• Thread starter Thread starter Dan26

Glass is one of the most versatile - and most misunderstood :( - materials used in the world. Glass can be used for everything from eyeglasses to bottles, windows to the 'glassphalt' you find on the road. Many products called "glass" are actually ceramics and have entirely different manufacturing process than the glass we know.

The ancient Romans made flat glass by rolling out hot glass on a smooth surface. Glass was quite a luxury at the time and only the rich could afford it. By 1668, San Gobain had perfected a "broad glass" method of manufacture that involved blowing long glass cylinders, slitting them and unrolling them to form an almost-flat rectangle. This plate glass was then ground and polished on both sides.

By the late 1800s, glass was being made by blowing a very large cylinder and allowing it to cool before it was cut with a diamond. After being reheated in a special oven, it was flattened and affixed to piece of polished glass which preserved its surface. In 1871, a gentleman named William Pilkington invented a machine that allowed larger sheets of glass to be made. It was the first of a number of marvelous glass-related inventions to come from the Pilkington family.

Manufacturing processes did not change much until 1959 when the float glass process began. In the float process, a continuous strip of molten glass at approximately 1000 degrees centigrade is poured from the furnace onto a bath of molten metal, usually tin. :eek: The glass floats and cools on the tin and spreads out to form a flat surface. Today more than 90 percent of the world's flat glass is made via the float process.

Anyone had any experiences with this substance? ;)

Originally posted by Dan25

Thankyou Lioness. :) I can tell you are a big glass, fan...as am I!

I think deep down, we all are.

Yes, most people just aren't as brave as us Dan, they won't admit it. :D

Actually, I have two rather embarressing stories involving the wonderful, sand derived product we call glass... :eek:

The first one would have to come under the category of 'dumbest way to knock yourself out'.

I was home alone about 3 years ago, and I was walking in the lounge room in my bare feet. I slipped on my wallet which was on the floor, and fell head first through the glass coffee table, shattering the glass with my head, and falling through the wooden frame, where I lay unconcious for a long time (apparently). Mum found me and I came back to life, and amazingly I didn't suffer any cuts!

My second experience comes under 'dumbest way to show your temper'.

I wanted to play 'Pitch n Putt' instead of going to a movie, and my mum wouldn't let me go with a mate. This was about two years ago, and we were outsideon a verandah. I was chucking a tantie, and in my anger I put my fist through a window. I got cuts all over my hand and I suppose that i was lucky not to slash my wrists...and needless to say, mum wasn't impressed.

There are some stupid and embarressing facts about The Hitman that you didin't know...

The Hitman

Glass is good. It brings beer to many people, and if there wasn't any glass, the beer would kinda just sit all over their clothes and in their lap. ;)

Dan, are you doing a thread about cans too? :)

Originally posted by Darky
Glass is good. It brings beer to many people,

I was going to say the same thing! ;)

and if there wasn't any glass, the beer would kinda just sit all over their clothes and in their lap. ;)

Sometimes it ends up on their clothes anyway! :D:D

Originally posted by The Hitman
Actually, I have two rather embarressing stories involving the wonderful, sand derived product we call glass... :eek:

The first one would have to come under the category of 'dumbest way to knock yourself out'.

I was home alone about 3 years ago, and I was walking in the lounge room in my bare feet. I slipped on my wallet which was on the floor, and fell head first through the glass coffee table, shattering the glass with my head, and falling through the wooden frame, where I lay unconcious for a long time (apparently). Mum found me and I came back to life, and amazingly I didn't suffer any cuts!

My second experience comes under 'dumbest way to show your temper'.

I wanted to play 'Pitch n Putt' instead of going to a movie, and my mum wouldn't let me go with a mate. This was about two years ago, and we were outsideon a verandah. I was chucking a tantie, and in my anger I put my fist through a window. I got cuts all over my hand and I suppose that i was lucky not to slash my wrists...and needless to say, mum wasn't impressed.

There are some stupid and embarressing facts about The Hitman that you didin't know...

The Hitman

LOL!!!!!!!!!! Hitman thanks for that, what a laugh!!!!!! :eek::D

Sadly I have no embarrassing glass stories, will just have to wait till the appropriate topics arise. :eek:;)

As a lil tacker, I once was carrying a large jelly bowl to the sink for washing, when I tripped. I dropped the bowl, which hit the floor and smashed, and then I fell upon the shards.

This gave me a stabbing cut at the top of my upper left arm.

It also resulted in a longer slash-type cut in the underside of my elbow. The elbow was bent at the time, and the cut affected both upper and fore arm. I now have two scars from this second cut, which come together as one when I bend my arm.

The third cut was right across the underside of my wrist. It's still there today, twenty years on, and people sometimes look at me funny when they see the scar on my wrist.

It was a bloody accident!!!

(Was this relevant?)

eewwww - glass !

Yes I love the stuff.

Beer would not taste as good if it is not in glass.

I am obsessed with glass, mainly because I am a Ludddite and hate plastic containers of any description.

I will deliberately go out of my way to hunt down beer in glass, Soft Drink in glass, spreads in glass etc etc

Soft drink in plastic bottles **** me, same with beer.

Hust think of how cool and crisp and sparkling and refreshing beer is when it is drunk from a glass that has chilled and frosted in the fridge alongside the beer

hmmmmmm:)

Glass has probably been around since people have been around. I'm sure our earliest ancestors worked out millions and millions of years ago that sand melts into a hard, brittle and transparent substance if it gets hot enough.

Jewellry and Stone Age tools made from the naturally occuring glass that comes out of volcanos (the Archaelogical term is obsidium) is scattered all over the ground just about anywhere you care to look - especially in OutBack Australia.

Glass beads were probably some of the first ever forms of currency or legal tender ever used by Humans.

I love Glass - as you can tell !

cheers

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
eewwww - glass !

Soft drink in plastic bottles **** me, same with beer.

BSA

I didn't know beer came in plastic now.:D

I prefer my beer in cans, because they don't break if you drop them.:cool:

Carlton Cold and a few other big selling Australian beers are now sold in plastic bottles that look just like the glass ones.

Its horrible really - just like those ghastly PET bottles and soft drink.

The beer goes flat too quickly and as much as the breweries would like to deny it - the plastic permeates the taste of the beer.

yuk - long live glass, death to plastic.

cheers

Dan, are you doing a thread about cans too? :)

Glad that you ask, Darky. And when you speak of cans, no doubt, someone of your non-perverted nature, would mean the aluminium type. :p

Aluminium cans are near-perfect containers: strong, light-weight, compact, impermeable, safe and recyclable. Most beer and soft drink cans are made of aluminium. New technologies now permit aluminium cans to protect a crowing number of foods and beverages.

In 1999, more than 112 billion aluminium beverage cans were produced in North America, about 300 cans per person. :eek:

The aluminium can's popularity is easy to understand. It imparts no taste. It keeps flavor and carbonation in, and oxygen, light and moisture out. It is shatter-proof and it is safe: any tampering is apparent.

It took until the 1950s for them to be introduced :mad: , but when they were, consumers were quick to appreciate them. By 1970, aluminium had taken over more than 20% of the beverage can market from steel. In 1977, more than half the cans were made of aluminium and, in 1994, the share of aluminium cans increased to over 96% for beer and soft drinks.

The aluminium can is recyclable, one of its greatest assets.
Aluminium cans are produced in seconds at rates approaching 2,000 per minute. The can body is extremely thin, but strong. The pressure of carbonation in the beer or soft drink helps stiffen the sealed can.

click here for all you need to know about cans ;)

Anyone had any experiences with this substance? ;)

i had an experience with a glass bottle at footy park in 1996, when this ******** threw one at me and split my eyelid. :( i was in hospital by 3 /4 time and didnt see my boys come from 31 points down to win. :(

and i also pushed my brother through a glass window before. but thats another story. :o

I think I'd better go to bed, before I do something stupid.

too late dan :D

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
waaaat Ripper :p no i haven't...very funny u mention that tho coz i kno some1 who has hehe
That would make (presumably) her the "glass blower" then...

Roger.