Player Watch #5: Caleb Daniel

Are players working hard enough into space for him to hit targets?
What space? There isn't any in his kicking range - except sideways or backwards.

The way teams defend these days you can't chip kick your way through. You have to go at them or they'll suffocate you. Caleb can't do this so needs players running from behind him or we just get stuck.

What space? There isn't any in his kicking range - except sideways or backwards.

The way teams defend these days you can't chip kick your way through. You have to go at them or they'll suffocate you. Caleb can't do this so needs players running from behind him or we just get stuck.
Fair point

29 today - the question is would any other team above us on the ladder put him in their team if we offered a free transfer plus paid his wage next year?
No No No GIF

29 today - the question is would any other team above us on the ladder put him in their team if we offered a free transfer plus paid his wage next year?
I'd like Brady to do a full time-share style video presentation on him to other clubs then try to close the sale with:

"So who wouldn't want a popular premiership ALL Australian defender on their list? Am I right!

Normally a player of this calibre would cost you multiple 1st round picks. But (looks around as if the boss is listening) only for today, if you sign today it'll be for the one time price of a single second rounder! This kind of offer comes once in a lifetime!"

Sam Power (standing up to leave) "You're not wrong, we did our once in lifetime Caleb Daniel deal last year. Good luck Brady"

Blair Hartley consoles Rawlings "Hey don't worry about that flog mate. You're a good performer, he's just scared of you"

Brady "Thanks mate"

Hartley "We still good for the Gibcus deal?"

Brady "2 future firsts?"

Hartley "Yeh that's it. That's pretty severe, I'll have to get it past the board wish me luck"

Brady "Would Hardeman get it over the line?"

Hartley stifles a fist pump "Hopefully mate. Hopefully"

The dogs were never going to keep him.

He’s free to a good home

Nmfc please take our 2nd rounder
Shambolic, but that's us in the past, only onwards and upwards from here.

25 for 2022 Caleb is is still too much, the fact that we paid this for a bloke who can't defend and can't kick 40 meters is indicative of what we've truly, sorta become.

Yeah, we're improving (pretty much every week) but it's hard to improve with the open boom-gate at our defensive end of the ground. Impossible in fact.

He's hopefully keeping Goaters place warm until such time as he can return (in that sense he's really ok) but needs to go when they're all back fit and able.

There is some pretty strong vitriol in here for a player who is busting his gut week in/week out to try and make our Club better.

Has anyone actually conducted any statistical analysis on how he fares with other players in his position or is it just eye test character assassination.
Probably wouldn't be out of line calling it what it is. An unnecessary hindrance is probably about as cutting as you can be these days.

There is some pretty strong vitriol in here for a player who is busting his gut week in/week out to try and make our Club better.

Has anyone actually conducted any statistical analysis on how he fares with other players in his position or is it just eye test character assassination.
When you have ex-Doggy supporters expressing how far he has fallen + The media, then it’s not just us punters on the BF board who think he is a bad trade and recruit.

He would be the least effective +25 (average per match) disposal player in the competition. Some of his defense lowlights below.

Attachments

• IMG_2489.png
    IMG_2489.png
    42.2 KB · Views: 35
It looks like we Brady'd the Caleb Daniel deal.

It’s amazing how the eye test character assassination correlates with statistical analysis - he’s shit

He was brought in to be our back half distributor and run transition from our defense. We can't get it out of there. A player like Daniel is always a risk because he is such a defensive liability; his attacking game has to be really good to make up for this. It hasn't come close. In a way, you can't blame him as he simply doesn't have the tools to do the job. But we have to get him out of our defense, he is killing us back there.

He was brought in to be our back half distributor and run transition from our defense. We can't get it out of there. A player like Daniel is always a risk because he is such a defensive liability; his attacking game has to be really good to make up for this. It hasn't come close. In a way, you can't blame him as he simply doesn't have the tools to do the job. But we have to get him out of our team, he is killing us.
EFA

Hoping the guy had a great birthday.

Reckon he is trying too hard. Sometimes things get worse when you just try to do too much. Reminds me of Lmac from last year and previous.

Needs to simplify things.

Reckon we don't win the West Coast game (received coaches votes) without him and in our four wins he has generally made important contributions.

He is currently coming 134th on total clangers in 2025, as a reference Nasiah is coming 2nd, Zorko is coming 21st, Colby is coming 80th. He unsurprisingly rates poorly when compared with other general defenders in 1vs1 contests.

I don't think he is going great by any means, but the stuff being written about him on here is ridiculous and not backed up by the data. You'd hope a few on here would have learned that 16 games is a poor sample size to judge recruits on after
Stephens' year.

It must be a nuffy moon because all the nuffies are out in force.

A player who has played more AFL than any nuffies on here is now the problem because we traded some junk pick for him that was gonna get us some future champion.

Nuffies gonna nuff.

It must be a nuffy moon because all the nuffies are out in force.

A player who has played more AFL than any nuffies on here is now the problem because we traded some junk pick for him that was gonna get us some future champion.

Nuffies gonna nuff.
The problem? He is one of a multitude of problems. But a problem he is. Nuffy or no nuffy. 👊🏼💥

I wonder who takes more strides to cover 5m, Caleb or Barney Rubble?
My new past time is watching how many players run past or away from Caleb in a footy game. It makes for a good drinking game if you like passing out.

Reckon we don't win the West Coast game (received coaches votes) without him and in our four wins he has generally made important contributions.

He is currently coming 134th on total clangers in 2025, as a reference Nasiah is coming 2nd, Zorko is coming 21st, Colby is coming 80th. He unsurprisingly rates poorly when compared with other general defenders in 1vs1 contests.

I don't think he is going great by any means, but the stuff being written about him on here is ridiculous and not backed up by the data. You'd hope a few on here would have learned that 16 games is a poor sample size to judge recruits on after
Stephens' year.
It's nice to avoid clangers, but that isn't really the best way to judge these players' performance. Their job is to transition the ball out of defense so their team can score. It is an attacking role. Have a look at all stats related to that and you will see how far Caleb is behind Nas and Zorko. Metres gained, score involvements, goals, kick threat rating: he isn't in the ballpark.

As far as ball retention goes, he isn't that great either. Whilst he has slightly more disposals per turnover, that is only because he isn't taking the game on with his kicking, his retention rating is actually worse.

This all confirms the eye test. When Nas or Zorko get it they take off forwards and try to get through and out the back of the defense. When Caleb gets the ball, he props, looks around, scuttles sideways, chips backwards. It just lets the opposition set up their zone and we get trapped.

Player Watch #5: Caleb Daniel