ABC dump sport from FTA ABC2 programming - TAKE ACTION !

• Thread starter Thread starter fishmonger

Looks like ABC is going into full multi channeling and will follow the BBC model and have more than one channel with its own identity. So ABC 2 will no longer be a reruns channel and now will have it's own programs. Probably the end of the 11pm time slot for the local sports replays ie WAFL, SANFL, VFL, NSWRU and QRL.

Bit sad. I enjoyed trying to stay up and watch the SANFL game on Tuesday night to see some of Port's kid play for different teams. Would ocassionally catch a quarter or two of a WAFL or VFL game and usually pick a player who you wondered if they could make the big time. Mind you how many people would be up after 11pm wating to watch something new that wasn't a re run.

Who knows, they might make the state comp games available online, which would be better than nothing.

I said this last week, that the ABC were diverisifying the channels and i was sworn at and told i was wrong.

Theres really no room for coverage of these events and the cost to film them would be just too high to justify.

I said this last week, that the ABC were diverisifying the channels and i was sworn at and told i was wrong.

Theres really no room for coverage of these events and the cost to film them would be just too high to justify.

Bulldust! There is plenty of room for the local Saturday arvo sports spot. It's been there for 20+ years in all 5 mainland states. They will stay on ABC 1. The local ABC staff and the local politicans will make sure it stays that way. You can't have everything bar the local news services and stateline coming out of Sydney. The money is there in their budgets and the government has agreed to increase their budget at the last triannual agreement the ABC signed with the Howard government.

Originally Posted by cos789
That's because there's nothing to get excited about with rl .

not at state level at least.

Yeah, State level Rugby League is boring.

That must be why state level rugby league holds 3 of the 10 most watched programs every year ;)

On a smaller scale the NSWRL and QLD Cup are the equal of the WAFL, SAFl, NTFL and other second tier comps.

Having a go at me for poo pooing anything AFL merely because of the sport it associates with and then doing the same doesn't look good on your part.

You think footy(AFL) is a soft sport with no skill, yet you follow rugby??
I like both codes, I dont have an agenda, if only you could understand what a fool you are and how idiotic you sound, if you want an argument so bad, at least make a valid point, not just state the opposite to everyone else, that just makes you sound stupid, and un-informed, you do however, seem half educated, why cant you see this yourself?
Time to pull up mate, take it to the rugby boards, or are you already very much despised there too?

There is no denying that of AFL and league, League is the far more physical game, so yes i think AFL is a soft sport.

The problem in this thread is that both sets of fans, AFL and League have lost coverage of their second tier comps. Having an adverse affect on the clubs, the sponsors, the fans and the coverage of the game across the country.

I have tried to state all along that there is obviously a reason behind it. Whether it is costing them money, crew time, airtime or they aren't meeting broadcasting commitments in other areas and therfore need to reduce their sports coverage they are changing it for a reason.

It may shock some of you but not everyone in Australia wants to watch local footy (of either code) every weekend.

I'm not arguing for the sake of it. I'm not even really arguing. If i had my way yes they would show the replays, however the reasons they are doing it are fairly clear. They are not just Sydney centric rugby league conspiracy perpetrators that some people have claimed, just trying to appease the entire population on a limited budget, with very strict guidleines as to content.

Rugbys 'tougher' than footy, so that makes footy 'soft'....??
I bet you dont actually play any sport at all!:rolleyes:

BTW, I dont care about all the tv channel politics, I was just pissed off because they just changed the game that I wanted to watch, for black and white, 1960's rugby league crap, without any notice, I woud have been just as pissed off, if they showed a 1960's black and white footy game too!

Rugbys 'tougher' than footy, so that makes footy 'soft'....??
I bet you dont actually play any sport at all!:rolleyes:

BTW, I dont care about all the tv channel politics, I was just pissed off because they just changed the game that I wanted to watch, for black and white, 1960's rugby league crap, without any notice, I woud have been just as pissed off, if they showed a 1960's black and white footy game too!

Well that's where you are wrong my friend. I play several sports. 4 nights a week and one sunday.

Compared to Rugby League, yes afl is soft. Compared to marbles it is slightly tougher, but only slightly.

And don't bullshit, you wouldn't have been pissed off if they showed a classic grand final from the 60s. Or a classic international....

...oh wait aminute, there is no such thing as an AFL international!

Well that's where you are wrong my friend. I play several sports. 4 nights a week and one sunday.

Compared to Rugby League, yes afl is soft. Compared to marbles it is slightly tougher, but only slightly.

And don't bullshit, you wouldn't have been pissed off if they showed a classic grand final from the 60s. Or a classic international....

...oh wait aminute, there is no such thing as an AFL international!

Ok, you play 'mixed' sports, fair enough, but by your logic, rugby league is soft compared to boxing?..:rolleyes:

Tell me one time in boxing where two or three blokes can take a run up at you and hit you with the full force of their bodies anywhere between you shoulders and the soles of your feet.

Rugby League is the toughest sport on earth.

I've played AFL, Union and League. Out of the three I play league now because its a personal preference, but it is easily the toughest of the 3.

The only thing AFL has is fitness, and lets face it, if the fat ***** on Biggest loser can get fit then any old muppet can.

Tell me one time in boxing where two or three blokes can take a run up at you and hit you with the full force of their bodies anywhere between you shoulders and the soles of your feet.

Rugby League is the toughest sport on earth.

I've played AFL, Union and League. Out of the three I play league now because its a personal preference, but it is easily the toughest of the 3.

The only thing AFL has is fitness, and lets face it, if the fat ***** on Biggest loser can get fit then any old muppet can.

Haha, Rugby players respect footy players, footy players respect rugby players, I dont think you even really play tiddlywinks 'competetively!'...;)

you can think what you wanna think, its a forum.

One of my best mates is an AFL player, played in the VFL, now plays in Sydney. I respect him and his abilities. Doesn't mean i don't think the game he plays is soft compared to league.

I haevn't seen you say anything to prove otherwise, other than querstion my participation in sporting teams.

you can think what you wanna think, its a forum.

One of my best mates is an AFL player, played in the VFL, now plays in Sydney. I respect him and his abilities. Doesn't mean i don't think the game he plays is soft compared to league.

I haevn't seen you say anything to prove otherwise, other than querstion my participation in sporting teams.

Ask anyone who actually plays any sport, neither rugby league, or Footy, is soft, simple as that!

Well in NSW, footy is rugby league so you're right there.

I don't know anyone to ever say AFL is a tough sport.

Besides on this forum.

You gotta get out more mate, or are you just trolling for an argument on a footy forum as usual?

Rugby League is the toughest sport on earth. .

:o Oh dear, I suggest you run along now Brendo. perhaps to a boxing forum to tell them how much RL is tougher than boxing.

Oh that's right, you don't fear Boxing.