AAMI stadium dry zone

• Thread starter Thread starter PAFC2004

Should we be able to drink in our seats at AAMI stadium?

PAFC2004

Port Adelaide
Adelaide Bite, New York Yankees
For those of you who don't know, you may not bring alcohol into the seating area of aami stadium. You can only consume alcohol in the outer section, behind the grandstand where the vendors are. In my opinion, it's stupid. What does everyone else think? Should you be able to drink in your seats, just like any other stadium in Australia?

They need to designate family area's that dont permit swearing and drinking so people who dont want to be a part of that atmosphere can enjoy the footy, In other areas normal people can enjoy the footy as well.

I voted no (yes, I know, there's one in every crowd).

Firstly let me say that the AAMI Stadium seating is such crap that people trying to squeeze past with plastic cups of beer is going to mean going home smelling like a brewery.

I'll sometimes go to the bar at half time for an ale or two but I can survive without trying to get one back to my seat.

I reckon they should just rip the seats out of the two member's stand flanks, make it standing room and make that the beer zone. All good.

nathspazz said:
They need to designate family area's that dont permit swearing and drinking so people who dont want to be a part of that atmosphere can enjoy the footy, In other areas normal people can enjoy the footy as well.
So people with families aren't "normal" :confused:

Seriously though, I agree that if they do allow drinking in the stadium proper they should provide dry areas but the problem with all seating being reserved is which seats become "Family Areas"?

What’s the situation over there? Can’t you drink at all? Surely not!

Just establish dry and wet areas!

catattack said:

Harder to do with 100% reserve seating. Its AAMI Stadium's biggest curse.

catattack, you can drink outside the seating area (you go through the tunnels to the outer area where the bars and sutff are) You just can't drink where the seating is. I think we should have more freedom. There are more than enough security guards and police to cope with trouble makers.

Porthos said:
Harder to do with 100% reserve seating. Its AAMI Stadium's biggest curse.

True, but, a sign saying "Dry area" at the entry to each aisle and those aisles deemed to be "wet" don't have the sign.

Has worked pretty well over the past, certainly over here.

Can understand the point about wanting more freedom though..yet, watered down beer doesn't help things.

catattack said:
What’s the situation over there? Can’t you drink at all? Surely not!

You can drink in the standing area. Which isn't really standing room. It's a stupid rule they have there.

pazza said:
True, but, a sign saying "Dry area" at the entry to each aisle and those aisles deemed to be "wet" don't have the sign.

Has worked pretty well over the past, certainly over here.

Can understand the point about wanting more freedom though..yet, watered down beer doesn't help things.

Except swapping the reserved seating for people that want to be in dry or wet areas would cause plenty of problems with people getting worse seats - for every winner there would be a loser.

M29 said:
You can drink in the standing area. Which isn't really standing room. It's a stupid rule they have there.
You can only drink in the bars or the outer concourse, neither of which you can see the footy from. When I was at the MCG with a mate, both of us with 2 large scotch and cokes sitting in the stands, I thought it was Christmas.

Porthos said:
I reckon they should just rip the seats out of the two member's stand flanks, make it standing room and make that the beer zone. All good.

I agree. I would love terracing back in Australian footy grounds, especially after seeing the Richmong Grog squad in action at the G on Saturday. They had it at Subi and Footy Park but bfor some reasin got rid of it. :-(

I'm barred from drinking at matches because I'm in an official Cheer Squad. Considering the fact that I wave a 10 foot high flag, it is just as well. As when drunk, it could fly anywhere. ;) Especuially when in Melbourne I drink before and after the game rather than during it.

Was a real eye-opener standing with the North Adelaide Grog Squad at Prospect Oval. Was handed a drink within minutes of introducing myself to RoosterWedgie, and proceeded to be quite drunk by the end of the afternoon. Was great fun, being able to stand and have a bourbon at the footy. That is what makes the SANFL fun, I think.

JF