Slammer

Port Adelaide
Newcastle Unt. UK, Seattle Seahawks
I guess I’m paranoid, but I have such a dislike for Steven Rowe that I have not listened to 5aa since he has been on air. A Bogan Crow man and an ex-Crow coach know-all are too much to bear! The 5aa Sports Show is really the Pro Crow Show IMO.

As much as KG was a “goose” and one-eyed Crow, he was easier to like than Cornsey - the arrogant one – so I could tolerate the show for much of the time.

Also because there is not a real alternative week-day sports show.

Has anyone been listening, if so, what’s the verdict? :rolleyes:

not as bad as I thought.

positives

1 - rowey actually knows what is happening in sports outside of AFL football and Test cricket.
2 - they have gone out of the way to ensure port gets 50% of the AFL interviews. Actually quite funny how they keep making a point of it.
3 - rowey is showing up cornesy in the arguments, rather than just saying the same thing all night like KG use to. He can actually debate
4 - the bogan factor is good
5 - rowey asks the questions we actually want to ask and is not doing the love in with every thing the interviewee is saying.

negatives

1 - cornes stil has no sence of humour
2 - cornes still has no knowledge of other sports
3 - cornes still talks about himself all the time.

The only time i switch to 5aa is when someone here says a port person is about to be interviewed. Even then i usually just wait for the podcast. As annoying as rowie can be i tend to agree with missionpossible's view above

Can I request that 5aa doesn't become to us what The Footy Show is to the Crows?

As in, it being something we apparently take joy in saying we don't listen to, while exhibiting that we do?

Can I request that 5aa doesn't become to us what The Footy Show is to the Crows?

As in, it being something we apparently take joy in saying we don't listen to, while exhibiting that we do?
I neither listen to 5AA nor watch the Footy Show. Fact.

I tried to listen last week but couldn't stomach it.

One thing that is obvious is that Rowe has been given instructions to tone it down from the get go.

I tried to listen last week but couldn't stomach it.

One thing that is obvious is that Rowe has been given instructions to tone it down from the get go.

I listen to the show, because there aren't any other radio sport shows in Adelaide.

I would have to agree with BomberClifford and that is Rowey has toned down quite considerably compared to when he was on the Sunday Roast show.

I don't know why anyone would bag 5AA. I just listened to 4:20 and really enjoyed it. :thumbsu:

I'm not familiar with these guys and didn't realise it was Rowe who gave us the classic "Go and get stuffed" quote. :p

If I get alerted on here that one of our guys will be on the show and it's an interesting time for the club I'll listen if there's a radio handy. Each time it's been good value. Haysman and Choco last year was a good listen. It's not normally my cup of tea though.

I keep mentioning this but for mine ABC 891 is the best coverage on match day.

The other arvo I tuned in for a bit and Rowe was alright.

Yet another idiot sent in an email about our losses and that if they continue for a few years in a row the SANFL should take the licence off us and give it to 'someone else'.

Cornes felt a tingle and wanted to discuss it further and Rowe was completely dismissive, "nup never happen, won't happen, not worth talking about".

I am actually really enjoying it.

Rowey is fine and much better than KG.

I agree completely.

Rowey on Sunday = Australian jock and too hardcore.

Sports show defintely toned down and is just a paraochial South Aussie more than a die hard Corw man.

KG for the last couple of years was one of those people as they got older started to sounded more childish than mature, his laughing at any joke funny or not was tiresome, his lack of general sporting knowledge was underwhelming.

Let's not be a supporter base with a chip on our shoulder, we have been the best club for 130 years and will continue to do so for the next 130, 2009 will prove it.

Heard the interview with Matt Thomas this arvo. Easiest way to make sure Roey gives us a good run is get someone who plays for Norwood on. Loved the way Thomas played for Norwood. Encouraged him to go and give someone a shirt front in the first game.

Thomas and Lower should be regulars seeing as Rodan has never played a game there but is allocated to them. Pity Cockshell and Minson have been cut.