A hand on cricket bats

Gippsland Power
Gday all I am about to get myself a english willow bat. My price range is $200-$300 My preference would be puma/kookaburra. I am an attacking batsmen so maybe a bat with a bit more meat. Any suggetions and reason would be greatly appreciated.

Some of the Kooka's are a bit more bottom heavy compared with the puma's which try to balance it out more. If you can get another $50 together you could get a reasonable bat. But just go on pick up, use whatever feels best in your hands.

If you can afford one, a hand made bat is far superior to anything else.

Have a look at bats made by Fisher, Bradbury or Laver & Wood. They are the bats the test & state players use. If you want a GN, Puma or Kooka, just put their stickers on it just like Ponting, Gilchrist and Hayden etc do.

Screaming Cat are very, very good. I think they're a tad more expensive though.
Fisher will have whatever you're looking for as well.

i take it ur a young fella coming out of u14s looking to get ur first real bat.

there isnt alot of really quality bats and for what i am guessing you will grow out of it by the end of u16s.

so stay within that price range. and dont get something that is too heavy becuase you will get found out if ur not strong enough to use it.

my mate bought a new kooka the other day for 320, very nice bat, its the one 'ponting uses' but like 300 cheaper and a few down the line. i think its called mayham or something

alternitivly go to a cricket shop (no, rebel dosent count) and talk to them and get them to help you, they are very knowledgeable and will help you pick the right bat (I reccomend going to Greg Chappel, they know thier stuff and have a very wide range)

good luck

2 words

GREG CHAPPELS

they will help you pick the bat of your choice

Puma Ballistic 5000 smalls mens 220 i think

http://www.cricketcentre.com.au/product_list/pages/product.php?Operation=SetSessionVariable&Variable[ProductCodeID]=BAI705

http://www.cricketcentre.com.au/product_list/pages/product.php?Operation=SetSessionVariable&Variable[ProductCodeID]=BAI706

There's two Impala's under 300 dollars. A friend of mine has last years lowest model Impala and it is a very good quality with quite a nice grain and very few blemishes. Also quite a big bat with a lot of meat but is still well balanced.

edit: the links don't work, the bats are Rattler pro small mens and Rattler 3000.

well im 14 and i went to greg chapel on sunday and got a puma ballistic 6000 very nice it was $260 very lucky to get it tough cause it was expensive and the guy that was serving me was very good he played 4 carlton 1st and he new what he was talking about

I bought a Bradbury hand made stirling got it for $480 last year normally $580 i highly recomend them great bats.
In my experience Kookas are crap they break to easy. In last 3 seasons ive know 10 people that have bought them and they have all broke on the toe or just up the edge at the bottom of bat. They split too easy.
If you are young dont spend too much as you will grow out of it too quick.

ive got a Gray Nic's Fusion 1000

huge, beautiful bit of tree. only shit bit is the carbon fibre handle, makes clunky noises if you dont hold the shock absorber, i have a high 'adam gilchrist' grip so it dosent do it for me but others complain bout it

stay away from the fusion, 4 blokes from my club had them break on them and 3 others knocked theres in for weeks and its stil sounding tinny and the toe is just a massive thud

i got a SS turbo for 300 , very nice bat but mine broke after a year but was lucky to get it replaced so i dont know how many are left, also the saint peters are a good price for a quality bat

yeh its tinny becuase of the handle and i will admit that the toe is absoulte dud (that is what the middle is for)

when i went to buy mine the bat maker bloke from gray nics was at greg chappell (in the city).

I asked him what was so good about the carbon fibre handle - his demonstration...

If you remember those ultra slow mo shots from the cricket, you could see the bat wobbling when it was hit by the ball. this is because of the cane handle, it will give a bit when you lean on it in you batting stance aswell.

he got a regular bat and put it in a vice, he put heaps of wieght on it and showed me how much the handle bent.

He then proceeded to put the fusion in the vice and it didnt give one bit.

advantage here is that all the energy from when the ball is hit gets concentrated on the ball and isnt wobbling the bat around. stiffer bat, more energy transfer. somethin like that anyway.

if i had a choice i would have a wooden handle but the whole reason this thing is so big (i havent been able to find a case that it fits in yet) is they can have more wieght in the blade becuase the handle is so light.

i didnt spend as long as i should of knocking it in so the inside edge is fairly cracked, just havent got around to sanding etc. i havent had extratech on ever since ive had it. do you reccomend putting it on?

I hate the handles on the fusions, I reckon it is hard to tell how well you have hit the ball. Cane handles are much better IMO

I bought a Bradbury about 11-12 years ago. It is bat number 375 made by the company. I have never needed another bat which speaks volumes for it's quality. The extra price I paid back then seems insignificant after all this time.

Get a Woodworm Flame or Torch. I did and its the best bat i've ever used. apparently they can break easily but the ball absolutely flys off the bat when you hit it in the middle. They are cheap right now because there is a new range out.

Due to living in two places I don't get to play cricket any more :( and hence I haven't bought a bat for quite a few years. I bought a harrow Slazenger V800 Pro back in the day, not because I thought it was a really good bat, but because Mark Waugh used it. It did turn out to be great, just what I wanted as it was reliable with some nice meat but I outgrew it in about 3 seasons so it was a good thing it was cheap.

I really hope this link works. It's a segment from The Cricket Show a few years ago with Robin Younan, Impala's master craftsman. Warning: If you watch, you will feel an incredibly strong urge to go out and buy an Impala bat.

http://video.msn.com/video.aspx/?mkt=en-au&brand=ninemsn&tab=s30&from=39&vid=c582d6ae-411f-4be3-9c9a-96044bebc456&playlist=videoByTag:mk:en-AU:vs:0:tag:ausport_aucricketshow:ns:MSNVideo_Top_Cat:ps:10:sd:-1:ind:1:ff:8A&wa=wsignin1.0

I asked him what was so good about the carbon fibre handle - his demonstration...

If you remember those ultra slow mo shots from the cricket, you could see the bat wobbling when it was hit by the ball. this is because of the cane handle, it will give a bit when you lean on it in you batting stance aswell.

he got a regular bat and put it in a vice, he put heaps of wieght on it and showed me how much the handle bent.

He then proceeded to put the fusion in the vice and it didnt give one bit.

advantage here is that all the energy from when the ball is hit gets concentrated on the ball and isnt wobbling the bat around. stiffer bat, more energy transfer. somethin like that anyway.

That's not correct. The vibrations of a bat cause waves which is what leads to the 'sweet spot'. IMO a bat with less "give" in it would actually have less power.

Gday all I am about to get myself a english willow bat. My price range is $200-$300 My preference would be puma/kookaburra. I am an attacking batsmen so maybe a bat with a bit more meat. Any suggetions and reason would be greatly appreciated.

Not sure how old you or how big you are but from my experience as a junior coach of about 30 years, most kids make a big mistake picking a bat that is too heavy for them.

It's not the weight of the bat that determines how hard to you hit the ball but rather the speed of your bat swing. If the bat is too heavy for you, it is only logical that you can't swing it quick enough and you either get bowled being too late on the ball or you mistime your stroke.

Some one else had the good advice of picking out some bats yourself on their pick up and not neccasarily their weight or price. If it feels OK and not too heavy, give it a try.

Get a Hunts County Bat not over priced and the best willow going around.

I got one and its a belter called The Glory.

Due to living in two places I don't get to play cricket any more :( and hence I haven't bought a bat for quite a few years. I bought a harrow Slazenger V800 Pro back in the day, not because I thought it was a really good bat, but because Mark Waugh used it. It did turn out to be great, just what I wanted as it was reliable with some nice meat but I outgrew it in about 3 seasons so it was a good thing it was cheap.

I really hope this link works. It's a segment from The Cricket Show a few years ago with Robin Younan, Impala's master craftsman. Warning: If you watch, you will feel an incredibly strong urge to go out and buy an Impala bat.

http://video.msn.com/video.aspx/?mk...Top_Cat:ps:10:sd:-1:ind:1:ff:8A&wa=wsignin1.0

Impala is a beautiful bat. Used one for a season now and is quite easily the best bat i have ever used. Cheers for the video. Lol and you were right, i want to go out and buy a new one now:D