80's music...

[And vomits again ...]

------------------
TT - Obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

Originally posted by TigerTank:
And Georgio Moroder's (Human League) songs still sound great.

There is a Human League tribute album out now called "Reproductions" on March Records. I've seen it at Missing Link and AuGoGo. As far as tribute albums go, it's one of the better ones. On the album are the Aluminium Group (love their version of Love Action), the Sixths with Lloyd Cole, Future Bible Heroes, Momus, hollAnd, Barcelona and plenty of others. A few stay so close to the originals that you're probably better off dusting of Dare and giving that a spin.
smile.gif

Originally posted by Olmy:
Don't forget R.E.M., there Shinner's! Possibly the absolute standout of the 80's (and beyond).

This probably qualifies me to be burnt at the stake in the indie world, but I was never a big REM fan. I did love the Document album though.

Originally posted by Olmy:
Umm, that would have been from '91.

Why don't you try 'Green' ('89), 'Murmur' ('83), or 'Reckoning' ('84).

I will try to keep an open mind - something that doesn't come easy to most Richmond supporters.

------------------

Originally posted by Shinboners:
There is a Human League tribute album out now called "Reproductions" on March Records.

Still, probably worth having a look though SB.

But then, if it ain't on vinyl 12" single then it ain't gonna sound the same.

------------------

BTW: Who the hell is buying that Puff Daddy/Craig David/Destiny's Child-rubbish in Australia?

TT - meet the Essendon cheer squad. Bombers cheer squad - meet the obligatory bad tempered Tiger.

------------------
He's blonde, he's quick
He's got a massive ... err ... kick
Danny Chook! Danny Chook!

I left one out before

The Unguarded Moment - The Church

THE greatest ever Australian rock song.

I thank you again.

------------------
He's blonde, he's quick
He's got a massive ... err ... kick
Danny Chook! Danny Chook!

'Run to Paradise' - Choirboys for a little gem of a pubrock song.

But the two stand outs are both H&C's.
'Throw your arms around me' and for a slightly different sensation, anytime they played 'Say Goodbye' and a pub full of blokes singing (?!?) along to the line "you dont make me feel, like im a woman anymore" is something to experience!

Mr.Ripper. 'I like it both ways', yeeasssss another countdown refugee i see
biggrin.gif

Whenever I think of 1980s music, I tend to think of one song:

We built this city (on rock 'n roll)

Eye of the Tiger from Survivor in 1982 is also very "80's".

But really, when you talkk 1980's, one man stands out, whether you like him or not.......Michael Jackson.

Shinboner and Olmy - thank god for RRR...

80' s Australian gems...

Gobetweens
Triffids
Lightbousekeepers
Laughing Clowns
Beasts of Bourbon
Cruel Sea
Moodists
Bad Seeds/ Birthday Party
Clouds
Dave Graney and the White Buffalos
Chad's Tree

And hell even...

Hoodoo Gurus (up to Mars Needs Guitars)
Paul Kelly (pre-Gossip)
and even Hunters (up to Human Fraility)
Models (up til Pleasure of your Company)

OS gems:

REM (pre: Warner Bros deal - go and listen to life's rich pageant shiner)
Smiths (particularly Queen is Dead and 1st albums)
Sonic Youth (Teenage Riot)
Dinosaur Jr
Pixies (up to Dolittle)
Jesus and Mary Chain
Stone Roses (last 80s)
Billy Bragg (until the 3rd album)
Husker Du and Sugar
Soft Cell
The Cramps
New Order
etc etc

If you'd moved your radio dial off 3XY guys you might have had a great time...

Dutchy

Sadly, RRR is only a shadow of its former glory. Over the holidays, I heard Kate Paton and Chris Hatzis on the radio chatting about movies....it reminded me of classic RRR breakfasters.....sadly though, they were on the ABC and not RRR.

I'm not sure if I told you this, but another Melbourne institution bites the dust, this time, the Black Cat Cafe. It's now closed and will come back as the Black Cat Caberet.

Cheers
SB

"Burn down the disco,
Hang the blessed DJ,
'cos the music that they constantly play,
It says nothing to me about my life"
- "Panic", the Smiths

Kate PAton or KAte Langbrook?
3LO or 3JJJ?
Is Tony Moclair giving Chris Hatzis royalty cheques for Hatziz "wogs out of work type" character?
Not the blackcat... NOOOOO!!!!!!! Its not big enough to fit a cabaret into anyway...

All very depressing? What of James "the hound dog" Young - still on 3LO doing face in the crowd footy stuff? and David "the body" Vodica - still runnign rubber record label?

I mixed a CD off my Napster the other day, 70s 80s 90s...

The 80s tracks are:

John Cougar - I Need A Lover That Won't Drive Me Crazy... The guy figured it out to a tee. Put a two and a half minute guitar solo at the START of the song, and you've got a winner.

Great White - 80s LA Glam-metal cover of "Once Bitten Twice Shy". Great stuff, if not a bit piano-heavy.

Survivor - Eye of the Tiger. A true anthem.

Status Quo - Whatever You Want. Da da da da DUM da DUM da DUM. Hang on that could have been 100 of their other songs...

Dexy's Midnight Runners - Come On Eileen...yes I admit it, I like this song.

Grendel noted:
Mr.Ripper. 'I like it both ways', yeeasssss another countdown refugee i see
biggrin.gif

Whoever it was at the ABC that was responsible for the wiping of nearly all the Countdowns from that 1975/76 era should be burnt at the stake.
mad.gif
At least they still have the episode where Molly asks HRH Chuck how his mum's going!
biggrin.gif

On the sad side here I'm going to open an unexplored avenue by mentioning the likes of

Bon Jovi
Poison
Skid Row

I can hear you all howling from here. And just to make it worse

U2 (Got to give them extra points for longevity)

I agree wholeheartedly with the Femmes comment earlier.

And a couple of songs from the 80's lacking real messages :

I wear my sunglasses at night
Stroke
The Nips are getting bigger

Just to mention a few.

Originally posted by The Dutchman!:
Kate PAton or KAte Langbrook?
3LO or 3JJJ?
Is Tony Moclair giving Chris Hatzis royalty cheques for Hatziz "wogs out of work type" character?
Not the blackcat... NOOOOO!!!!!!! Its not big enough to fit a cabaret into anyway...

All very depressing? What of James "the hound dog" Young - still on 3LO doing face in the crowd footy stuff? and David "the body" Vodica - still runnign rubber record label?

It was Kate Paton (to non-RRR people, YES, she was the one that used to co-host Sportsworld and YES, she was the one that once went out with Wayne Campbell back in 1995). I wish Kate Langbroek would disappear (her talent does not justify how often she appears in the media).

It was on 3LO. Kate was doing the summer shift, her voice is as silky smooth as ever.

I have no idea what James Young is doing these days apart from getting fat and losing his hair. His wife Miranda now writes video reviews for the Hun.

I don't think Rubber Records is around anymore.

AuGoGo have moved.

Not too sure if you ever knew Robbie Cooper (ex-Earthmen, Sugargliders, Pencil Tin, indie personality around town), but he's released his debut CD on Library Records.

Replying to Dutchman :

Gobetweens - liked em a bit
Triffids - liked em
Lightbousekeepers - dunno em
Laughing Clowns - dunno em
Beasts of Bourbon - love em
Cruel Sea - love em
Moodists - dunno em
Bad Seeds/ Birthday Party - love em, saw seeds
Clouds - loved em, saw em
Dave Graney and the White Buffalos - sortah liked em
Chad's Tree - dunno em

Hoodoo Gurus - like em
Paul Kelly - like him
Hunters - adore em (42 wheels, betty's worry, holdin' down ad, way to go out)
Models - liked em

REM - like em
Smiths - hate em
Sonic Youth - like em
Dinosaur Jr - dunno which songs were theirs
Pixies - dunno which songs were theirs
Jesus and Mary Chain - as above
Stone Roses - hate em
Billy Bragg - s'ok
Husker Du and Sugar - dunno em
Soft Cell - s'ok
The Cramps - like em
New Order - like em

-------------

Also, v.spy.v.spy - loved em
Radiators - were they 80s?
Painters & Dockers - were they 80s?

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Heh ... liked Poison.

Europe was amusing, think I have a copy of that album on tape here somewhere.

I wear my sunglasses at night - I have another of Corey Hart's albums.
Stroke - dunno this one.
The Nips are getting bigger - Grouse toon!

I believe I have the Bros album here somewhere, too ... {await thump}

Okay flood time :

Big Pig Cattletruck Chantoozies Julian Cope Mel and kim Blow Monkeys Schnell Fenster Underworld Scatterbrain Dave Dobbyn Roxette Timbuk3 Transvision Vamp ...

(That was just reading a few casette covers)

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

What a decade. So many memories. I remember seeing Not Drowning Waving some time in the 80's. What was that place called in Greville St that's now the Continental? Saw Lucinda Williams there too, supported by Stephen Cummings. Now that was a classic gig. Saw Devo at the start of the 80's, at Festival Hall. They went off. Cosmic Psychos, Falling Joys, TISM when it was all new and they were kinda funny and scathing at the same time.

Midnight Oil I liked until Red Sails. I loved Wall of Voodoo/Stan Ridgway. Strange Tenants. My brother went through a ska phase just before he discovered California punk. So I heard a bit of No Nonsense, Specials, The Allnighters. Hunters and Collecters - weren't they great about the time of The Slab. That for me is still the quintessential eighties song. And Talking To A Stranger. Sunnyboys. The Fall. The Divinyls. The Celibate Rifles.

Talking Heads. INXS around the time of The Swing. Early Cure. The The. Elvis Costello - he was all over the eighties.

Sorry, I'm rambling now. I love that decade. As someone said earlier, there was great music in the eighties, you just have to find it.

BTW: Who the hell is buying that Puff Daddy/Craig David/Destiny's Child-rubbish in Australia?

I would imagine the same sort of people that barrack for Essendon

RogerC: Continental used to be called ID's...

Can't believe I left The Fall off my list - Mark E.Smith will be coming down to london any tick of the clock with an iron bar....

Not Drowning Waving - very good.

MobbenF: chees for the ratings - really feels like stepping back in time this thread.

Shinner: I left before Kate L got her media status up - though I did see the Panel last year when home which looked pretty damn tired - as did Rob Sitch. Didn't overly like Kate Paton - think she went to school with an ex-girlfriend who didn't like her and bitched every time she came on so maybe some updue bias crept in.

Know the Earthmen (not personally). You wouldn't happen to know a mate (semi-known Melbourne indie guy: James McDonald - beanpole thin - long hair - nice bloke - about 24 now? - good guitar player.)