A survey

Dr Sbagman

Fitzroy
I was wondering if you guys could help me out. Could you answer these questions:

From your front door, how long would it take you to walk to:

The nearest milk bar
The nearest supermarket
The nearest pub
The nearest bank
The nearest train station
The nearest bus stop
The nearest restaurant

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield?
Do you do your weekly shopping there?
Meet friends there?
Play sport there?

Finally, how often (in %) would you get around by
car
public transport of some description
walking

Thanks,

Dr S.

No worries mate.

The nearest milk bar: 10 mnutes
The nearest supermarket: Hmm probably 20-30 minutes
The nearest pub: 10 minutes
The nearest bank: 10 minutes
The nearest train station: I couldn't walk it. It would be a few hours if I even tried.
The nearest bus stop: 5 minutes
The nearest restaurant: 10 minutes

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood. Not much goes on in the neighbourhood. I personally often have a kick of the footy out the front.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Depends. But I usually venture further.

Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yeah I do.
Meet friends there? Nah venture further.
Play sport there? Somtimes

Car 80%
public transport of some description: 5%
walking 15%

The nearest milk bar: 5 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 5 minutes
The nearest pub: 10 minutes
The nearest bank: 5 minutes
The nearest train station: too far to walk... 30-40mins
The nearest restaurant: 5 minutes

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood. nothing..

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? venture further..

Do you do your weekly shopping there? yes
Meet friends there? nope
Play sport there? seldom

Car 99%
public transport of some description: 0%
walking 1%

The nearest milk bar: 5 mins
The nearest supermarket: 10 mins
The nearest pub: 10 mins
The nearest bank: 60 mins
The nearest train station: n/a
The nearest bus stop: 2 mins
The nearest restaurant: 2 mins

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Yes

Do you do your weekly shopping there? No

Meet friends there? Yes

Play sport there? No

Finally, how often (in %) would you get around by car (80%), public transport (19%) of some description or walking (1%).

The nearest milk bar - five minutes
The nearest supermarket - 30 minutes
The nearest pub - 30 minutes
The nearest bank - 30 minutes
The nearest train station - 30 minutes
The nearest bus stop - 30 seconds (it's outside the house).
The nearest restaurant - 30 minutes

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood. - Live here, that's it.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? - No.
Do you do your weekly shopping there? - Don't shop weekly, shop as needs dictate.
Meet friends there? - No.
Play sport there? - No.

car - 99.95%
public transport of some description - .02%
walking - .03%

The nearest milk bar ----- 2 minutes
The nearest supermarket ------ 2 minutes
The nearest pub ------ 20 minutes
The nearest bank ------ 20 minutes
The nearest train station ------ Over 2 hours
The nearest bus stop ------ 60 seconds
The nearest restaurant ----- There is a cafe type place 2 minutes away where you can get a meal and sit down. Not sure if I'd classify this as a restaurant. Proper restaurant is 15 minutes.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Further.
Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yes I do the shopping in local area.
Meet friends there? Sometimes. Sometimes we meet at a venue outside of this area.
Play sport there? Yes.

car 20%
public transport of some description 10%
walking
cycling 70%

The nearest milk bar .......... 3 minutes
The nearest supermarket......... 10 minutes
The nearest pub..........15 minutes
The nearest bank...........10 minutes
The nearest train station..........10 minutes
The nearest bus stop............. 20 seconds
The nearest restaurant............. 15 minutes

The nearest milk bar: 20 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 30 minutes
The nearest pub: 20 minutes
The nearest bank: 20 minutes
The nearest train station: 60 minutes
The nearest bus stop: 30 seconds
The nearest restaurant: 20 minutes

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? There's the beach, playground, running track and the supermarket. Not exactly sources of excitement. There's always the pizza shop across the road if you want a good perve, but generally I venture further afield if I'm bored.
Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yes.
Meet friends there? On the odd occasion.
Play sport there? Generally. Sometimes if we dont want to carry the equipment we'll just have a hit of cricket in the backyard.

Finally, how often (in %) would you get around by:
Car: 10%
Public transport of some description: 60%
Walking: 30%

The nearest milk bar: 20 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 25 minutes
The nearest pub: 25 minutes
The nearest bank: 25 minutes
The nearest train station: 120 minutes
The nearest bus stop: 1 minute
The nearest restaurant: 25 minutes

Not much around here, so I usually venture a fair way away.
Meet friends there? Yep.
Play sport there? Yep.

Car: 50%
Public transport of some description: 48%
Walking: 2%

The nearest milk bar - 5 mins
The nearest supermarket - 12 mins
The nearest pub - 15 mins
The nearest bank - 12 mins
The nearest train station - 13 mins
The nearest bus stop - 1 min
The nearest restaurant - 12 mins

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? both
Do you do your weekly shopping there? no, we shop online
Meet friends there? no
Play sport there? no

car - never
public transport of some description - 5%
walking - 95%

The nearest milk bar - 7 mins
The nearest supermarket - 10 mins
The nearest pub - 20 mins
The nearest bank - 10 mins
The nearest train station - 20 mins
The nearest bus stop - 1 min
The nearest restaurant - 20 mins

Do you do your weekly shopping there? yes
Meet friends there? yes
Play sport there? yes

car - 20%
public transport of some description - 75%
walking - 5%

The nearest milk bar
The nearest supermarket = 10 min
The nearest pub = 10 min
The nearest bank = 10 min
The nearest train station = 5 min
The nearest bus stop = 2 min
The nearest restaurant = 2 min

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? not much...i supose i exercise.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? further
Do you do your weekly shopping there? yep
Meet friends there? friends?
Play sport there? yeh

car 0%
public transport of some description 60%
walking 40%

The nearest milk bar 3 mins
The nearest supermarket 2 mins
The nearest pub 2 mins
The nearest bank 2 mins
The nearest train station 15 mins
The nearest bus stop 1 min
The nearest restaurant 2 mins

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood. Uh not much, don't go to the local movies.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? If I go anywhere its the city
Do you do your weekly shopping there? Maybe
Meet friends there? No
Play sport there? No

car 50%
public transport of some description 25%
walking 25%

The nearest milk bar:
I don't know what the hell a milk bar is, but I can buy milk with a 5 minute walk.

The nearest supermarket: Half hour walk. I buy too many groceries to walk it anyway.

The nearest pub Five minutes

The nearest bank Less than ten minutes (but it's not my bank).

The nearest train station 2 hour walk.

The nearest bus stop I don't even know where one is.

The nearest restaurant Many within 5 minutes.

I live right near the major shopping area for my city. Lots of new restaurants, 20 theatre multiplex, large mall, sporting good stores etc. I can do most anything without going far. The cool thing is that area is the major tax generator for the city. Therefore, if the power goes out during a severe storm, my grid is the first to have electicity restored.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? I go everywhere in the KC metro. I prefer to do my drinking at home, or within walking distance of home.

Do you do your weekly shopping there? I shop everywhere. As it turns out, most of my shopping is done at a beer import warehouse.

Meet friends there? Meet people everywhere. I try to keep my list of friends short, unless they are musicians or women.

Play sport there? There are ballfields within a 20 minute walk, but the leagues I play in are a 30 minute drive

car 90%

walking/bicycle: 10%

Thanks, You're welcome, doc.

Peace,

Since I've just moved I'll give you the answers for both locations:

Where I am now:
The nearest deli: 5 minutes (what's this milk bar crap :))
The nearest supermarket: 10-15 minutes
The nearest pub: 5 minutes
The nearest bank: hmmm. Probably 30 minutes
The nearest train station: 25 minutes (but there are lots of link buses)
The nearest restaurant: 20 minutes

Where I was living before:
The nearest deli: 5 min
The nearest supermarket: 30 min
The nearest pub: 20 min
The nearest bank: 5 min
The nearest train station: N/A (no trains in that part of Perth)
The nearest bus stop: 5 min
The nearest restaurant: 5 min

Further afield mostly although I do use the local cinemas
Do you do your weekly shopping there?
New location yes, old location no
Meet friends there?
New location no, old location most of my friends lived nearby, so yes
Play sport there?
No

car: 85%
public transport of some description: 10%
walking: 5% (although its usually in conjunction with PT)

I would prefer to use the car a lot less, but where I work makes that totally impractical (there is one bus a day past where I work mostly, and to get there I'd have to leave home at about 5.30. One of the other sites would be quicker to walk to; about 40 mins, but 45 by PT and 6 min by car. Not happening)

Welcome to Griffith!

The nearest milk bar - 30 Metres...2 Minutes.
The nearest supermarket - 3 Blocks away...10 Minutes
The nearest pub - 3 Blocks away...10 Minutes
The nearest bank - 3 Blocks away...10 Minutes
The nearest train station - 2 Blocks away...7 Minutes
The nearest bus stop - Hmmm; Good one. 2 Minutes (I think.)
The nearest restaurant - 3 Blocks away...10 Minutes

I guess you've already gathered I live 3 blocks from the Top Block of Banna Ave Griffith. The main street here, which is divided into Top, Middle and Bottom Blocks.

Okay...The local cinema is always a month behind regional/metro cinemas...Some movies are on video before hitting the big screen here in Griffith. The youth 15-17y.o. P Platers lap the main street, The older young types like me Under 30's, we like to dine alfresco at any of the numerous eateries...Banna Ave is a smaller version of Lygon St. for want of a better phrase.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Locally, There's NO nightclub, just disco's in Clubs and pubs...

Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yeah...there is a Foodworks, Woolworths, Coles and that's it for major supermarkets.

Meet friends there? At Griffin Plaza...Yeah.

Play sport there? No...very lame sports organisations here...

car 98%

walking 2%

Welcome to Griffith!

The nearest milk bar: 7 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 7 minutes
The nearest pub: 15 minutes
The nearest bank: 20 minutes
The nearest train station: 20 minutes
The nearest bus stop: 25 minutes
The nearest restaurant: 6 minutes

What about tram stop which is relevant for Melburnians: 1 minute

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood:
Go to coffee shops and meet friends; watch local sport; shopping

Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yes

Meet friends there? Yes

Play sport there? N/A

car: 70%

public transport of some description: 10%
walking: 20%

The nearest milk bar: Only convenience stores and service stations: a good half hour
The nearest supermarket: 10 minutes
The nearest pub: half an hour
The nearest bank: half an hour, but to MY bank, it's a car trip
The nearest train station: hours, wouldn't attempt it
The nearest bus stop: ten minutes
The nearest restaurant: ten minutes

Mainly, just walk the dog.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Both
Meet friends there? No
Play sport there? No, but the facilities are there

car: 98%
walking: 2%

The nearest milk bar: 5 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 10 minutes
The nearest pub: 2 minutes :D
The nearest bank: 2 minutes
The nearest train station: 2 minutes
The nearest bus stop: 3 minutes
The nearest restaurant: 3 minutes

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood. Grab a bite to eat some days, most of my shopping

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Both. Mostly out in St Kilda or Collingwood for live music

Meet friends there? No.
Play sport there? No.

Car 15%
public transport of some description: 75%
walking 10%

The nearest milk bar: 3 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 5 minutes
The nearest pub: 30 minutes
The nearest bank: 5 minutes
The nearest train station: 35 minutes
The nearest bus stop: 1 minute
The nearest restaurant: 5 minutes

Movies about 5 minute drive away, otherwise drag the dog for a walk around the river (15 minute walk away).

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Haha - no, further afield.
Do you do your weekly shopping there? Mum does.:D
Meet friends there? Movies maybe, generally in the city tho.
Play sport there? No, play elsewhere, about 15 minute drive away.

car: 20%
public transport of some description: 50%
walking: 30%

Re: Re: Re: A survey

Originally posted by ozzult
You get your groceries online? Where from?

some from colesonline.com.au and some from an organic online supermarket, name of which escapes me, but they are local to us.

The nearest milk bar: 2 mins
The nearest supermarket: 10 mins
The nearest pub: 10.5 mins
The nearest bank: 25 mins
The nearest train station: 10 mins
The nearest bus stop: 2 mins
The nearest restaurant: 10 mins

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood. Nothing

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Local
Meet friends there? No
Play sport there?

car: 99%
public transport of some description:0
walking:1%