and ignore all of the other ones!) to suit their current pile on.

To have any credibility, Healy should be able to point to his article or quote from November 2018, where he, with exactly the same information about TT that we all had at that point, categorically stated that North had made a terrible error in choosing to draft him. Of course he can't, neither he or any other of the well paid 'experts' in the AFL media had that opinion then. Amazing how easy it is to be an 'expert' with the benefit of five years of hindsight!

How? Port Adelaide had pick 10. Rozee would not have slipped down that far, and Butters would have been taken at Pick 10. If we kept Pick 11, no Butters available.
We should have been targeting Ben King or Bailey Smith AND Thomas, not Jarred Polec.
True

I don’t believe he has changed his ways. We have a case of an immature dickhead that has delusions of grandeur.

But I also don’t believe he is Charles Manson like the picture that is being painted.

I also don’t believe for a second that this is a one way street and the female is Mary Poppins being attacked by a psychotic Dick Van Dyke. There’s truth somewhere in the middle.

At the end of the day I’m not really concerned with the outcome itself, more the consistency of process and the double standards that are applied to instances of a similar nature. I believe the responsibility around player behaviour should fall to the clubs as they are the ones dealing worth the individual on a daily basis, not the governing body.

I don’t believe this for a second, North would’ve been aware of everything, it’s just an easy out for them in front of the media.
Pointing the media to the afl to talk on the matter.
So you are admitting that people tell lies and fabricate the truth to suit their agenda?

Interesting concept.

Port used North's natural pick (11) as well as pick 23, 30, 49 to trade up into Rozee (Pick 6) and future third.

Which eventually got in Melbourne's hands for Trent Rivers.

North was one of the first in the position to capitalise on NGA and F/S bidding but completely ****ed the strategy.

Instead of trying to get ahead of the bid like many do now and double dip on top draft picks, we viewed the pick as a burnable asset and overpaid on a player like Polec and matched Thomas with later picks.

That pick 11 ended up at 14 (used by GWS to draft Jackson Hately) because of FA comp and matched bids. Out natural first rounder wouldn't have got us Butters.

Burning 11(14) on Polec (and Pittard) was a poor use of the asset and we could have potentially attempted to trade ahead of a TT bid. However, given a bid came earlier than expected for him, that strategy may have back fired if we had paid a premium for a pick we assumed we would use before a bid, only to have it swallowed up when the early bid came.

All what ifs now though, we didn't do well at the pointy end of the 2018 draft, we could have done it differently, it may or may not have worked out better. Count our blessings we got Bailey Scott for a steal later in the draft!

Have you threatened your SOs? Have you gloated about your abuse of others and said that you'll do it again? Do you think it's routine for AFL players to say these things? Pull the other ******* one. This is well worth reporting. And it's well worth punishing.

There's absolutely ******* nothing to be torn about, and if you think there is, you need to take off your North-coloured glasses

Settle down, jeez Lol

Put him in a pies jumper etc wed not even be having this discussion. It would be the end of the afl if a collingwood player got 18 weeks for sending text messages.

We don't even know what the charge is?

Settle down, jeez Lol

Put him in a pies jumper etc wed not even be having this discussion. It would be the end of the afl if a collingwood player got 18 weeks for sending text messages.

We don't even know what the charge is?
And that is where the problem lies with anything the AFL does.

Dustin Martin actually threatened physical harm to someone with a pair of chopsticks and the AFL did **** all. Next minute nasty text messages and they are going all Robocop.

And that is where the problem lies with anything the AFL does.

Dustin Martin actually threatened physical harm to someone with a pair of chopsticks and the AFL did * all. Next minute nasty text messages and they are going all Robocop.
They’ve had plenty of chances to send a message, including through their media partners, ffs they had a commentator glass his misses on holiday.
He gets a hall pass, yet TT sending some text messages gets hauled over the coals.

Yeah mate TT is held to a different standard

They’ve had plenty of chances to send a message, including through their media partners, ffs they had a commentator glass his misses on holiday.
He gets a hall pass, yet TT sending some text messages gets hauled over the coals.

Yeah mate TT is held to a different standard
I don’t see this as much of a TT thing, this is the AFL protecting their financial interests by selectively applying when they want to get involved.

There is just no consistency to anything they do.

People are naive if they think this same process would be applied if it involved one of their star players, big clubs or expansion teams etc.

The AFL know they can use a small club to promote a message and gain some social brownie points because it doesn’t impact their bank balance. As pointed out if this was Collingwood the AFL would leave this well alone as they know to get that large a supporter base off side doesn’t end well for them.

That’s why players like Martin and DeGoey were hit with a wet lettuce leaf. Got to keep the masses happy, because they keep the bonuses flowing.

Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October