A few things...

• Thread starter Thread starter sante

The other night a few things popped into my head while I was trying to sleep...all I can remember now is the question I had over our pace.

Recently the discussions on here have been quite good without the abusing of eachother and all posts have made sense, no matter which way they headed.

• We seem to always pump up the pace our younger players have, but when in a game do we really see them sprint and use their pace to clear a pack or tackle the opposition from behind? IMO we kind of look slow out there at times. Deledio has done it a few times. Meyer has never ran with the ball down a wing, correct? Why do our players not use their attributes? Maybe its just a confidence thing, what are your thoughts?

My other points that came to my head were, well at least I think they were :p

I know the season hasn't begun, BUT, if we were to finish Wooden Spooners or bottom four, what would it mean for Wallace and co? Would it mean that maybe players like Hyde and Hall get the cut because Wallace will need to make bigger decisions to overturn our list AGAIN.

In 2007 I think that we should play finals, if we continue to improve like we have over the past 2, BUT I do think that teams like Essendon and Hawthorn are in the position we were when we started with Terry. Going on that; their improvement should be greater than ours in 2007 which may mean we drop places on the Ladder although we continue our improvement.

I think our improvement won't be as great as it was in 2005 and 2006. 2008 will probably be the year we play finals footy, although 2007 is a good possibility.

I admire your passion sante, but I am worried about you. You are what, 18 years old and you are lying awake in bed worrying about the tigers in march? You need a good dose of pr0n, stat, mate. Don't let things get you down, knowing the tiges it is only gonna get worse.

The other night a few things popped into my head while I was trying to sleep...all I can remember now is the question I had over our pace.

Recently the discussions on here have been quite good without the abusing of eachother and all posts have made sense, no matter which way they headed.

• We seem to always pump up the pace our younger players have, but when in a game do we really see them sprint and use their pace to clear a pack or tackle the opposition from behind? IMO we kind of look slow out there at times. Deledio has done it a few times. Meyer has never ran with the ball down a wing, correct? Why do our players not use their attributes? Maybe its just a confidence thing, what are your thoughts?

And the guys that do get free who have pace, who have serious pace, gear up so much that they are basically out of control.....Bling, Tiva and sometimes Lids.....get to such a speed that their eventual delivery goes out the window.

I realise that hitting targets is hard at high speeds but they either have to learn how to do it, or learn to weigh up speed with balance and ultimately delivery.

Cheers

I admire your passion sante, but I am worried about you. You are what, 18 years old and you are lying awake in bed worrying about the tigers in march? You need a good dose of pr0n, stat, mate. Don't let things get you down, knowing the tiges it is only gonna get worse.

i know some ripper sites sante that are good for killing time while you await an abusive reply from oxx.

Of course 2 of ya had to come on here and ruin a serious thread :D :p

I knew I would get a reply like that, but oh well :D

chin up mate i agree with you. The two times Lids has actually put the burners on and taken off with the pace he is capable of we have raved about it on this site for three weeks, he should be doing it every week. He can hit targets at top speed so i dont understand why sometimes he gets all proppy on us, i fear it's terry's coaching at times. he should be utilising so much more of his pace then he does.

oh yeah and foley and raines consistently do it which excites me, if only there disposal at top speed was as good as lids..... at least they're having a crack though and they'll get there.

it will all come together. most of these kids dont have 50 games under their belts yet. patience my young apprentice.
if we finish last this year then there will be a bit of a turnover again, but i dont think as bad as in 04. if we finish that low it would be players like hyde, moore, jackson, gaspar etc who would make way for more kids. wouldnt be the end of the world because when brown, bowden, richo et al retire there would be another crop of young guns coming through the system, but i dont think i could take another year that bad, i would have to give up footy i think.

its called running hard both-ways

players at the rfc might want to try it sometime

who knows it might actually work

does any1 know why cam howat didnt get a promotion from the rookie list, from the games i saw him played last year he killed it, and kicked a goal almost every game too.

careful young one you will be torn apart by the warhorses for revisitng such an old topic....keep your wits about you around here.

No good reason mate really despite what some have tried to argue. It's as simple as this.....Jackson should have been delsited and Howat should have taken his place.

I think its experience and confidence. Sometimes i wish some of them wouldnt use their pace as they just end up running in circles. Rodan was the master at this but Hartigan, raines and tivendale have all been guilty of it.

One thing i feel that our guys are especially guilty of is handballing behind the running player, which negates our pace a lot. Closely watch our games and you will see lots of very sloppy handbals to guys who are running past.

pr0n & drugs.

I think its experience and confidence. Sometimes i wish some of them wouldnt use their pace as they just end up running in circles. Rodan was the master at this but Hartigan, raines and tivendale have all been guilty of it.

One thing i feel that our guys are especially guilty of is handballing behind the running player, which negates our pace a lot. Closely watch our games and you will see lots of very sloppy handbals to guys who are running past.

Right on the money. The main reason to get to Tigers games live, rather than watching on TV, is that you can look down the ground from the guy with possession and understand why he's just standing there, doing nothing. We just seem incapable of giving good options down the ground, and in the forward line when someone gets a good lead going, someone else will get in their way.

Hopefully this will all go away with "experience and confidence", if not then I'll try alcohol and drugs.

chin up mate i agree with you. The two times Lids has actually put the burners on and taken off with the pace he is capable of we have raved about it on this site for three weeks, he should be doing it every week. He can hit targets at top speed so i dont understand why sometimes he gets all proppy on us, i fear it's terry's coaching at times. he should be utilising so much more of his pace then he does.

:) THERE are things that irk me more than Tivendale bolting downfield only to send the raking left foot kick three miles wide ofa leaving Richo or through for a behind.
Top of that list is Deledio showing superior leg speed only to dispose of the ball deep in to the forward line by way of a skew-wiff, ridiculous looking, mindless torpedo!!!!!!
Non-sensical!!!!! Yet he does it!!!!