Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October

It is..
as someone who grew up around domestic violence, it is.

This doesn’t make sense.

I’m sorry for what you went through but that’s your experience not the experience of every other person in the world.

Just because you are a man doesn’t mean your life, experienced horrors etc aren’t worth as much as if you are a women.

That’s insane

The irony of course being, that this sort of behaviour is common place among the upper levels of management of companies who sponsor football.

Hypocrisy abounds.
Hell it gets you to head of the International Money Fund.

As s*t a bloke as Tarryn is and as ****** unacceptable as this s**t is, he's going to need support from somewhere - club, aflpa, etc - so he doesnt completely spiral

A sad situation all round, not least for his victim
Perhaps his manager could finally do something and help him in this area, his silence throughout this whole saga speaks volumes.

I'm 100 per certain a detailed psychological and otherwise assessment of Tarryn would find a deeply traumatised individual who yes, has pretty limited academic skills.

There's a theory that people who experience immense trauma can be "frozen" at that point in their development.

How old was Tarryn when they moved to Tassie?

14/15?

Reckon something pretty traumatic would have happened in Sydney to spark the move, he's probably stayed about there mentally.
Arrested Development (not the TV show).

Cant wait to see him ripping it up at another club next year where everything will be forgotten and any past issues will be blamed on our "weak culture" and "poor leadership"
Yes because everything that's happened to date points to him turning his life and career around. FFS.

Dunno The Warlord. There's at least 5 clubs who could list him, be showered with media kisses for "taking a chance" and have the PR control to do it with no downside.

Clubs don't normally do it though, they still have to explain it to the board and sponsors, the fans and probably telling in this case, in the modern era, their AFLW contingent. What is an example of a club doing this and pulling it off? Ben Cousins was out for two years and Mike Sheahan has him as a top 50 all time player (and even then it wasn't anything special, his Richmond run). Tarryn is a wildly talented, sometimes brilliant but definitely inconsistent footballer.

I'm more on the side with The Warlord that it's going to take two years of incredibly well behaved state league footy to even get considered. The optics in 2024 don't assist Tarryn at all, nobody needs to be seen to be reforming an abuser (Indigenous or no). Some will despise this as their prerogative but the female voice in the AFL has never been stronger. The risk far exceeds the reward for 2025 at the very least.

The irony of course being, that this sort of behaviour is common place among the upper levels of management of companies who sponsor football.

Hypocrisy abounds.
Is it really? More the exception than the norm I'd say. Big companies constantly training and reminding staff of acceptable behavior standards, and yes I've worked at 1 or 2 who've sponsored afl clubs.

Arrested Development (not the TV show).

High Five Arrested Development GIF

This doesn’t make sense.

I’m sorry for what you went through but that’s your experience not the experience of every other person in the world.

Just because you are a man doesn’t mean your life, experienced horrors etc aren’t worth as much as if you are a women.

That’s insane
Call me insane all you want.
there’s so many different types of abuse and I’m not downplaying the severity of any of it for a second.
but it is

That suggests we’ve been toxic or have helped put him in this situation. I don’t buy this cut ties from both. Stay on the list and get the best deal

Call me insane all you want.
there’s so many different types of abuse and I’m not downplaying the severity of any of it for a second.
but it is

Of course, there are degrees to anything.

We've learnt (or I've learnt) that domestic violence can include a person telling another person to **** off. Obviously that pales in comparison to a person setting their partner on fire.

But you said

"Abuse to a woman is worse than abuse to a man"

So just to clarify, when this woman broke into her ex boyfriend's home, lighting he and his new girlfriend on fire, it was worse because a woman was killed? The man, that didn't really matter as much?

We pay most of his wage and we get nothing in return? How is that a great deal?
No go play xbox and well see what trade offers come in.
Be prepared for none, that man won’t be on an AFL list in 2025

Here's 50k and piss off.
No way we pay him close to his salary.
I hope he's deregistered so he can't play for anyone else either.
You’d think, a lot of his last contract would have been front loaded

It is..
as someone who grew up around domestic violence, it is.
We will agree to disagree.

No doubt TT has gone through pain and trauma in his upbringing - so do many people both aboriginal and non aboriginal. Tarryn has had more support around him than most people who’ve been through pain and trauma.

TT had the resources of NMFC and the AFL providing a personalised program and mentoring to help him with his issues but he’s turned around and thrown it back in the faces of those who tried to help.

Don’t try and make this about 200+ years of race relations in Australia.

Of course, there are degrees to anything.

We've learnt (or I've learnt) that domestic violence can include a person telling another person to * off. Obviously that pales in comparison to a person setting their partner on fire.

But you said

"Abuse to a woman is worse than abuse to a man"

So just to clarify, when this woman broke into her ex boyfriend's home, lighting he and his new girlfriend on fire, it was worse because a woman was killed? The man, that didn't really matter as much?

Pluck an instance from the sea, how many women are killed by men each in Australia?

Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October