VelvetSledge
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- Other Teams
- Liverpool FC, Melbourne Storm

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 9
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
MORE than 12 hours had passed since Saad El-Hawli had last eaten or had anything to drink when he sat down on the interchange bench just before 7.30pm last Thursday night. The 23-year-old was about to make his debut for Essendon at Marvel Stadium, but the devout Muslim was also in the final days of Ramadan.
As the sun set over Docklands, El-Hawli broke fast. He ate a date, a muffin, a jam sandwich and squeezed down a few energy gels after the first siren blasted. Starting as the sub against Port Adelaide, the mature-age recruit had enough time to replenish his energy ahead of a night he had dreamed about for years, but seldom thought possible.
Wouldn't mind it if he could be for us what Wanganeen-Milera is for the Saints.
Utterly crucial consideration for this club I agreeLuckily it moves backwards so he'll be retired by the next time it impacts finals. Next year will be the last time it will be happening during the season until 2039.
![]()
pretty solid, came on earlier than he probably wanted to but did some great thingsHowd we go last night bombers fans? Unforuntately didnt watch the game
reckon he'd be handy in the wet, but he was nowhere last weekA good change, boy needs to play, reckon either full game or VFL.
Hard for him to prove his worth and keep form as the sub every week
Terrible, next stop selling home games to the map of tassie.Howd we go last night bombers fans? Unforuntately didnt watch the game
Not sure he is at that stage yet. I agree he struggled last night but he has also been sub a few weeks in a row. Has areas he has to improve in including his decisions as far as kicking the footy go. He still says rookie for another year to me. The fact is he has played AFL.Won't surprise if he is delisted at years end. For all the good he does, he goes missing for large periods and often bites off more than he can chew.
Understand he is a real point of difference but wrong place, wrong time? won't surprise
This is a no-brainer. He has all the tools. You have to back your development team in to get him AFL conditioned. He looks far more likely as a game-changing line breaker than anyone on our list. Not sure what Yoda is smoking but the kid has had about half a year on an AFL program (injury taken into account).Not sure he is at that stage yet. I agree he struggled last night but he has also been sub a few weeks in a row. Has areas he has to improve in including his decisions as far as kicking the footy go. He still says rookie for another year to me. The fact is he has played AFL.
This is where im at. Don't get me wrong, has all the tools to have an influence on games but just6 not doing it enough.As harsh as it sounds, if you're not impacting as a mature aged recruit in your first year and a half you're a chance to be delisted. Not writing him off but it's a chance
In one game ? Or are we counting sub games as well.This is where im at. Don't get me wrong, has all the tools to have an influence on games but just6 not doing it enough.
across all gamesIn one game ? Or are we counting sub games as well.
He has had two games where he has been a bit quiet across the whole game and one was when he was subbed in for Bryan at AFL. Saturday he still had 17 touches and he worked up and back down his wing. Yes he has areas to improve but he was still working well on Saturday. He held his width on the wing okay. Problem was he ended up on the side that had less play. The wing can be like that and he would be instructed to play his side and not chase the football.across all games
He was doing really nicely last year before ankle injury, missed games and came back and only just got going at the end of the year.
In the end, he is 23, was brought in as a mature aged player. If that development is just not there then id suggest he could be in some trouble. Saving grace is the ability to retain him on the rookie list.
So you will be surprised if he is delisted now ?Who knew that with greater opportunity comes greater opportunity, with greater opportunity comes greater results
Composed and saluted for his first goal too