THE BIG SOUND WEST OF THE TOWN!
Yes yes a loss is a loss
but i really think that was a good loss for us!

The second term, our shot on goal and turn overs hurt us today

but we just owned the the 1st and 3rd terms and i will say we did well in the 4th too shame we just couldnt creep back in!

I have to give a massive snaps to the young kids today
Vez, Pat, Jack and Bird were all on the ball and gave 100%

Our ruck won us the ball and Jarred McVeigh owned the midfield today

this is something we should take as a positive im really proud of how we played against the 2nd team on the ladder!

We've got a home game against freo next week we should take how we played today and run freo down next week!

Well Done boys!

Soph i have to wholeheartedly agree with you here. Although i'm disappointed with the loss i've taken alot of positives out of the game. I think we showed some positive signs and looked more like a top 6 side against a very good team.

Hopefully we can still finish 4th and get a few of our injured players back in time for the finals...

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Soph I think you must still be drunk.

It was a shit loss! We didn't play on and our goal kicking was woefully, head-bashingly inaccurate. Our tackling sucked for the best part of the day.

The only positives were McHack and the decent debut of 2 young kids. Apart from that :thumbsd:

Clearly I have been reading too many of rancid's posts, I'm feeling horribly negative after that game.

I agree with you Soph. Despite me having to 'sit out' of the second half and oblivious to how the boys played, I believe we can still give finals a shake. Obviously the GF/Premmie is a long way off from here, we still got 4 rounds to go!

There is a lot of potential in our young ones. The seniors have let us down this time but come finals time, experience will help us a lot.

Top 6 side from where I can see.

No such thing as a good loss. A loss is a loss! Theres no good in it. It gives you nothing. We blew Q2 like a team of amateurs and played catch up from there on in.

It was ok IMO we are still cannon fodder against the top 4 sides, i don't give us a chance against the Pies and Geelong.

North will probably overtake us for the 4th spot and i have to say they deserve it.

No such thing as a good loss. A loss is a loss! Theres no good in it. It gives you nothing. We blew Q2 like a team of amateurs and played catch up from there on in.

agreed
i'm spewing, and i'm being told off for feeling this way
we got a four-goal headstart and were pretty much gone before halftime, how heckin'g rubbish is that? why SHOULDN'T i be pssed off?

someone said our defence gets too much criticism, but i think too many of our defenders still think it's 05 or 06 and they can run at will
kennelly, mattner and c bolton have followed leo's lead and become too clever and arrogant running with the ball from defence, they try it too often when sometimes a good 40-50m clearing kick is needed

crouch showed today how it should be done and, as much as he's maligned on this board, LRT wasn't far behind
at least they got it out of the danger zone quickly

but quite simply, after 5 minutes today we had the game in our control
the dogs altered their set-up and completely shut us down til the third quarter
WHY???
what happens to roos and the coaching team that ... well, forgive me if i'm wrong but ... we were totally shut out of the game til we were too far behind???

fck fck FCK, how can everyone be so friggin calm and satisfied?
we lost
again
we lost in the same dumb way we've lost so many times this season
the goalkicking was again a heckin'g disgrace ... the ted richards play-on post hit summed us up perfectly ... stupid and arrogant

What? no i meant they are playing better quality football than us, they have beaten the Bulldogs, Hawthorn, Collingwood.

We have not beaten anyone of quality we are not a top 4 side imo, we fill a niche for 6th to 8th place.

in couple of years time we will have a gun team to match 2006.

veszpremi -superstar in the making
goodes will still be there
jack is class
bird will become a gun
moore is serviceable will follow mcveigh path
mcveigh will become a gun
bevan will become very very good
bolton will still be there
o'keefe is a gun
richards still there
mattner still there
malceski is a gun
jolly is already one of the best ruckmen in the comp.
kirk hopefully there

even though we lost today, we found the blueprint for sucess in the future and that is to match running power with intensity (like geelong), and still maintain the hardness of old. some of these guys are young and look more promising than the youngsters of other teams who are given more freedom to run and carry with less accountability.

We have not beaten anyone of quality we are not a top 4 side imo, we fill a niche for 6th to 8th place.

Yep. I'm guessing 5th or 6th. Our loss against Adelaide will really hurt come seaon's end. Yesterday would have made up for it, but we just didn't have the class or polish when it counted.

Having a look at the run home, and assuming we beat Freo and Brisbane, North will have to beat either Geelong or the Bullies to overtake us (as well as beating Port and Carlton). Adelaide will overtake us if they beat Richmond, Essendon and St Kilda. Or St Kilda will overtake us if they beat (3 of) the Pies, Crows, Freo and Essendon.

It would be a tall order to suggest that results will go away against all 3 of those teams, which pretty much means we're going to have to beat the Cats or Collingwood to stay in 4th. With one win from our last 5 games, anyone willing to take that bet? :o

What? no i meant they are playing better quality football than us, they have beaten the Bulldogs, Hawthorn, Collingwood.

I know what you meant I was just saying that North fans probably will think its 'KARMA' if they happen to take 4th spot from us,Remember the big carry on early this year when they tried to claim they deserved the 2 pts from the draw in the "19th man" game.
Fact is we've been 4th,for 7 weeks having won only 3 games & have only beaten 1 top 8 team this this year.In the past few weeks when its become an issue of perhaps losing the top 4 spot nobody has bothered to point out that if we finish 4th,whilst it means a "double chance"- it also means a 1st up meeting away to Geelong.Finishing 5th or 6th gives us a home final( a more likely win(save, possibly v Collingwood) hence a "double chance" anyhow.

Yep. I'm guessing 5th or 6th. Our loss against Adelaide will really hurt come seaon's end. Yesterday would have made up for it, but we just didn't have the class or polish when it counted.

Having a look at the run home, and assuming we beat Freo and Brisbane, North will have to beat either Geelong or the Bullies to overtake us (as well as beating Port and Carlton). Adelaide will overtake us if they beat Richmond, Essendon and St Kilda. Or St Kilda will overtake us if they beat (3 of) the Pies, Crows, Freo and Essendon.

It would be a tall order to suggest that results will go away against all 3 of those teams, which pretty much means we're going to have to beat the Cats or Collingwood to stay in 4th. With one win from our last 5 games, anyone willing to take that bet? :o

I'll try and avoid a public stoning, but I do reckon we're a chance against our bogey side. They're looking shocking, and it remains to be seen if we'll carry over our intensity from the Bulldogs, which, if we do, could snowball and make us dangerous against the Cats and Pies.

I agree with you. The game against the doggies proved our form is getting better and we have some key players coming back from being injured. We are a good chance to beat the pies.

Soph I think you must still be drunk.

It was a shit loss! We didn't play on and our goal kicking was woefully, head-bashingly inaccurate. Our tackling sucked for the best part of the day.

The only positives were McHack and the decent debut of 2 young kids. Apart from that :thumbsd:

Clearly I have been reading too many of rancid's posts, I'm feeling horribly negative after that game.

Dont be negative mate, there were some good signs, great to read alot of positive posts, reading negative crap, really puts me off bigfooty, I dont mind reading critisism(however bloody spelt), but I prefer it to be constructive, but hey, its an internet footy forum, people can 'vent' whatever they want!...:thumbsu:

in couple of years time we will have a gun team to match 2006.

veszpremi -superstar in the making
goodes will still be there
jack is class
bird will become a gun
moore is serviceable will follow mcveigh path
mcveigh will become a gun
bevan will become very very good
bolton will still be there
o'keefe is a gun
richards still there
mattner still there
malceski is a gun
jolly is already one of the best ruckmen in the comp.
kirk hopefully there

even though we lost today, we found the blueprint for sucess in the future and that is to match running power with intensity (like geelong), and still maintain the hardness of old. some of these guys are young and look more promising than the youngsters of other teams who are given more freedom to run and carry with less accountability.

didn' even read past that!!! SENSATIONAL:thumbsu:

(I get the unintelligible post comments too... coz of my pUNkuatshion!:D)

EXACTLY!!!!

even Roos who I hope we have forever!!!! knows they are doing better than could be expected!!!

agreed..... we have done well for a "supposed bunch of ol' hacks!"

Cheeeszus H Crust you HAD to admire how the young guns put it to them... kick straight and we win... against second on the ladder!!!!!!!!!