A MUST Win!!

• Thread starter Thread starter nicko74

I think Basti should come in for Garlett when he gets back. Atley has really impressed me and I would only drop him if he needs a rest, which, without knowing, I don't think he does need. If both were coming back into the side this week, I would say Basti in for Garlett and Greenwood in for Thomas, due to poor form. Harper to go forward all game and repace LT.

I think Cruize could become a good rebound defender, his decision making and use of the ball in this area of the ground is where imo he played his best footy with NB and was instrumental in winning the flags for them.

I think the biggest problem is with his size in the middle, he relies more on evasion and quick ball movement than being strong bodied, the midfield is a minefield for smaller mids, you can get 100kg mids crashing into you at stoppages. He would have a lot more space to operate with across the backline.

He would just need to sharpen up on defensive skills.

i agree with that whole post except for the fact that we will NOT gain any respect if beat brisbane.. respect will not come until we beat a 'top 4' side.. look at our wins last season.

Melbourne seemed to garner heaps of respect for flogging the half-rrsed Crows team....... They went from having their coach on the brink of being sacked, to being a major top 8 threat on the basis of that one game, where the opposition gave up before 1/2 time.

Respect is a pointless thing to aim for anyway. Win games and then they can either respect us or not. Who cares really. That said, this is a game we need to win. Not for respect, but because of the gap between our 'wins' and 'loses' columns.

I think Cruize could become a good rebound defender, his decision making and use of the ball in this area of the ground is where imo he played his best footy with NB and was instrumental in winning the flags for them.

I think the biggest problem is with his size in the middle, he relies more on evasion and quick ball movement than being strong bodied, the midfield is a minefield for smaller mids, you can get 100kg mids crashing into you at stoppages. He would have a lot more space to operate with across the backline.

He would just need to sharpen up on defensive skills.

He'd get exposed at AFL level in defence. He's only 174cm. Teams would be dragging him back to the goal square and he'd be cactus.

Personally I reckon his future is in the guts. His quick hands are his greatest assest.

Respect is a pointless thing to aim for anyway. Win games and then they can either respect us or not. Who cares really. That said, this is a game we need to win. Not for respect, but because of the gap between our 'wins' and 'loses' columns.

At the end of the day, we do concern ourselves too much with the respect of media flogs like Sheahan, Robbo and Carro. Counts for nothing.