Senior 9. Patrick Cripps

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

He's the best young kid I've seen at our club in 46 years as a supporter & we've had some good ones. To be achieving the output he has in his first full season at the club (last year was ruined by his broken leg) goes beyond anything that has gone before him.
I don't think anyone - including Kouta - was this good, this early.

I've gone through in my head all our greats of the last 46 years & I can't come up with anyone who was playing such a high standard of football at the same age. Southby was very good from the get go, but he was older than what Cripps was when he first arrived at the club.

Wayne Harmes wasn't too shabby at an early age - Norm Smith medallist and represented Victoria in 1979 at age 19.

Fair point. I thought of him & it was a fantastic effort to win the Norm Smith Medal in '79, although he wasn't BOG in that Grand Final, but overall I don't believe he was playing at the same level that Cripps already is.

The mainboard is always right, so sakc delist etc.

Cripps is a very good plodder (wut) and Hogan is the best thing since sliced bread. Remember that time he cured cancer in round 4 against Richmond!

You are correct. Didn't think we'd have an award named after a player while he was still on the list, but I guess Judd can be an exception.
This is odd. What are the chances of Weitering winning the Patrick Cripps award next year?

The money has really come in for Hogan since yesterday (which is crap considering Hogan's really done nothing in the previous 4-5 weeks)

Resigned myself to Hogan winning it, it's a pathetic, politically motivated award,they stuffed up last year's award by giving it to a plodder in Taylor instead of The Bont. You can argue that Hogan is a worthy winner, but of the crap spouted by jerks like Derm and Alastair Lynch, so dismissive of Cripps' season, makes my blood boil.

In any other year, Cripps would have won, its just so disappointing, influential flogs in the media have pre-determined the likely outcome.

Hogan has won it for sure because how often in the last 10 yrs has a 20yr old kicked 40 plus goals in a season? (Answer is 2012 and 2013 when both cracked 50).

Seriously think it should be a tie between Cripps and Hogan, it certainly would be the fairest, most equitable outcome.

Not sure if the voting system allows for it though.

Especially for a a Richmond fan

Seriously think it should be a tie between Cripps and Hogan, it certainly would be the fairest, most equitable outcome.

Not sure if the voting system allows for it though.
I was supremely confident Cripps would walk it in, when I thought it was voted on per game, like the brownlow. But apparently a selection panel, which is stacked with key forwards and KB, get 5 votes to give to whoever they like. E.g. 5 votes J. Hogan, 4 votes Cripps and so on...

The Rising Star is of no great concern, Hogan would be a worthy enough winner, as would Cripps obviously, but Patrick will certainly earn his plaudits. Maybe something like that little thing called a Brownlow one day...

Carey on talking footy.... "Hogan must win because he is a fwd and if he doesnt a fwd never will"

What a load of crap.
Hogan has it in the bag. Basically these blokes pick their favourite player.

Gillon McLachlan, Mark Evans, Kevin Sheehan, Kevin Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Danny Frawley, Glen Jakovich, Cameron Ling, Matthew Richardson and Warren Tredrea.

Sheehan and Ling might give their votes to Cripps but the rest will vote Hogan for sure.

Reckon there should be a Rising Star - Forward Award, as well as a Rising Star - Mid Award, as well as a Rising Star - Back Award, as well as a Rising Star - Sub Award..........perhaps even a Rising Star - Probably will be traded Award.

This game simply does not have enough awards.

Reckon there should be a Rising Star - Forward Award, as well as a Rising Star - Mid Award, as well as a Rising Star - Back Award, as well as a Rising Star - Sub Award..........perhaps even a Rising Star - Probably will be traded Award.

Or stats for that matter.

The Bounce has the Golden Fist award for best defender..

Roos had a great crack on 360. None of the great forwards have done what Hogan has done. (except of course Darling and Cameron.)

First year player, mate. Not second. Yes, yes, he's 20. Yes, it's his second year on an AFL list, but it's his debut year. You know, no games played. No experience in the AFL. No games under his belt. Developing tall, and all that.

Check out Daniher's stats in his third year - 1 year older.

It took 6 years (nearly 70 games) for today's best forward to have as good (better) a year.

Btw, his first year is better than Darlings. More possessions, marks, contested marks, marks inside 50, goals assist and ratings points. Same average goals.

This won't go down well, so naturally I'll depart. Bye.

First year player, mate. Not second. Yes, yes, he's 20. Yes, it's his second year on an AFL list, but it's his debut year. You know, no games played. No experience in the AFL. No games under his belt. Developing tall, and all that.

It took 6 years (nearly 70 games) for today's best forward to have as good (better) a year.

Btw, his first year is better than Darlings. More possessions, marks, contested marks, marks inside 50, goals assist and ratings points. Same average goals.

This is Hogan's 3rd year.

Yeah your right about that last bit. Goodbye!